12/28 Mikey PMPS 491 +4 303 Mikey is in the DOGHOUSE!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 12/28 Mikey AMPS 228 +1 285

Hi guys and Happy Birthday! I hope mikey surfs the day away for you with a nice easy cycle .. have a great day!
 
Re: 12/28 Mikey AMPS 228 +1 285

Oops, neglected the condo cleaning today. +3 292 :shock: and +10 243 At least when he has a yukky tellow curve, I can get stuff done...so I did! Off to birthday dinner with friends so I can get home in time for his PM shot.
 
Re: 12/28 Mikey AMPS 228 +1 285

PMPS 491 Boy is Mikey in trouble! He got in the trash (no easy feat) while I was gone from +10-+12 and ate the cookies and a little ice cream from the bottom of the milkshake cup in there (shake had cookies in it, and I didn't finish it, left maybe 1-2 tablespoons of stuff in the bottom). Hence the crazy high BG. Mommy will not be sorry if Mikey has a tummy ache! I gave him his regular dose, a little fat, because this is an irregular event and i didn't want to change the dose based on a PS that's way high due to Mikey being a jerk. Was that the right thing to do, or should I increase the dose if it happens again? I don't think I need to worry about DKA or anything from a one-time event, since Mikey wasn't even prone before he was on insulin (I don't have ketone strips but can get some tomorrow if it's a concern)? How long should this take to clear his system?

Also, I was about 15 minutes late getting home. Can I do his AM shot at the regular time since it was only 15 minutes? Or should I go back like 5 minutes at a time for the next few cycles?
 
Re: 12/28 Mikey PMPS 491 Mikey is in the DOGHOUSE!

Oh, Mikey, you've gone and done it now. Just how do you plan to get off of that ceiling?

Moving a dose 15 minutes a cycle is fine. I don't know about adjusting the dose amount, but I'm sure someone will be along to answer. Have you considered locking the trash? :lol:
 
Re: 12/28 Mikey PMPS 491 Mikey is in the DOGHOUSE!

Actually, I usually lock it in the laundry room if I think he can get into it (The lid is taped firmly on so he can't get it off; he managed to pry the flap open and climb into the trash can. He then chewed a hole in the cup because he couldn't get the lid off), but I didn't think he could reach anything since it was just emptied. He must have REALLY wanted it. (And, yes, I'd have laughed if he had gotten stuck in there. Hard.)
 
Re: 12/28 Mikey PMPS 491 Mikey is in the DOGHOUSE!

:shock: He's a very determined kitty! Mr Tinkles' downfall is the dog kibble....he tries to sneak into it if the drooler leaves even one little crumb in the bowl! Hopefully the contraband will clear quickly by itself...most likely he will be back down by morning. I would not increase the dose, Lantus likes consistency. By the time the increase kicks in, the contraband effect will be history.

I agree with Linda....you can move the shot time by 15 minutes all at one time, no worries.
 
Re: 12/28 Mikey PMPS 491 Mikey is in the DOGHOUSE!

Mikey, you are so cute :-D I mean :roll: :-x
Did he have an ice cream mustache?
Hopefully, he's in the process of coming down, right now, and will be fine by morning.
 
Re: 12/28 Mikey PMPS 491 Mikey is in the DOGHOUSE!

You don't raise the dose for a one time event. Like Laurie noted, Lantus likes consistency. You just have to grit your teeth and shoot the usual dose.

You have a seriously determined kitty!
 
Re: 12/28 Mikey PMPS 491 Mikey is in the DOGHOUSE!

Oh Mikey!!!! Is that any way to stress mamabean on her birthday? I think he's just giving you a present to allow you to get some sleep tonight.

Happy Birthday and hope your dinner was lots of fun.
 
Re: 12/28 Mikey PMPS 491 Mikey is in the DOGHOUSE!

:lol: :lol: :lol:

HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!!!!!!!

Mikey...now we know that the devilish look in your avatar picture is accurate :lol:

birthday_cat.JPG
 
Re: 12/28 Mikey PMPS 491 Mikey is in the DOGHOUSE!

Happy Birthday, Amy! I guess it was a memorable one!! Don't worry about Mikey. He'll be fine. Lots of the kitties get into things they shouldn't and all survive. As everyone has already said, shoot your regular dose. And also keep in mind that you always have a 15-20 minute leeway with regard to shot times, if you should need it.

Enjoy your evening and a good night's sleep!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 12/28 Mikey PMPS 491 Mikey is in the DOGHOUSE!

That's true; I guess I don't have to worry about too much testing tonight, because everything will be wonky til Mikey's adventure clears his system. I'll still grab a BG around +4/5, and give his ears a break. And go to bed early...AFTER I lock up the garbage can!
 
Re: 12/28 Mikey PMPS 491 Mikey is in the DOGHOUSE!

At +4 he's down to 303-almost in the yellow, at least. Normally this would be his nadir, but I'm guessing he will drop more toward his normal PS level as his indiscretion clears. At least I hope so...he's still on the poop list, though.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top