12/28 Sheba last night PMBG 23! Very unwell today. Back to vet again this pm for bupe injection

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bron and Sheba (GA)

Member Since 2015
Last condo http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-than-1-hour-til-christmas-here-in-oz.170158/

Sheba is unwell again.......looks like another pancreatic flare. She had one vomit day before yesterday but then seemed fine but did not eat her autofeeder chicken stock and food overnight that night .......a sure sign something was wrong.
Yesterday I struggled to get her to eat all day and to keep up the fluids. The vet was still closed for the Christmas period so we managed (just) with zofran and tramadol. I had given her the usual dose of amps insulin because at first she wanted to eat and I thought she was ok but she vomited after the insulin. I struggled all day to keep her BSL from dropping too low. I didn't want it to go down too low because I had no guarantee she would ate again, so tried to keep it around 5 (90). I gave her 6 lots of honey to maintain it around that number. All food was room service and I held the plate.
At +10 she was 58 so I gave her honey and tested at +11 and she was 76. I thought she would be fine at +11 so didn't give her more honey
When I tested at PMPS she had dropped to 1.3 (23)!!!
She suddenly became starving and fortunately ate some high carb and honey for me. I got such a shock to see that number I didn't even think to retest....I just grabbed the honey and gave her a very big dollop. 20 minutes later she was 58, so I think it was correct. She had no other symptoms except suddenly starving hungry. I was so scared she would become symptomatic! Her appetite went as quickly as it came once her bsl came up a bit.
She bounced almost immediately but I didn't give her any insulin because at that point I was not sure it if was the honey or a bounce and her appetite was still poor. I'd had to feed her at +12 with the 23, so I waited 2 hours then decided I would skip the dose and start again this morning just to be on the safe side after such a low number. In hindsight I could have given her the insulin!
By +20 she was "hi" and still is this morning. I gave her a reduced dose of insulin this morning...I know she is high but she is not eating and I don't want a repeat of yesterday's numbers........
This morning she is very lethargic (probably from the flare and the hi which she is not used to any more).
Not interested in eating and just lying in her bed, not communicating :(
I rang the vet first thing and they are fully booked but they said to come up at 10am and they will fit her in somewhere.
 
23! :eek::eek::eek: Holy cow, I thought that was a typo. Poor you, I've only seen the 20's once and that was enough. :bighug:

Mega vines on their way via RooAirlines. Feel better Sheba. I hope you get a vetty appt ASAP, though this is usually a horribly busy time of year. Neko felt awful when high too.
 
I'm so sorry she's not feeling good and that 23 is just awful. I woke up to a 26 once and like Wendy, that was enough for me ever. Sending mega vines and prayers her appy picks up and she feels much better. Hope you can get a vetty visit. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hindsight is a wonderful thing but after a start like that o_O:nailbiting:o_O I would've skipped too - and I'm not one to skip! So sorry she is feeling shabby again so soon :( sending mega vines. And also actual mail, hoping to get to the post office today.
 
Back from the vet. They were run off their feet but were lovely and fitted me in quite quickly. We were there for well over an hour. He is quite concerned about another flare up and went through all her bloods taken recently and talked over her issues with me. Her tummy is very painful and she was quite dehydrated. So she had some SubQ fluids, imi cerenia, imi clavolox then 3 weeks oral a/b. Couldn't have bupe as I had given her tramadol this morning. We are home again now but she is still not interested in eating.
I took her bsl when we got home and it was 198, down from hi 3 hours earlier.!!! She always drops at the vet. I gave her some honey as she is not eating much at all. 30 minutes later it was down to 164. I am feeding her whatever she will eat, which is not much at all.........but trying to stick to 13 or 16 carb.
The vet was a bit shocked at the bsl 23. He usually leaves me to handle her numbers but he did say to reduce her dose if she is sick...it is better to be too high than low..........which of course is correct.

One good piece of news is he has agreed for me to do some SubQ fluids at home and has given me everything to start.
At the moment he only wants me to do it when she is unwell, not as a routine thing. I had a practise go at the vet this morning. I wasn't too worried as I used to give them to dehydrated babies up in the country when there was no doctors around to set up IVs.
I also asked about cerenia tablets and he said yes to that too. They only have 60 mg tablets there....4 for $60, but can get in 16 mg tablets ...4 for $50. Not that the price is the main concern. I am more concerned about cutting up the 60mg tablets...they look as if they are sort of rectangular with rounded edges and might be hard to cut accurately.
@jayla-n-Drevon ...I think you told me you used both. Can you advise me please which is the better one? Also what is the dose? Is it 8 mg daily? They are putting in an order this afternoon at the vet and I have to let them know which one I want. I am leaning towards the 16 mg ones because of the ease of use.

Thanks Wendy, Karen, Sandi, Serryn, Amanda, Carla and Leslie for you support and vines. It was very scary getting that 23. I don't ever want to see another that low again....or in the 20s at all.

She is still not interested in food. Usually she responds to the cerenia quite well.
Any advice, hints or suggestions would be appreciated, thanks
 
Hindsight is a wonderful thing but after a start like that o_O:nailbiting:o_O I would've skipped too - and I'm not one to skip! So sorry she is feeling shabby again so soon :( sending mega vines. And also actual mail, hoping to get to the post office today.
Serryn......you must tell me what I owe please. And thank you for sending them:bighug:
 
Back from the vet. They were run off their feet but were lovely and fitted me in quite quickly. We were there for well over an hour. He is quite concerned about another flare up and went through all her bloods taken recently and talked over her issues with me. Her tummy is very painful and she was quite dehydrated. So she had some SubQ fluids, imi cerenia, imi clavolox then 3 weeks oral a/b. Couldn't have bupe as I had given her tramadol this morning. We are home again now but she is still not interested in eating.
I took her bsl when we got home and it was 198, down from hi 3 hours earlier.!!! She always drops at the vet. I gave her some honey as she is not eating much at all. 30 minutes later it was down to 164. I am feeding her whatever she will eat, which is not much at all.........but trying to stick to 13 or 16 carb.
The vet was a bit shocked at the bsl 23. He usually leaves me to handle her numbers but he did say to reduce her dose if she is sick...it is better to be too high than low..........which of course is correct.

One good piece of news is he has agreed for me to do some SubQ fluids at home and has given me everything to start.
At the moment he only wants me to do it when she is unwell, not as a routine thing. I had a practise go at the vet this morning. I wasn't too worried as I used to give them to dehydrated babies up in the country when there was no doctors around to set up IVs.
I also asked about cerenia tablets and he said yes to that too. They only have 60 mg tablets there....4 for $60, but can get in 16 mg tablets ...4 for $50. Not that the price is the main concern. I am more concerned about cutting up the 60mg tablets...they look as if they are sort of rectangular with rounded edges and might be hard to cut accurately.
@jayla-n-Drevon ...I think you told me you used both. Can you advise me please which is the better one? Also what is the dose? Is it 8 mg daily? They are putting in an order this afternoon at the vet and I have to let them know which one I want. I am leaning towards the 16 mg ones because of the ease of use.

Thanks Wendy, Karen, Sandi, Serryn, Amanda, Carla and Leslie for you support and vines. It was very scary getting that 23. I don't ever want to see another that low again....or in the 20s at all.

She is still not interested in food. Usually she responds to the cerenia quite well.
Any advice, hints or suggestions would be appreciated, thanks
Hi !
Yes I give Rico 8 mg per 24 hours.
The 60 mg are most cost effective especially if you may need it long term. It is not too hard to gauge the cutting. You may want to get some 16 mg just to get familiar with what 1/2 of it looks like do cutting up the 60 is easier.
I also put it in a gel cap and put the ondasetron in the same capsule.
I hope Sheba feels better asap
The fluids should help greatly too :bighug:
 
Hi !
Yes I give Rico 8 mg per 24 hours.
The 60 mg are most cost effective especially if you may need it long term. It is not too hard to gauge the cutting. You may want to get some 16 mg just to get familiar with what 1/2 of it looks like do cutting up the 60 is easier.
I also put it in a gel cap and put the ondasetron in the same capsule.
I hope Sheba feels better asap
The fluids should help greatly too :bighug:
Thanks so much for replying Jayla and the information.
Do you know if you can give the zofran 8 hourly?
How much zofran do you give per dose.?........I think Rico is much the same weight as Sheba who is 6.4 kg.
Thanks
 
Yes
Zofran/ ondasetron lasts for 6-8 hours.
Rico has gained a little weight since he started the budesonide :rolleyes:
He is about 14 pounds now
He gets 2-3 mg per dose
They used to dose this on the low side but have found that it is not easily absorbed in cats.
Dre is 19 pounds and 4 mg works for him.
You may have to play with the dose a little.
I personally would start with 2 -3 mg.
I don't think any less will do enough to help.
 
I think you have the 8 mg zofran.
I cut it in the center and then I cut those pieces horizontally to try to get a 2 mg.
So if your doing 2 mg then 1 pill that is 8 mg is 4 doses.
Now that Rico gets it 2 x a day regularly he is good on 2 mg 2 x a day.
It doesn't have to be perfect :bighug:
 
Thanks Jayla.
I gave Sheba zofran 2 mg 1 hour pre amps this morning and it is now 8 hours afterwards amps. so I might give her another dose now.

I think you have the 8 mg zofran.
I cut it in the center and then I cut those pieces horizontally to try to get a 2 mg.
So if your doing 2 mg then 1 pill that is 8 mg is 4 doses.
Now that Rico gets it 2 x a day regularly he is good on 2 mg 2 x a day.
It doesn't have to be perfect :bighug:
The zofran I have is the wafers which are 4 mg each so I cut them in half.
Thank you so much for this information...I am so grateful to get it. :bighug:
 
Hi Bron. I'm so sorry Sheba is so sick. You can give zofran every 8 hours without worry.
Thanks Elise.
I thought you could give it 8 hourly but it is always good to hear it from others.
I gave her another dose about an hour and a half ago and she has just eaten about half a teaspoon of food on her own! I had to hold the plate and it's only a bit but it is hopefully a start.
 
Thanks Sarah and Elise.

Small amounts often is best. If she eats too much at a time it might mKe her feel worse. I hope she recovers real soon.
Yes I only offered her a tiny bit of food and was surprised when she actually ate it on her own. I don't want to rush it and spoil things so we will hasten slowly. Thanks.
Apart from her first attack when she was hospitalised, this is the worst one she has had I think, so any advice and suggestions are very welcome.
 
OM. Just catching up. That is scary and happy the vet saw her. Smokey started on 15 mg of cerenia and was on it a few weeks until he was feeling better. Then we kept decreasing slowly until he got down to 4mg daily. We did it over many many weeks. The bupre we gave orally. Vet wasn't to keen on the transdermal as he said you can never be sure if they are getting enough.
 
OM. Just catching up. That is scary and happy the vet saw her. Smokey started on 15 mg of cerenia and was on it a few weeks until he was feeling better. Then we kept decreasing slowly until he got down to 4mg daily. We did it over many many weeks. The bupre we gave orally. Vet wasn't to keen on the transdermal as he said you can never be sure if they are getting enough.
That's interesting to know thanks Paula. So obviously they can have a bigger dose of the oral cerenia if needed. My vet said 16 mg and I was a bit concerned because I was sure I had seen on the forum that the doses were smaller. Did Smokey get the cerenia for pancreatitis?

I took Sheba back to the vet this afternoon for a bupe injection. Vet said this morning she was in a lot of pain, but because I had given her the tramadol early this morning she couldn't have the bupe. So as soon as the 12 hours were up I took her in for a bupe injection to try and ease the pain. They fitted me in again...I am so lucky to have such caring and accommodating vets. She had it about an hour ago and I think she is feeling a bit better already. She actually got up and came into the kitchen when I called her and she ate a little bit on her own! Gone back to bed now but that is a good start.
 
Payment not accepted but if you would like to make a donation to the LLEF (PM Linda and Bear Man to find out how) or your local cat shelter Vyktor would be most pleased :cat:

Eat your fuds Sheba!
 
Payment not accepted but if you would like to make a donation to the LLEF (PM Linda and Bear Man to find out how) or your local cat shelter Vyktor would be most pleased :cat:

Eat your fuds Sheba!

OK. I will do that...thanks very much Serryn. I will let you know what I do. In memory of Vyktor.
The strips will be great thanks.
Sheba has stopped eating again:(. I will try again later.
I gave her another reduced dose of insulin at PMPS as her appy is so iffy.
 
Oh Bron, I'm only just seeing this. I am so sorry that Sheba is unwell again so soon after her previous flare. Wow, that 23 must have scared the pants off you, please Sheba don't frighten us like that. Your vets are marvellous seeing you at short notice. Sending a plane load of get better vines for sweet Sheba, and some appy vines for good measure. And these are for you as you juggle everything that is going on :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
That's interesting to know thanks Paula. So obviously they can have a bigger dose of the oral cerenia if needed. My vet said 16 mg and I was a bit concerned because I was sure I had seen on the forum that the doses were smaller. Did Smokey get the cerenia for pancreatitis?

I took Sheba back to the vet this afternoon for a bupe injection. Vet said this morning she was in a lot of pain, but because I had given her the tramadol early this morning she couldn't have the bupe. So as soon as the 12 hours were up I took her in for a bupe injection to try and ease the pain. They fitted me in again...I am so lucky to have such caring and accommodating vets. She had it about an hour ago and I think she is feeling a bit better already. She actually got up and came into the kitchen when I called her and she ate a little bit on her own! Gone back to bed now but that is a good start.

Sorry Bron, just catching up. Smokey had the cerenia for pancreatitis. The ER is where he had the ultrasound as my vet does not do them. The ER prescribed it and the only have the 60 mg boxes. We went through 4 boxes of that dose (better cost for the amount we used). Then switched to what my vet used the 16 mg when we got him down to 8mg. Then 4 mg which he stayed on. Some days I had to bump up the dose when he seemed off.

The bupre he started at 0.1 ml every eight hours. It was wonderful. As he felt better we tried the dose every 12 hrs. Kept having to go back to every 8 hrs. Eventually he acted stoned but every 12 hrs didn't work. So I tried 0.05 ml every 8 hrs and it was a nice balance. Kept that going for a few weeks. At this point the IM and my vet decided he should stay on it for life. But I kept trying to get lower dose. And did get him to 0.05 ml every 24 hrs. It gave me a lot of room to bump up if I needed to. I like the oral liquid because it works super fast and can manipulate dose when needed.

I hope this helps you some and Sheba starts feeling better.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top