12/28 Chester's pmps 541,+4=268, Husband in the Doghouse

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 12/28 Chester's amps 431

Welcome home Jaye.
Chester, come down nice and easy.
 
Re: 12/28 HELP! Chester's pmps 541

Not only did "not so DH" leave HC wet food out where Chester got into it today, but he also left kibble out and it's obvious from the 541 pmps that Chester got into that as well. Not sure what to dose (due in a few minutes).

I raised him one drop to .25 yesterday because of consistent high numbers when I was gone...but NOW what do I do?
 
Re: 12/28 HELP! Chester's pmps 541

I would hold the dose and wait for this to clear his system. Give him 24-36 hours to resettle.
 
Re: 12/28 HELP! Chester's pmps 541

hi Jaye

will u be able to get a couple of checks in tonight if needed?

my suggestion would be to hold the dose and ride it out, but let's see if anyone else chimes in
and dont worry, I had a brain dead DBF here today who fed the wrong thing at the wrong times too. ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 12/28 HELP! Chester's pmps 541

Yes, I'll be around and I can hold the dose..I'm just so d#*m mad! Makes me think that all the high numbers while I was gone weren't just from stress. I'm infuriated that, not only did I have to cut my vacation short because he was giving the wrong, COLOR CODED pills, but now this...

It's not that he's blowing it off as not important...he feels badly, but that really doesn't help me right now.
 
Re: 12/28 HELP! Chester's pmps 541

It sounds like DH belongs in the dog house. Literally.

I agree with what everyone has said. Dose isn't based on pre-shot. You're just going to need to ride it out.
 
Re: 12/28 Chester's pmps 541, Husband in the Doghouse

aww poor Chester. :( riding it out is always best. :)

Chester, you can't just let dh take the full blame. we know we can't haz that food. i know it's tempting... very tempting...okay a lot tempting but you can't haz that! come back down for your mommabean so she don't throw dh out to the dogs nailbite_smile
 
Well, he's coming down...thank goodness. That nasty black square on my chart is so disconcerting!

I think DH got the message...for now. Will it stick? Who's kidding who? LOL
 
Re: 12/28 HELP! Chester's pmps 541

Jaye and Chester said:
Yes, I'll be around and I can hold the dose..I'm just so d#*m mad! Makes me think that all the high numbers while I was gone weren't just from stress. I'm infuriated that, not only did I have to cut my vacation short because he was giving the wrong, COLOR CODED pills, but now this...

It's not that he's blowing it off as not important...he feels badly, but that really doesn't help me right now.

I'd have to scroll back through many days worth of notes....but ...WTH*ll. Didn't you discuss this before and isn't this an ongoing issue?

Thereby at what point is it willful negligence? I mean c'mon...here.
 
I wouldn't go so far as to say willful negligence...but I've calmed down some. Earlier I would have been agreeing with all I was worth.

He's just not good at it. I don't know how else to describe him. He loves the animals with his whole heart. In fact, he's the one who insisted we adopt the latest cat knowing it was Felv positive. He brought the FIV cat home and refused to surrender it knowing that the shelter would euthanize. He spent days with heating packs working out an infection so one of the newly adopted wouldn't lose it's leg. He took the latest midnight trip to the emergency ER by himself. He takes unpaid days off of work to sit with a cat at the vet waiting for a dental or other procedure. He does the meds for the FIV cat and he does it without complaint. Last night I actually saw tears on his face when petting our 16 year old dog (who we know is on borrowed time) so, no...it's not willful negligence.

He tries. It's just overwhelming for him, I guess. There are SO many...with so many different rules and needs. I'm good at managing and multi-tasking but if he gets busy doing something else, all else skips his mind. I shouldn't complain too much because the "something else" is usually something I hate to do, like vacuuming or doing the dishes. It's just that the things that skip his mind are really important things.

I'm glad that I wrote all this. It puts things in perspective for me (even if next time it happens I'm back to ranting and raving). I'll keep helping him remember and he'll get better at it (fingers crossed) and Chester, poor soul, will come along for the ride, far better off than he would be in a thousand other pet owner's homes.
 
We all make mistakes, cuz we're human. It sounds like DH is really a gem that just needs to pay better attention. Don't we all! I've often left Blackie's food out and the civie's get it, so I understand. I'm glad to see Chester come down.
 
I was going to suggest that DH sleep in the dog house (literally) and Chester have his spot in the nice warm bed. However, I'll recant! Maybe we need to help DH figure out what would be an unobtrusive yet helpful reminder -- like an alarm, either set on his cell phone or on a watch.
 
My vet posts a job board in the back for the techs to check to see who needs what when.
Perhaps a similar "scoreboard" in easy view for all members of the household would be helpful.
 
I bet DH feels badly!!! We all do things without thinking. As diligent as I am about the cats, sometimes I get lazy. I accidentally left half a Wendy's cheeseburger on the table OVERNIGHT!!! Miraculously, not one cat touched it. Now what does that say for the the Wendy's cheeseburger??? :lol:
 
Don't feel bad, my DH gave Tinkles the wrong food the other day....it happens! I'm thankful that DH helps me out when I can't be home, so I cut him some slack when he makes a mistake....we all make them, I've done it too!

BJ's idea with the board/schedule is a good one...I write instructions down for DH and post on the fridge, it helps avoid confusion. Also alarms are great. I text DH to remind him when to test.
 
Aww, I'm sorry Jaye. Try to tell yourself it's just a day, just a number. Hopefully it will clear quickly, he's pretty good at that.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top