12/28 Milo AMPS 158 PMPS 218; +2 145; +4 104

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 12/28 Milo AMPS 158

That's a great preshot. And what nice flat numbers for the last day! That's exactly what we like to see :-D :-D Is he completely on low carb canned food now? Get a +1 and +2. If you have medium carb and high carb food and plenty of strips and will be around to test, you are in control and can keep Milo safe.
Liz
 
Re: 12/28 Milo AMPS 158

Yes he is only eating Wellness now.

He picked a great time for diabetes since I am not working right now. I rarely have to leave him alone.
 
Re: 12/28 Milo AMPS 158

Morning guys that is a great amps! That is awesome that you are able to get a lot of tests, data is very important. Hope you have a great day!
 
Re: 12/28 Milo AMPS 158; +1 102; +2 70

At +1 I got him to eat a bit of his leftover meal from his shot and after his +2 I went and got some more Wellness for him. He is eating away.
 
Re: 12/28 Milo AMPS 158; +1 102; +2 70

That's great. You might want to look over the sticky at the top of the forum SHOOTING & HANDLING LOW NUMBERS. It's good to have a paper copy of this one to make notes and to have in case the board is down and you need it.

There is also the typical Lantus curve:
Example of a typical Lantus curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.

This is what's called an "active cycle", in that the +2 is lower than the preshot. So let's get a +3 and see where he's at.
Liz
 
Re: 12/28 Milo AMPS 158; +1 102; +2 70; +3 64

+3 64

I don't know how you guys do it nailbite_smile

Since I am using Relion isn't his true number actually higher? I know it was 24 lower than my alphatrak but my alphatrak was 14 higher than the vet.
 
Re: 12/28 Milo AMPS 158; +1 102; +2 70; +3 64

balls of steel.. and wine always works ;) Looks like his drop has slowed a little bit which is good. Since this is his first time doing green and given we have a good three hours to go before his theoretical nadir, the elders may ask you to feed a little at this point. Hoping they chip in now.

But dont worry - keep an eye on him and read the sticky if you havent already. I am hoping you have all the HC syrup etc just in case its needed. He will probably do a big bounce later today or tonite.

Your meter might well be higher but its yours we are basing dosing on etc.
 
Re: 12/28 Milo AMPS 158; +1 102; +2 70; +3 64

Also if you are nervous you could test every half hour. I am doing that right now with Tiggy who is at 52... and is only at AMPS +1. I am ready with the HC if he hits 40. I like to give a little syrup to get him up above 40 and some LC food to try and sustain that higher level.

But past experience with Tiggy, he will either stay at this level, or go shooting up into pink.

Plus I am watching him for hypo signs, Tiggy he has been to 38 and no signs. My other boy Bailey has been to 23 and no signs, but was in almost a coma at 16 one time ( I woke up to find him like that, rubbed his gums with syrup and he was back up in 15mins running around!)
 
Re: 12/28 Milo AMPS 158; +1 102; +2 70; +3 64

I think I will do half hours. I have 2 cans of FF chicken grilled right on my desk plus the karo and the high carb DM dry food.

OMG a coma. I think I would probably fall into a coma myself if that happened. I just took a klonopin to help mellow me out. I just brushed him for a bit and he was purring like crazy. He is a purring maniac. I think he purrs at least 90% of every day.
 
Re: 12/28 Milo AMPS 158; +1 102; +2 70; +3 64

Did you give him a little wellness to eat at +3? I would really avoid the dry food. It takes too long to get into the bloodstream and then it stays too long too.

It gets better after you've done it a few times and you see what his pattern is. Of course, being a cat is like the stock market: history is no guarantee of future performance. :lol: :lol:
Liz
 
Re: 12/28 Milo AMPS 158; +1 102; +2 70; +3 64

I will offer him some Wellness. I have the dry food just because it was part of that hypo toolbox post. I would use the FF grilled before that. I don't want to mess up these good numbers with the dry food. I would be very happy if he doesn't go below 50.

Is this what you would normally view as a good day? I am just so used to red and black numbers. Probably too soon to tell but would he likely need a dose decrease after this? It looks like his food changes are really helping. I am starting to tell my friends with cats to get rid of dry food.
 
Re: 12/28 Milo AMPS 158; +1 102; +2 70; +3 64

I think this is a great day! Its nice to see some green on him. If he goes below 50 then you get a special reward - a decrease of 1/4unit! So ideally I think you ease him to 50 or slightly below and then feed to bring him up to a nice 70 or higher for the rest of the day.

Good job on telling your friends about dry food - I do the same... to everyone i know with a cat!!
 
Re: 12/28 Milo AMPS 158; +1 102; +2 70; +3 64

This is a GREAT day! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: We have different levels of goals for Zener. First is that he feels good. Second is to keep him below renal threshold which is about 200 but varies from cat to cat. Third is to keep him in normal numbers (50 to 120). He was diagnosed 21 months ago and it's been a long haul. I hope Milo finds the normal numbers quickly. Many cats do that.
Liz
 
Re: 12/28 Milo AMPS 158; +1 102; +2 70; +3 64; +4 70

+4 70

Would that be a food spike? Can't wait to show my vet these awesome numbers.
 
Re: 12/28 Milo AMPS 158; +1 102; +2 70; +3 64; +4 70

Yep - very likely it could be due to the food, or he could have started a bounce, or he could have an early nadir or.... no matter what the cause, we will see what happens in an hour!
 
Re: 12/28 Milo AMPS 158; +1 102; +2 70; +3 64; +4 70

Purrfect! I'm signing off now. You and Milo are surfing. :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
Liz
 
Re: 12/28 Milo AMPS 158; +1 102; +2 70; +3 64; +4 70

+5 is 94 so I am thinking he won't go back down

Should I wait and get a +6? I was going to go run a few errands. My mom is here to watch him but she can't test him.
 
Re: 12/28 Milo AMPS 158; +1 102; +2 70; +3 64; +4 70

Isn't it amazing what eliminating the dry food does? These are just gorgeous numbers!

Ideally, you want to be feeding small amounts of LC right now to keep Milo surfing. You would give him about a teaspoon or two of LC.
 
Re: 12/28 Milo AMPS 158; +1 102; +2 70; +3 64; +4 70

His +10 was 201

Since I am doing the start low go slow, should I decrease his dose the next shot?

I went and got some new treats. I was giving him the greenies dental treats after testing but I wanted something better so I got the Pure bites chicken and he loves them.
 
Re: 12/28 Milo AMPS 158 PMPS 218

Well his pre shot was 218. Me and my mom both think he should get a reduction in dose since he went so low today plus we don't know how much more his food changes will effect his numbers. So 1.5 units is now his dose.
 
Re: 12/28 Milo AMPS 158 PMPS 218

Good luck with the reduction! And great job with all of the testing today. :-D You might see some higher numbers because of a bounce, which is the liver freaking out from the lower numbers (lower than it's used to lately). It can take up to 72 hours for a bounce to clear so don't be discouraged if he goes back high.
Liz
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top