12/28 Cobb AMPS 396 +3 405 +5 357 +8 324 PMPS 246 pm+2 255

Status
Not open for further replies.

Suzanne & Cobb(GA)

Member Since 2013
Yesterday

Last night recap:
PMPS: 259
+2: 356
+5.5: 412
+8: 388
AMPS: 396

So...bounce? Or Cobb just returning to numbers he's comfortable with? :sad:

He didn't seem to eat all that much last night, but also didn't bother us for more food. At least he didn't eat his main dinner at 8pm, some of the food in the times feeder was gone.

Otherwise, he's still sociable. He sniffed around the baby a little this morning. All other P's seem to be in place.

Have a good Saturday!
 
Re: 11/28 Cobb AMPS 396 bounce??

Would you say that the fact he stayed in the yellows all day, even 12 hours later, instead of just dipping for a few hours, is a good sign??
 
Re: 11/28 Cobb AMPS 396 +3 405 bounce??

yes, it is a good sign. could be he's more ok with that range of numbers, could be we're getting closer to a good dose.

i also think it's a bounce. I'd still stay with the 4 dose then increase plan, until we see some blue numbers. in the meantime, though, i'm glad to have seen him get into the lower 200's.

you're doing great with him, suzanne. and i think it's great you're following Ozy's condo - reading other condos is how we learn. cats are very different, but there are commonalities between them.
 
Re: 11/28 Cobb AMPS 396 +3 405 bounce??

I was talking with DH about the drop and bounce, and since he stayed low all day, I wonder if his body is gradually adjusting to the lower numbers. As if his liver is saying, ok...oink is cool, lets try the yellow for a bit. Oh, that was scary, lets pop back into the pink and try again later. Then as he adjusts to the lower numbers, he tries another low number, instead of just dropping into the blues and freaking out.

I say that because his bounce today isn't as high as he's bounced in the past, and the last bounce he cleared within 12 hours.
 
Re: 11/28 Cobb AMPS 396 +3 405 bounce??

that's exactly how it works with a bounce. at first they're just putting a toe in the new color of water, then they decide it's ok so they wade in, then eventually they're swimming in it.

the liver just has to get used to each new range of numbers, one at a time. at first it objects vehemently, but the protests get fewer and weaker, until (like a parent) eventually it says "ok fine. go in the green water, i guess it's ok."
 
Re: 12/28 Cobb AMPS 396 +3 405 +5 357 +8 324 PMPS 246

Bounce cleared!!! :o

Now...my questions for tonight and tomorrow morning.

1. How low do you think Cobb needs to go for me to have to set an alarm to test throughout the night? Baby is sick so I'll probably be up often, but just to be sure.

2. What do I need to see testing wise to stay at this dose tomorrow morning? If he drops below what - hold the dose?

3. If by some miracle/chance he's below 200 in the morning...I know most of you are asleep at 8am my time, wait 30 minutes and see what he's at? I'll obviously review the shooting low post.
 
Re: 12/28 Cobb AMPS 396 +3 405 +5 357 +8 324 PMPS 246

Hi Suzanne,
How nice to see so many yellow colors on Cobb's SS!! :-D You are doing such a good job with him!
No dosing advice here, but I am sure someone will be answering your questions soon.
 
Re: 12/28 Cobb AMPS 396 +3 405 +5 357 +8 324 PMPS 246 QUESTI

Well done Cobb, way to break that bounce! :-D :-D

I think if you see blue numbers overnight, then you'd stick at this same dose tomorrow morning. If magic happens and he's still below 200 but above 150 at AMPS but it's a rising or flat blue, I'd shoot and get a +1 and a +2. If he's blue and dropping, then don't feed, wait 15-20 minutes and test again until you get a rising or flat number. If he's below 150, that's our "post, don't feed and ask for help" number.

Sorry the baby is sick tonight. :sad: Your +2 number tonight will help answer your first question.
 
Re: 12/28 Cobb AMPS 396 +3 405 +5 357 +8 324 PMPS 246 QUESTI

YAY! clearing in a day! that's great. we want him to get used to better numbers.

I think tonight, I'd get a test right before you go to bed (i'm assuming +3ish, maybe?) and decide by that. If he's still over 200, sleep all night and check him in the morning. If he's under 200, then do some number counting to see how many points per hour he might be dropping and plan to recheck him again if he's headed down very quickly. If you're up with Matty anyway and you want to check him, go for it. But i think if he makes it to +3 and is still over 200, you could go to bed and sleep. you must need it.

the only danger to him is under 50. so we want to make sure someone is monitoring him to keep him above 50. I don't think he's at a risk of that yet, but that is what we are always looking for. Everything above 50 is fine and will just be information -gathering for us to help us make dose decisions. if he surfs in the 200's again this evening, I'd be looking toward the protocol and thinking perhaps the dose should be held for a total of 6 cycles instead of 4, just to see if he'll settle in and repeat a cycle again. if he sucks up the insulin and acts like he didn't even have any, increasing BGs back up and staying there, then we have to keep going up.

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

In the morning, if he's anything over 150, you can probably go ahead and shoot the same dose. I'm not a fan of stalling and really, most of that is for a newbie's comfort zone. Experienced people will shoot preshot numbers in the 50's or 60's, but he's been such a question mark that wouldn't be a great idea for you at this point. the big thing is that we want him to not be dropping dramatically when you shoot. when people stall, don't feed, and retest in 30 minutes, that lets them know the insulin is waning and the BGs are beginning to rise on their own. It's more for information gathering than any other reason.

I'm not sure how clear this is, so ask any questions. I'm running out for birthday dinner for my DH right now, but will be back in an hour or so and will check back in.
 
Re: 12/28 Cobb AMPS 396 +3 405 +5 357 +8 324 PMPS 246 QUESTI

Thanks all!

Uncharted territory for sure!

Just to confirm I understand what I think I read...

Check again in an hour or two...it'll probably be a +2 because I am tired. I'll probably be able to get somewhere between +5 and 7, given Matty's waking history.

If he surfs in the 200s or goes lower, hold the dose for tomorrow morning. And then we can discuss again for tomorrow's PMshot, given what he does tonight and tomorrow day. If he jumps back into the 300s, increase by .5unit as normal?? Or .25unit??

If by some stroke of luck, in the morning, he is below 150, don't feed, post here and we'll check again in 15-30 to see if his number is rising or falling. I assume cross post on the general health forum as well? If he's perhaps dropped below 150 and is on his way back up but still under 150, it's probably ok to shoot the same dose?
 
Re: 12/28 Cobb AMPS 396 +3 405 +5 357 +8 324 PMPS 246 QUESTI

I think your test plan sounds good. If his +2 is lower than the PS, then maybe a sooner test but otherwise a +5-+7 would be good data.

I don't know if it's help to cross post on Health if he's below 150. Maybe check to see who is on first. And unless he goes below 50, you'd shoot the same dose if he's still blue.

If you don't see blue and want to increase, I'd stick to the .5U increases for now. Over 5U that's what we typically do, unless you are just fine tuning with greens in the picture.
 
Re: 12/28 Cobb AMPS 396 +3 405 +5 357 +8 324 PMPS 246 QUESTI

When you are looking at the forum index, scroll down to the bottom of the screen. There is a list of Who's Online.
 
Re: 12/28 Cobb AMPS 396 +3 405 +5 357 +8 324 PMPS 246 QUESTI

Ooooooooh. I thought that was who was reading that condo. :roll: silly me. Got it.
 
Re: 12/28 Cobb AMPS 396 +3 405 +5 357 +8 324 PMPS 246 pm+2 2

He is basically flat at +2 so I'm going to try to get some sleep before my baby bean decides he wants to be held to sleep!!!

I'll check Cobb again in a few hours.
 
Re: 12/28 Cobb AMPS 396 +3 405 +5 357 +8 324 PMPS 246 pm+2 2

Suzanne

When you scroll down to see who is on, you can always send that person a PM to get their attention to help you on your condo. Dyana is our east coast early morning person so, depending on whether she is working on a Sunday or not, she might be on pretty early.

Hope you get some sleep tonight but it's exciting to see him clearing his bounce.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top