12/28 Musette +4~128, +6~82, +8~202, +10~244, pmps#1~334

Status
Not open for further replies.

MommaOfMuse

Member Since 2010
Finally back to being upright for more than a few minutes a day, I threw my back out on Christmas day, thank God that DH was still off work to help with things like feeding, cleaning litter boxes and walking the drooler.

Musette so far as earned herself two dose reductions so we are chasing that dose down, she is a odd little cat, instead of going really low when she wants her dose reduced she jumps way up. So even though I wasn't catching her going extremely low at night her morning preshots start hitting the pinks, this I now know is her signal that the dose is to high.

Today she proved me right, after several days with high amps of 350+ I started her yesterday on a mere .6u split into two .3u shots, and was rewarded with a amps of 267 and 254...much better than the last few days at .8u split into two .4u shots.

Not sure how much the switch to the lower carb FF is working for her as she gobbles her food down and then goes to see if Maxwell and Lady Jane have left any for her to snack on...lol. So she is still probably getting more carbs than I would like her to have, but there is really no way to stop her from snacking on Maxwell & Lady Jane's food, as they are my only two grazers out of the bunch. So we have struck a compromise, she still gets her 2-3% carb FF and they get Friskies Special diet Turkey and Giblets for grazing on.

Just have to see where this new dose settles for her but so far it is looking good, I'm so much happier to see those yellow preshots than the pink, now if she would just decide that she likes blue in the mornings I would be even happier.

Going to be seeing about getting her in to the Vet's in the next couple of weeks to get an estimate on getting her a dental done now that she is more regulated and back to a nice healthy weight. Her teeth are a mess which we knew about before we adopted her, but I didn't want them done until I put some weight on her, she was so thin when she first got her, plus I wanted her to feel like she was truly home before having anything major done to her. Poor little girl had spent enough time at a vet's before coming here, especially when she had DKA. I didn't want her to feel like she was being abandon again. But now she seems to well adjusted to her new home and back to a nice healthy 8lbs, so now is the time to address those teeth. Hopefully once they are done I'll get plenty of practice micro-dosing her. :-D

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Little **** is quick, I left the honey baked ham from Christmas dinner unattended for about 30 seconds while I went to get more storage containers out of the cupboard to finish freezing it, she leaps on the counter and proceeds to help herself to several healthy chunks of it. :roll: I tried telling her honey baked ham with a brown sugar and pineapple juice glaze and being a diabetic cat just don't go together...I don't think she was listening she was way too busy licking her whiskers...lol But boy does her numbers tonight show that she got into the countraband..<sigh>

Oh well tomorrow is a new day, and hopefully a sugar free day now that the ham is safely resting in the freezer.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top