12/28 Lucian AMPS 457, +9.5/285 PMPS 345,+8.25/220

Status
Not open for further replies.

nckitties3

Member Since 2013
Finally saw some sunshine. :o

Need info on PZI and/or Prozinc. Dr says she has used both and has no problem trying them with Lucian. Asked if I knew which was cheaper, but I have no clue. I know she's trying to help, since she is aware of my financial limitations.

Any and all info on these 2 insulin are greatly appreciated.
 
Re: 12/28 Lucian AMPS 457, +9.5/285

Mittens was on Prozinc for 4 months prior to switching to Lantus-so I can give you some info on that :smile:

At my vets, a vial was about $160 (although I believe you can find it elsewhere online for cheaper) and has a shelf life much longer than Lantus. It is a U-40 insulin, but with using the conversion chart you can use the U-100 needles & dose in much smaller increments.

What's nice about Prozinc is that you can shoot on a sliding scale, adjusting the dose based on the preshot number, and it's also much more flexible with regard to scheduling since it's an in & out insulin-there is no deposit. There also is no formal "waiting" for the dose to kick in like there is with the deposit insulins-although I found that with Mittens holding a dose for a few cycles worked best for him, but ECID.

If you go on the Prozinc forum, there is a sticky for the ProZinc/PZI protocol that you may want to take a look at (I'd link to it, but I'm not sure how). You might also want to PM Sue & Oliver, she really helped me out a lot when Mittens was on Prozinc.

I found Mittens to be bouncy on Prozinc, but there are a lot of cats over there that are doing quite well on it, and as you know ECID :-D .
 
Re: 12/28 Lucian AMPS 457, +9.5/285

I would second the idea of pming Sue & Oliver she's the most knowledgeable person I know when it comes to Prozinc/Pzi. She's my go to person in that department.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 12/28 Lucian AMPS 457, +9.5/285 PMPS 345

I've been reading the stickies over there ---->

Just wonder how long the 10ml will last considering the price? It's $80-90 for the vial. That's much more than the Lev and Lantus and being a U40 1.0U equals 2.5U in U100.

Sent email to the vet to get her to request the 100U sample to give us an opportunity to see if he improves on it. If he does, I'll try to find a way to pay for it.

He does seem to be coming down a bit, finally. Still well over renal threshold which I hate, but maybe soon...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top