12/28 TAFFY-AMPS 121/+6 60/+7 44/+11 82/PMPS 69/+1 58/+2 48/+30m 54/+3 49/+30 65/+4 83/+5.5 87/+8 70

Status
Not open for further replies.
Taffy is looking good. When they are in higher numbers, their bodies don't process food correctly and they want to eat all of the time. Once they get into normal numbers, the hunger goes away because their bodies are processing food correctly and they don't want to eat as much.
 
+6 = 60
Taffy taking a turn for the worse here. :(
Probably my fault. Gave 1/2 Denmarin yesterday and he pooped overnight, but poop was grey-ish. I gave him another half today. I hope I did not harm him with this.
Giving too much variety of things in trying to get him to eat. Last night broke down and got RadCat chicken bcuz he will usually eat this, and he did eat some last night. But maybe I should not have bcuz since they started HPP it has tended to make him sick. Also he ate some FF and that is what he just vomited and then had runny diarrhea. So, clearly not feeling well. But, normally if he was in pain, and feeling very poorly, he would be under the bed, and he is not. Just lying in the living room all day, but not wanting food. So, I am going to go back to basic plain blended chicken, keep it simple, and also give him a Cerenia. When he tested at 60 just now (b4 vomit and runs), I offered him some gravy which he only sniffed and became him super nauseous and then the vomit and other. Staying calm...for now...
 
Sending feel better vines and prayers. Wish there was more I could offer. Keep an eye on him, he's trending pretty low with no appy which is a bit scary. Hang in there.
 
Sending feel better vines and prayers. Wish there was more I could offer. Keep an eye on him, he's trending pretty low with no appy which is a bit scary. Hang in there.
Yep. I know. He foamed at the mouth with the water after the 1/2 tab Cerenia, and a few minutes later, all came back up including the pill. I let him go out in the enclosed catrium for some fresh air and I am going to just let him rest a bit. I'll check his BGs soon. Officially worried.
 
44 @ +7
Gave a little honey. Opened fresh can of FF gravy and he is licking at it. Hope he keeps it down.
 
You are doing ok Julie, test after 30 min after the gravy. Remember to not fill him up, just a little gravy to bring him up. Test, more gravy,test in 30 until he can stay up. Remember you might be at this a bit. Put a bit of honey in some LC food that he will eat if need be to make it HC if he refuses the gravy and you need more oomph in the numbers.
Remember you are braking that dive as gradually as possible rather than slamming on the brakes and launching him into a bounce.
 
And if it gets impossible to get anything in him and he drops too low you can rub honey on his gums which will get it into his system. Don't panic, we are a ways from that necessity yet!;):bighug:
I panicked and did the honey before you message! He is at 70 now, but recheck in 30
 
I panicked and did the honey before you message! He is at 70 now, but recheck in 30
That's ok, we all do!:bighug::bighug:
Yessssss... well done bumping up Taffy!:cat: Nice job Julie..:bighug:
Now retest in 30 and see if he's holding himself up, don't give him more honey or HC yet ok?
ETA: We wait the 30 because that's about when we would see the effects of the honey starting to wear off if he's not going to stay up. Make sense?
 
Remember you are braking that dive as gradually as possible rather than slamming on the brakes and launching him into a bounce
I probably braked a little hard...panicked bcuz of the vomiting, etc. Honey on board with a little gravy food, too. He is back to 70.
 
That's ok, we all do!:bighug::bighug:
Yessssss... well done bumping up Taffy!:cat: Nice job Julie..:bighug:
Now retest in 30 and see if he's holding himself up, don't give him more honey or HC yet ok?
ETA: We wait the 30 because that's about when we would see the effects of the honey starting to wear off if he's not going to stay up. Make sense?
Got it!
 
My laptop has a problem where it freezes and won't wake up and I have to reboot...takes a while sometimes.
 
Sorry! Computer problems again!!! He is at 80
Good! He holding up there..it's been an hour since food right? ( my math sucks) now as Karen said we want him to surf without food if possible two hours before pm shot time so don't feed two hrs before shot time unless he starts diving again..and if you have to, start with a little LC and move up from there. I think you are at what, +8 now or is it later?
I'm thinking he's going to cruise as he hasn't dropped any more and is staying pretty steady ( or climbing a little but could be meter variance), you can give a little LC if you are worried, but no more HC!
Grrrr I hate tech problems, my sympathies!
 
I put +8 but I am "doing the math" now (LOL, counting ion my fingers!) and I think it is more like +8.75...
'S all good! ;)
Yeah so if you can just get a test in about an hour or so from now you will be at that two hours after the low without a food boost, and you will have an idea what he's likely to do into test time.

Don't forget he earned a dose reduction when you shoot tonite..
These numbers tho scary are a good thing!:):cat: Means Taffy is working that juice!
 
Julie what I would do is keep a note of what you gave him and how much to bring him back up so nicely without skyrocketing him. It will come in handy again as you move down the dosing ladder and will help when your brain is freaking out when the meter reads low.
Whatever the combo was tonite it was a good one.:bighug::bighug:
 
Julie what I would do is keep a note of what you gave him and how much to bring him back up so nicely without skyrocketing him. It will come in handy again as you move down the dosing ladder and will help when your brain is freaking out when the meter reads low.
Whatever the combo was tonite it was a good one.:bighug::bighug:
Ok, I'll note on my SS. He has seemed to be a slow reactor to the sugar/gravy in the past, so I gave him the honey plus some gravy food and then nothing else and he seemed to come up and hold.
 
Welcome back! I hope you enjoyed your holiday! How did Uncle do?
Thanks! I am happy I got to join my family for a few days. Uncle's numbers went way up because of the reduced dose. He's shedding a lot of fur, cleaning himself and throwing it up. He's crying a lot (seems to do that in high numbers) and doesn't have a soft look on his face. I'm hoping all of this will resolve when I get his numbers back to blue and green. Hardly seems like anything to complain about or stress on with all the other things others on the board are going through right now. I feel like one of the lucky ones today.
 
Thanks! I am happy I got to join my family for a few days. Uncle's numbers went way up because of the reduced dose. He's shedding a lot of fur, cleaning himself and throwing it up. He's crying a lot (seems to do that in high numbers) and doesn't have a soft look on his face. I'm hoping all of this will resolve when I get his numbers back to blue and green. Hardly seems like anything to complain about or stress on with all the other things others on the board are going through right now. I feel like one of the lucky ones today.
It should Barbara, :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Thanks! I am happy I got to join my family for a few days. Uncle's numbers went way up because of the reduced dose. He's shedding a lot of fur, cleaning himself and throwing it up. He's crying a lot (seems to do that in high numbers) and doesn't have a soft look on his face. I'm hoping all of this will resolve when I get his numbers back to blue and green. Hardly seems like anything to complain about or stress on with all the other things others on the board are going through right now. I feel like one of the lucky ones today.
Poor dude. It's hard to go away without feeling guilty or worried when our kitties have special needs, but it is good that you were able to go. I was actually glad to have an excuse to stay home, for once! I am sure that he will be back on track lickety split!
 
He was going down already at PMPS. I did a +11, so I didn't stall and retest after PMPS. I did give his reduced shot. Might be an interesting night. Before I shot, he seemed interested in his food and ate some, so I went ahead, but then he did not end up eating much. :arghh: Of course, I'll keep trying. As long as he eats some, I won't worry more until tomorrow. I'm also not going to try any pills tonight bcuz he regurgitated the Cerenia, and I am not wanting to stress him more with pilling. Might be a vet visit tomorrow if things don't improve with appy.
 
Last edited:
Julie u ok for pmps? I'm off to go try to get Gus to eat.
Post for help if you have Qs and remember he gets a reduced dose when you shoot. Also keep in mind that with Lantus you shoot low to stay low, the curves flatten out as the numbers trend lower. So the drops are not still the same proportion to dose as when you are shooting higher numbers. So shooting a lower number does not mean you are going to blow the bottom out of the numbers.
Nicely steered today, well done:bighug:
 
He was going down already at PMPS. I did a +11, so I didn't stall and retest after PMPS. I did give his reduced shot. Might be an interesting night. Before I shot, he seemed interested in his food and ate some, so I went ahead, but then he did not end up eating much. :arghh: Of course, I'll keep trying. As long as he eats some, I won't worry more until tomorrow. I'm also not going to try any pills tonight bcuz he just regurgitated the Cerenia, and I am not wanting to stress him more with pilling. Might be a vet visit tomorrow if things don't improve with appy.
Hang in there, may run into you in the waiting room tomorrow...looking like we may need to head there ourselves
 
Julie u ok for pmps? I'm off to go try to get Gus to eat.
Post for help if you have Qs and remember he gets a reduced dose when you shoot. Also keep in mind that with Lantus you shoot low to stay low, the curves flatten out as the numbers trend lower. So the drops are not still the same proportion to dose as when you are shooting higher numbers. So shooting a lower number does not mean you are going to blow the bottom out of the numbers.
Nicely steered today, well done:bighug:
I'm good.

Sorry Gus is giving you worries, too.
 
Just make sure you get those tests in, especially if he was dropping and you shot. The depot from the higher dose is still in play, it has not shrunk yet, and you need to watch him for one of his patented Taffy dives.
Surf safely Taffy:bighug::bighug:
 
Is that the lowest number you have shot with him? If do you might have an award coming..
Nah, I did it once b4 (12/8)...wait twice. 12/9 also
Just tested 58 at +1
He hasn't eaten much dinner, but he just ate a Tbsp of gravy food for me (the food with the gravy together).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top