12/28 Mocha AMPS 225 +2 122 +4 44

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mocha'sMom

Member Since 2013
Last Condo

Good Morning LL! ~O)

Today is Curve day. I was contemplating a dosecrease, however he seems to have other plans. Appy is good, and we have all 5 P's in place. confused_cat I don't know where these numbers are coming from, but I like them. I have had trouble getting my daily posts done because my work schedule is weird for end-of-year physical inventory :YMSIGH:

Hope everyone is well, I am sending healing vines to those in need. Off to visit some condo's...
 
Re: 12/28 Mocha AMPS 225 +2 122

Looks like Mocha's heading towards the lagoon today! With it being curve day, you'll be able to see when he gets there :-D Have a great day doing the hokey pokey :-D
 
Re: 12/28 Mocha AMPS 225 +2 122

Kim & Twice said:
Looks like Mocha's heading towards the lagoon today! With it being curve day, you'll be able to see when he gets there

Well Kim, he got there! I am doing more of a mini curve today, every two hours. 122 @ +2 was weird, but we have seen that before, I wasn't too worried. I guess I should have been more concerned. ohmygod_smile Fed him some HC with a little Karo mixed in. I will retest again soon. :roll: Here we go, I guess today will strictly be house chores, no errands for me.
 
mocha does have a lot of zig-zag action going on! i'm glad today was your chosen curve day so that 44 got caught! well done.

have you tried the tinkering with feeding times to try to even out these numbers? sometimes taking the total quantity of food and dividing it in half morning/half evening, then dividing that half into thirds and giving them at preshot, +1 and +2 helps stop the early cycle diving.

so for example, if you feed 2 cans of Fancy Feast (3oz each) per day, you'd give one ounce each at preshot, +1 and +2, then repeat in the evening.

When I see a +2 significantly lower than the preshot, i think "dive" and usually it doesn't end up holding a nice flat cycle at the end of the dive, rather it sets off that zig-zag pattern. Mocha's got that going a lot of the time. If we could take the top highs off, i wonder if his numbers overall would flatten out. i think it'd be worth trying.

some people put an * in the columns on the ss to note where they are feeding. that helps to see if the change in feeding patterns is helping.

i'd give that a try for a couple of weeks and if it doesn't seem to be helping, you could even add a higher low-carb food at preshot and +1 to see if that reduces the dive. Say if you usually give him 4%, maybe an 8% would be enough to stop the diving. make good notes in your ss so you can reflect back on what is or isn't helping.
 
I will try that Julie. We feed him whenever he asks, we don't limit his consumption except during the two hours preshot. But if he doesn't ask, we don't insist, so I guess that is our pitfall. :? I honestly am not sure exactly how many onces he is eating. He eats a couple cans a day, but I feed him as much as he wants (being on the skinny side) and have never really tracked it very closely. :oops:
 
that's perfect - because it kinda gives you a blank slate to start on. I really think if we could help Mocha stop with the diving in the first couple of hours of each cycle, it might help him get flatter cycles.

well, something for you to consider anyway!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top