12/28 Kay AMPS=151 +4=109 +7=109 PMPS=146 +5=73 - acid reflux remedies?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mel&Kay

Member Since 2014
Yesterday's condo

Poor Kay woke up with an upset tummy and promptly threw up white foamy vomitus. She would only eat a couple bites of food so I crumbled some freeze dried chicken on top which encouraged her to eat a few more bites. She's a grazer so I'm not overly concerned, but I'll keep a close eye anyway. Her tummy probably just needs time to settle.

Can anyone recommend any home remedies? I'd like to try something natural before resorting to medication (Pepcid).

I'll let her eat until +9 or +10 today to see if it helps.

Happy Sunday to all the sugarkitties and beans!

Mel & Kay
 
Both slippery elm and aloe are purported to help with GI upset in cats. because this problem happens often in CRF, there is info on it at Tanya's Feline CRF web site.
 
Hi Mel! I just realized today is your one month Lantus annifursary! Woot! And look how great Kay is doing!

I read back to see what happened with that pmps 55 you were given on Christmas Day! What a gift! ;) Don't worry, as you saw she recovered very quickly from that skipped shot. After seeing that, I wanted to suggest that you look at Jack's (Merrin's) condo (thread) for today - Merrin shot a green number this morning for the first time. You can see what happened with the rest of the cycle after she did.

Also, here is a post that I wrote a while back for Darin/Charlie that has some spreadsheets that you can look at. It helps to have actual examples of what happens when you do shoot the full dose into normal numbers. Maybe it will help you understand what is likely to happen when you have the opportunity again - cuz once it's happened once it likely won't be too long before you get presented a green preshot again. And it sounds like you are mentally geared up and ready to shoot it!

http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thre...-3-110-4-146-5-147-6-248.121668/#post-1266888
 
Mel

I've also used slippery elm bark syrup for upset tummies and acid. I, too, used it for some time in my CKD cat, Gussie. and it delayed us having to use pepcid. Eventually, we did have to use pepcid.

I would suggest you get the pure, bulk SEB powder instead of capsules. You only need 1/8 c to start....maybe even less.

The other thing that can help a CKD kitty with an acid tummy is feeding small meals frequently. Especially at night. If there is anyway to set up an auto feeder for her, it would be good and you could leave some food out for her as late as +5.

I hope she feels better. She is so adorable...I love her avatar!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top