12/28 Lucy PMPS=180;+2=167

Status
Not open for further replies.

mariko

Member Since 2011
Happy Saturday!

yesterday's condo

12/27 AMPS=158 (0.75u); +2=176; +8=146
12/27 PMPS=157 (0.75u); +2=185; +4=184; +6=185

12/28 AMPS=140 (0.75u); +1=157; +2=160; +3.5=167; +6.5=194; +8.5=185
12/28 PMPS=180 (0.75u); +1=193; +2=167

Lucy was feeling mostly good last night, and ate the 1st breakfast fine by finger-feeding this morning.
This could be due to a residual effect of yesterday's cypro, so I'll see if she needs another dose later today.
She definitely needs a dosecrase, but I'm going to keep her on this dose for a while longer until her appetite improves a bit.
It's too stressful for both of us when she doesn't eat on a higher dose.

I finally found and contacted a holistic vet who does house call acupuncture.
The fee was so expensive my eyes popped out, but I though house calls might be less stressful for Lucy, so I made an appointment for Monday.
This doctor is a homeopathic vet, and when I spoke with her on the phone, she mentioned that she may suggest homeopathic remedies and/or herbs.
I googled "homeopathy" and read some stuff, but I don't really get it.
I basically wanted just acupuncture done for her poor appetite/energy, but if someone has some treatment suggestion that might improve her QOL, I'm willing to try as long as it's safe.

:?: Does anyone have any experience with homeopathy?
If so, could you please share your experience?
Did it work? Is it safe? Anything I should be aware of?
:?:

My main concern is if it's safe.
If it just doesn't work, I won't regret trying it as long as no harm done to Lucy.
Lucy has poor immune system.
The homeopathy principle of "Like cures like" does't sound completely safe to me.
Plus I don't understand how any of her conditions (IBD, CKD, pancreatitis, FD) can be treated with "like with like" method.

I appreciate any input / thoughts.
Sending vines to all in need!
 
Re: 12/28 Lucy AMPS=140 // Homeopathy?

Drop Marje a PM. She utilizes a holistic vet. What I can tell you is the obvious -- not all people who call themselves "holistic" or homeopaths are equally well trained. Do your own research or let us help you filter the information this person provides.
 
Re: 12/28 Lucy AMPS=140 // Homeopathy?

Hi Mariko!
Hoping Lucy continues to eat well for you :smile:
I completely agree with Sienne. Not all are created equal. The same goes for doctors, vet, etc. I myself like some homeopathic aids for, but I am very excited to see what Marje and others can tell you as far as pet's txs.
 
Re: 12/28 Lucy AMPS=140 // Homeopathy?

Thank you, Sienne.
I sent a PM to Marje.

I will post everything she suggests before I try any of the remedies!
This is the vet I am going to see on Monday.
 
Re: 12/28 Lucy AMPS=140 // Homeopathy?

Her credentials look good. (The accordion part -- well.........)

You'll see what you think about what she has to say.
 
Re: 12/28 Lucy AMPS=140;+2=160 // Homeopathy?

I have used homeopathic medicine and acupuncture for my animals and my self. Just be careful homeopathic and allopathic medicine don't always mix.
 
Re: 12/28 Lucy AMPS=140;+2=160 // Homeopathy?

I have no advice on the homeopathy, just wanted to pop in and say hello and good luck with the appointment :-D I'm glad you got some food in Lucy, her numbers look nice today, blues :-D Have a great caturday!
 
Re: 12/28 Lucy AMPS=140;+2=160 // Homeopathy?

Good luck with the acupuncture for Lucy. I know of a few people who have had success with that for various ailments. Finding one who does house calls is a bonus.

Don't be surprised if the homeopathic vet recommends raw food. Looks like that is what is on her web site and my experience with other homeopathic vets is that is what they suggest as well. Thanks for posting the link to the vets website. I know of three local homeopathic vets, but not that do house calls.
 
Re: 12/28 Lucy AMPS=140;+2=160 // Homeopathy?

I say yes to the acupuncture. Sometimes it really helps; sometimes you don't notice too much of a difference.

Herbs: I've used them extensively. For the most part, they don't work quickly. If you decide to use them, remember that it takes patience and it is really an ECID thing. I used a ton of herbs for Gracie when she had chronic, sterile interstitial cystitis. They never helped. But one of my very favorite herbs, agastache, is amazing for tummy upsets and I keep it here all the time.

Homeopathy: my last holistic vet and my current holistic vet don't use homeopathy. Can it work? Yes; we used homeopathy with our one kitty who had liver cancer and it gave him three more months of good QOL. Maybe it worked because we were out of options and we just REALLY wanted it to. I've used it for other things with not such amazing results....to the extent that I don't use it anymore at all. But I also don't eschew it on the off chance that it could work when you've tried everything else.

Just see what she has to say and what she recommends and then you know you can bounce it off of us. And yes, homeopathy typically does involve a "healing crisis". But not always.
 
Re: 12/28 Lucy PMPS=180

Thank you, Kim, Rachel, Wendy, for your well wishes.
Thank you, Barbara, for letting me know that homeopathic and allopathic medicine don't always go well together.

Thank you, Marje, for popping in to share your experience and knowledge.
Very helpful as always.
Lucy got acupuncture treatments regularly from March to July every other week, and I think she responded to them well.
(This vet is on maternity leave now - since end/July.)
So I definitely want to get acupuncture for Lucy from this new vet.
As for homeopathy and herbs, I'll see what she has to say and post here.......

Lucy was in a good mood, and ate the 1st dinner pretty well this evening - and without another dose of cypro!
Her numbers are trending high in the past couple of days - too close to yellow....
If she can't keep her numbers down towards lower blue on this dose and if her appetite keeps up reasonably well, I'll consider increasing, maybe tomorrow night.
I just don't want to see green yet until her appetite is more stable, not so on/off like now.
 
Lucy ate the 2nd dinner well too!
But not the 3rd dinner.... She was sort of like "meh" and I didn't push it.

I may give her another dose of cypro before bed for tomorrow's appy.
The last dose took at least more than 2 hours to kick in, so if I wait until her appetite completely disappear, it will be too late.
Another cypro may be unnecessary, but I'm thinking it might trick her to think "she loves Wellness, even non-moussey texture.".
Probably not, she's a smart girl, but she's changed her mind about food before, so maybe.....
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top