12/28 Ozy AMPS-468,PMPS-365

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 12/28 Ozy AMPS-468,+2-379,+4-386,+6-404 highest reading

If you scruff him, does the skin return to "normal" quickly? Are his gums tacky to the touch?
 
Re: 12/28 Ozy AMPS-468,+2-379,+4-386,+6-404 highest reading

NO ketone smell. I am ALWAYS sniffing for that. That is why I know what his breath smells like. His breath smells stale, like a person who hasn't been drinking enough. It has been pretty fresh since his dental.

His neck scruffs normally. I think his gums are a little tacky.
 
Re: 12/28 Ozy AMPS-468,+2-379,+4-386,+6-404 highest reading

i think it's exactly like sienne said - when you started and had to learn to inject, home test, move to new food, enter into the ss, post here and try to figure out what a Lantus cycle was, not to mention being prepared for low numbers - the first couple of weeks of that is hell for most everyone. it's overwhelming. the thing that gets you through it is people repeating what you need to know when you need to know it and encouraging you. they let you know it was hard for them too, but it got easier.

so right now, you've got a new thing to learn. and it doesn't come with a Tight Regulation Protocol that you can read to understand it all. You're having to trust us who have seen it in others before, that this too, will become easier. as you learn and understand what's going on, it gets easier. it will. Sandy and Pattie are living proof of surviving the craziness of iaa. Wendy and I have done the acro kitty "what do i do now?" phase as well. Each cat seems to bring their own difficulties into the mix - Dyana, Sienne and Marje have survived the Quick Dive Kitty Challenge and lived to tell about it. Carl got lucky with Bob being easy - and we just all celebrate that one kitty out of 10 or 20 that is easy.

For the moment, though, yes, i think you can enjoy the high numbers by testing less often and getting a break for yourself. Maybe you could go for a walk at Laurelhurst Park - it's beautiful there. Or I noticed there are still a lot of Christmas lights up in your neighborhood.

And tonight, let's look at his pmps and then get a test at +2 or +3 and let's decide from there. You no doubt need a break so you can sleep all night. It's so important to be able to keep doing this that you take care of yourself.

once when i gave punkin fluids his blood sugar just plummeted. i asked for help about that and Jill thought it might or might not be related. Subsequent subqs never did that again. Could've been that he was unusually dehydrated so that first time made a difference, but after that, nada.
 
Re: 12/28 Ozy AMPS-468,+2-379,+4-386,+6-404 highest reading

So is that a yes or no to fluids?

Are you saying no testing until PMPS?
 
Re: 12/28 Ozy AMPS-468,+2-379,+4-386,+6-404 highest reading

To me, if gums are tacky then fluids are needed. I have never done them on Harley so the others should weigh in. But dehydration is nothing to play around with. Yes, wait til pmps to test, then +2 or 3 to see what he does.

Do u have fluids...what do you others feel

Pattie
 
Re: 12/28 Ozy AMPS-468,+2-379,+4-386,+6-404 highest reading

My vote is - walk away from the test kit until PMPS. He's not going anyplace dangerous between now and then.
 
Re: 12/28 Ozy AMPS-468,+2-379,+4-386,+6-404 highest reading

Donaleen,
I think you should go with your instincts on the fluids. You've given them to Ozy before, and you can see how he's acting. Maybe a "half serving"? How much do you usually give when you give him fluids?
 
Re: 12/28 Ozy AMPS-468,+2-379,+4-386,+6-404 highest reading

Yes, I have fluids. I use them (less often than I should) for his pancreatitis.

Thanks Wendy and Pattie for the clear answers.

And, Carl, we usually give just 50 ml at a time. Ozy won't put up with more at one time.
 
Re: 12/28 Ozy AMPS-468,+2-379,+4-386,+6-404 highest reading

OK, I used to give Bob 100ml, sometimes more than once per day. I think 50ml would be okay.
 
Re: 12/28 Ozy AMPS-468,+2-379,+4-386,+6-404 highest reading

And after the fluids, but all sharp objects away untiltomorrow morning PMPS. ;-)
 
Re: 12/28 Ozy AMPS-468,+2-379,+4-386,+6-404 highest reading

Well, Carl, that made me laugh. But PMPS is ahead as is tonight's insulin shot. Even though Sienne said "let Ozy be Ozy" I don't think she meant I should skip those.

Sometimes I DO want to just let Ozy be Ozy.... how much worse could it be than it is? (rhetorical question, don't answer).

I really thought the experts would come in and read Ozy's data and tell me what to do. Now, where did I get that idea? Because everyone is always pushing spreadsheets at me and telling me I can learn a lot from them. So, I thought other people could tell me a lot from Ozy's. Don't be scared off experts. I do appreciate your support. I am feeling helpless and frustrated and like there are no answers, just scary facts.
 
Re: 12/28 Ozy AMPS-468,+2-379,+4-386,+6-404 highest reading

I'm with Carl, go with the 50. Don't test. Can drive u nuts at time. Wait for pmps, only. Few hours away. Carl, you gave me my chuckle for the evening

Pattie
 
Re: 12/28 Ozy AMPS-468,+2-379,+4-386,+6-404 highest reading

Sometimes I DO want to just let Ozy be Ozy

I'm looking forward to the day that you bust through this IAA junk, and you get to have one of those days when you can just give OZY his morning shot and breffis and then let him be him till PMPS. :-D
 
Re: 12/28 Ozy AMPS-468,+2-379,+4-386,+6-404 highest reading

Carl, you gave me my chuckle for the evening

Thanks, Pattie. I love it when that happens. It means I've "done my job". ;-)
If nothing else, my goal each day is to defuse a little of the stress of the sugardance. :lol:
 
Re: 12/28 Ozy AMPS-468,+2-379,+4-386,+6-404 highest reading

I reread Sienna' s post about reading old condos. She is so right. I still have my old one from when Harley first dropped to 39. Everyone here was wonderful but I thought I was killing him. Great advice got me through that and it will you. Oh, and. now when Harley falls that low, I give some HC and go back to reading. Test every hour to make sure he is ok and continue on.

Pattie
 
sorry i didn't give you a clear answer - i guess i was saying that i didn't think giving him fluids would make a difference to his numbers, although never say never with these kitties!

people are looking at Ozy's ss and studying them. the thing is the game changed with the switch from lantus to lev.

the important thing now is figuring out what his cycles look like on Lev, when he onsets, nadirs and what the overlap is.

It's going to be really helpful to get a couple more cycles at 6.5u to look at what he does with this dose. No matter how high he is tomorrow, let's give him at least 4-6 cycles on this dose so we can gather some information.
 
I also think that until he starts to come down a little more, I'd not test until +4. He's either up at +2 and down at +4 or he's about meter variance.

Once numbers start coming down a bit OR he starts showing a clearer pattern, I'd give you both a break. IMHO.
 
Thanks, Julie. I won't be changing his dose any sooner than that. I need a day off from the forum. I will post his numbers in his SS. I will not do a condo tomorrow.

Sorry. I am more than a little on edge but that is no excuse. I apologize. To all of you.

I wish someone had warned me that this could happen. That his numbers could be the worst ever and for quite a period of time. I wish I had known this was quite possible. I do better with things I expect. After nearly six months, I thought I knew one thing about Ozy and that is that he doesn't go above 400 much and not often. I did not expect that to change. I am very sad it has. It truly makes me feel like I am failing him, that we all are failing him, but most of all me. He is my baby, my love and my responsibility to take care of.

So how many readings are helpful to see how he does with Levemir cycles? How many readings tonight? I will definitely check him when I get up to pee. The hard time for me is from 3 am to 7 am. I bet that is when you want him checked.
 
i think one test tonight, whenever you get up anyway, is enough. don't set an alarm.

sleep well!

then tomorrow, maybe every 3-4 hrs would provide a lot of information.

it's hard to tell people what *might* happen because no cat has all of it and trying to predict can be very difficult. hang in there. we're hanging with you. you're doing your best, which is pretty great. i'd be happy being a cat in your house! Ozy is well-loved and he'll improve. it just doesn't happen as quickly as we'd like.

:YMHUG:
 
Hi there :cool:
Glad to hear Ozy was tormenting his mouse today.

Regarding fleas & indoor cats – although BK is strictly indoor , the day of his OTJ party he had a vet appointment which I made because he had been scratching like nobodys business. He also had what I described as a ‘fat lip’. He had fleas and the fat lip was eosinophilic granuloma, likely a reaction to flea saliva. We got rid of both.
donaleen and Ozy said:
Well, the thing is, steering Ozy is like steering a barge. SLOW moving. Maybe slow moving insulins aren't a good match.
.
I don’t believe that slow acting insulins aren’t a good match for Ozy; he just needs some fast acting R added to his treatment.
donaleen and Ozy said:
Just yesterday he was a lot higher two hours AFTER AMPS.... in fact since Levemir he has been higher at +2 every time I checked.
for a kitty with IAAs , a high post-prandial BG reading makes sense to me, based on the IAAs potential to retard the initial rise of available insulin after an injection. If that pattern continues you might consider tweaking meal times relative to shot times. However unless there is some compelling reason, I recommend holding off on that for now – the switch to Lev is a big change in and of itself. Further changes (diet, meal times etc) will just serve to muddy the waters right now, making it difficult for those of us trying to help. Glad to hear you plan to hold 6.5 a few cycles.
Sienne and Gabby said:
One side benefit with higher numbers is you get a good night's sleep. Trust me. You'll be wanting that sometime soon.
Oh yeah,. . .the (sleep deprived) day will come when you will welcome the occasional higher number. :cool:
 
donaleen

We really had no way of knowing he would go higher. When I said it could take weeks to get where you were, I meant getting some greens again. I didn't anticipate Ozy would go higher than his norm....I just felt it would take him a bit to start seeing greens.

Think of it this way...Ozy just gave you a 438 a couple weeks ago. The numbers you got today are well within meter variance of that number.

I know when you are the one reading those numbers for your cat, it is all kinds of depressing. But you have to start focusing on the positive, donaleen. Ozy is healthier because you are giving him insulin. He has more love than he could ever hope for. He loves you. When Gracie throws me a high number for her, I focus on how sleek and silky her coat is, how playful she is, how lucky I am to have found FDMB or she would likely be dead. And then I try to do something fun.

You can't continue to do this to yourself. You ARE doing the best anyone could do and you love him so much. You are going to have to learn to roll with it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top