Bron and Sheba (GA)
Member Since 2015
Last condo http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-than-1-hour-til-christmas-here-in-oz.170158/
Sheba is unwell again.......looks like another pancreatic flare. She had one vomit day before yesterday but then seemed fine but did not eat her autofeeder chicken stock and food overnight that night .......a sure sign something was wrong.
Yesterday I struggled to get her to eat all day and to keep up the fluids. The vet was still closed for the Christmas period so we managed (just) with zofran and tramadol. I had given her the usual dose of amps insulin because at first she wanted to eat and I thought she was ok but she vomited after the insulin. I struggled all day to keep her BSL from dropping too low. I didn't want it to go down too low because I had no guarantee she would ate again, so tried to keep it around 5 (90). I gave her 6 lots of honey to maintain it around that number. All food was room service and I held the plate.
At +10 she was 58 so I gave her honey and tested at +11 and she was 76. I thought she would be fine at +11 so didn't give her more honey
When I tested at PMPS she had dropped to 1.3 (23)!!!
She suddenly became starving and fortunately ate some high carb and honey for me. I got such a shock to see that number I didn't even think to retest....I just grabbed the honey and gave her a very big dollop. 20 minutes later she was 58, so I think it was correct. She had no other symptoms except suddenly starving hungry. I was so scared she would become symptomatic! Her appetite went as quickly as it came once her bsl came up a bit.
She bounced almost immediately but I didn't give her any insulin because at that point I was not sure it if was the honey or a bounce and her appetite was still poor. I'd had to feed her at +12 with the 23, so I waited 2 hours then decided I would skip the dose and start again this morning just to be on the safe side after such a low number. In hindsight I could have given her the insulin!
By +20 she was "hi" and still is this morning. I gave her a reduced dose of insulin this morning...I know she is high but she is not eating and I don't want a repeat of yesterday's numbers........
This morning she is very lethargic (probably from the flare and the hi which she is not used to any more).
Not interested in eating and just lying in her bed, not communicating
I rang the vet first thing and they are fully booked but they said to come up at 10am and they will fit her in somewhere.
Sheba is unwell again.......looks like another pancreatic flare. She had one vomit day before yesterday but then seemed fine but did not eat her autofeeder chicken stock and food overnight that night .......a sure sign something was wrong.
Yesterday I struggled to get her to eat all day and to keep up the fluids. The vet was still closed for the Christmas period so we managed (just) with zofran and tramadol. I had given her the usual dose of amps insulin because at first she wanted to eat and I thought she was ok but she vomited after the insulin. I struggled all day to keep her BSL from dropping too low. I didn't want it to go down too low because I had no guarantee she would ate again, so tried to keep it around 5 (90). I gave her 6 lots of honey to maintain it around that number. All food was room service and I held the plate.
At +10 she was 58 so I gave her honey and tested at +11 and she was 76. I thought she would be fine at +11 so didn't give her more honey
When I tested at PMPS she had dropped to 1.3 (23)!!!
She suddenly became starving and fortunately ate some high carb and honey for me. I got such a shock to see that number I didn't even think to retest....I just grabbed the honey and gave her a very big dollop. 20 minutes later she was 58, so I think it was correct. She had no other symptoms except suddenly starving hungry. I was so scared she would become symptomatic! Her appetite went as quickly as it came once her bsl came up a bit.
She bounced almost immediately but I didn't give her any insulin because at that point I was not sure it if was the honey or a bounce and her appetite was still poor. I'd had to feed her at +12 with the 23, so I waited 2 hours then decided I would skip the dose and start again this morning just to be on the safe side after such a low number. In hindsight I could have given her the insulin!
By +20 she was "hi" and still is this morning. I gave her a reduced dose of insulin this morning...I know she is high but she is not eating and I don't want a repeat of yesterday's numbers........
This morning she is very lethargic (probably from the flare and the hi which she is not used to any more).
Not interested in eating and just lying in her bed, not communicating
I rang the vet first thing and they are fully booked but they said to come up at 10am and they will fit her in somewhere.



