12/28 Pumbaa - Sang the blues in the AM, PMPS = 98

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pumbaa

Member Since 2012
Yesterday's thread was more about Pumbaa losing a playmate than about Pumbaa, but here is the link. BTW, that image of Freydo holding the toy chainsaw was not faked in PhotoShop. *LOL* The toy chainsaw was a gag Christmas gift for my mom, and Freydo actually put his paw through the handle like that. Thankfully, I had a camera handy for that once-in-a-lifetime photo opp!

After a bounce 12/26 PM cycle, Pumbaa had a beautiful, relatively flat morning yesterday, only dropping about 20% from his AMPS of 219 to his PMPS of 172. On the Levemir, he, more often than not, goes up up until his +4, then starts dropping again. This morning he dropped about 35% from his AMPS of 150 to his PMPS of 98.

I shot his full 2.75U dose at the PMPS tonight because what is is, and his shed is already full, and he's going to do whatever he was going to do, with the insulin, and I will just have to steer him with higher carbed food if necessary. He got 7% carbed food tonight for dinner, which was simply the next can in rotation. I thought about giving him higher carbed food for his main meal, but I don't want to cheat him out of an earned dose reduction. I have many levels of carbed foods ready and available in my pantry, and think I did a great job of steering him with carbs on 12/20 (patting myself on the back *LOL*), and was planning lots of time in the kitchen tonight making big vat of soup, and just got four boxes of test strips yesterday, so all systems are a "go". :smile:

Well, all systems are a go if I can stay up/wake up from naps until Pumbaa starts going up or before his sometimes 4:30 am nadir!

Suze (I'm too told and too tired to do all-nighters regularly like I did in college)
 
98, +2 104, +4 71
Typical Friday night. ;-)

Good call on the dose and the food, it seems.

Carl

P.S. If you're too old, then I'm too old as well....but I'm still awake....so what time is the next test? :lol:
 
Carl, I've missed our Friday night Pumbaa dive fests. *LOL*

He just hit 71 at +4 (11:30 pm Arizona time, so that would be, what, 2:30 am your time?).

If you need to sleep, you don't have to hold my hand. I appreciate it a lot, but, we've been through this so many times, it's the old lather/rinse/repeat. *LOL*

I won't start steering Pumbaa with carbs tonight until he drops to an earned dose reduction level. I would love to see him earn another dose reduction, even if it takes another 16 cycles to level out and earn another one! That's just Pumbaa being Pumbaa! Maybe, just maybe, I am learning to dance to his music?

I was ready to increase him a few cycles ago, but I remembered what you had said about waiting another cycle, and sure enough, that was the right move! Now, instead of increasing him, we might be looking at decreasing him again, simply because I waited for Pumbaa to really settle into his dose. (((HUGS))) to you, my friend, for waking me up, as well as to Libby for letting me know that some cats continue to bounce as they go down the dosing scale.

Suze
 
Nah, it's only 2:23am here! I'm off till Monday afternoon. I'll sleep eventually, but time means nothing for the next couple of days.

I didn't figure you needed hand holding. Like you said, this is nothing new! I just figured I'd let you know I was around.

Hugs back atcha!
Carl
 
Carl, Pumbaa is down to 63 at +5, so I am going to try and nap for the next 45 minutes. I pray my cell phone alarm will wake me up. I do want to catch him just after he earns a dose reduction, and then try to bring him up with higher carbed foods.

You are so sweet being around, just in case I need you! Do you want to call me in 45 minutes to make sure I wake up?

Suze
 
Suze,
I can't do long distance calling. I have a "company phone" at my cabin, and long distance calls are blocked.
Apparently, in prior times, people made long distance calls, and then didn't pay the bills, so now nobody can dial out long distance.

And I have zero signal on my cell phone at my house, so I can"t call anyone unless I leave the house (so my phone is literally a "mobile phone") and I can't ditch the contract for a few more months. So I'm more or less cut off from the outside world, lol.

Do what I do. Set your control panel up to send you an email notification when you get a pm, (or you can subscribe to a thread and get an email when a reply is posted). Then make sure your phone is set up to notify you with a really obnoxious ringtone whenever you get an email. (Mine is Mr. Hanky from SouthPark saying "Howdy Ho!!!"). That'll wake you up!

I could send you a "wake up" PM if that'll help?

Carl
 
Carl:

Thank you, I think I heard you typing to me at almost 4 am, and that is what woke me up since I turned off my cell phone alarm and went back to napping at +6. Good thing I woke up because I caught Pumbaa at 49 at +8.5, and let him chow down on 14% carbed food.

Yea! The little guy earned a dose reduction! And you were correct in a previous thread...I was thinking of/threatening to do a dose increase, and Pumbaa came through and went low instead!

It sounds very rustic (and quiet and peaceful) where you are!

Oh, I don't have my emails coming into my cellphone. It's bad enough that they come into my computer. *LOL*

Suze
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top