12/28 Herman amps 130 +5 221 pmps 279

Hi Amy, so glad Herman is home and eating. And especially recovering. I’m sure being home with you is the best medicine for him. Wishing you both the best and a fast recovery for your sweet boy :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
So glad to see Herman home and eating. AD is not to bad in terms of carbs. When my cats are really not feeling well they won’t eat it so that’s a good sign he’s eating. It’s easy to syringe to good to have around in case of an emergency too. I need to go back and read what they sent you home with .
 
I’m glad Wendy responded. I had the same experience as she has had with medication. The first cat I gave mirtazapine too became so hyper and talkative it was a bit scary. I later learned it can cause serotonin syndrome. I prefer transdermal or my fave cyproheptadine . I’ve also used Zyrtec regular strength. Both of those have fewer side effects in my experience. I also found if nausea was well controlled I didn’t need an appetite stimulant and it was the first thing I’d cut back on when my cats were eating like normal. I found eliminating one thing at a time best because if more you won’t know which to add back if not ready to stop any medication.
 
Wow. Poor Herman. I’m sorry he’s been going through all this. It’s great he’s home and eating though. That’s half the battle. I’m thinking they gave you the Metronidazole to help with the diarrhea that they must have been assuming would come with the Clavamox. Some cats do fine on Clavamox though. I have some who will either get screaming diarrhea from it, some who will vomit constantly on it, but I have others who do just fine on it. Recently, I have had two cats on Clav with no ill effects. But I wouldn’t give the Metro unless needed. And now I see Herman is constipated? That may be the Zofran. It can be constipating. I usually only have to give Zofran twice a day, but you can try every 8 hours if needed. Hopefully, the Restoralax will do the trick.
 
Metronidazole is know to cause constipation lasting a day or two after you see normal stool as well. My vet warned me about that years ago. Ondansetron did too with Max but only if he had it fur several days.
 
His pmps has me worried. He is pretty low energy but appetite is still good. But still no poop.

Wondering if and when I try taking him off the zofran and gabapentin. Both say “as needed”. Hard to gauge that. I know I would remove one at a time and assess. As zofran might cause constipation, his appetite is good and he still hasn’t had a bm maybe I should skip that dose tonight?

Also BG rising. Would I fast track increasing and go to 1.25 units in the morning given his state of trying to get over the pancreatitis?
 
I would stick with 1.0 a few more cycles for the depot to rebuild. I still think the constipation is due to the metrolizadole. I experienced that as have others I know. Will he eat pumpkin? You could try 1/2 teaspoon pure canned pumpkin (not pie filling which contains sugar).
 
I would stick with 1.0 a few more cycles for the depot to rebuild. I still think the constipation is due to the metrolizadole. I experienced that as have others I know. Will he eat pumpkin? You could try 1/2 teaspoon pure canned pumpkin (not pie filling which contains sugar).
Thanks for this. I haven’t given him any metronidazole since he’s been home, but he was on it in the injectable form while he was at the vet hospital. I’ve not had luck getting him to eat pumpkin before….
 
My vet told me it could take a few days for Max to poop and it did! He just came home yesterday, right? I put the pumpkin in food he loved.
 
Back
Top