12/28 Cali PMPS 331 +3= 351

Status
Not open for further replies.

beclt

Member Since 2011
Cali's numbers are certainly more consistent and steady now that she is on Lantus. I know it is still quite early, but better than seeing her range from 200 to 500 in a day. I have a feeling we may need to increase slightly to get her in a better range, but it might still be early to make that determination. We will try to get some more numbers over the weekend (especially during the day) and then we can make the call.

Thoughts?
 
This is from the TIlly protocol regarding cats that have been switched from other insulins:

Generally the starting dose is kept for 3 days. Test for ketones daily. Cats that have a tendency to get ketones and/or who are getting relatively high flat curves after the switch should have their dose raised earlier (after 24-48 hours).

However, the Tilly protocol doesn't specifcially address the shed issue. Since you recently just started Cali on lantus, I'd think her shed needs at least 3 days ( 6 cycles) to fill.
Others may have thoughts on when to increase given that Cali was on PZI.
 
I haven't been around much lately, I haven't posted in your condo yet...welcome to LL!

It looks like this is Cali's 5th cycle on Lantus, it usually takes 5-7 days for the shed to fill....so she's about halfway through the initial shed building period. It's pretty typical to see little effect during that time. She may not be hitting 500 but to be fair, she also isn't seeing any normal numbers, either.....nothing to trigger a bounce. ;-) Does she have a history of DKA/ketones? Are you testing for ketones?

From the modified protocol we use here:
"General" Guidelines:

Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 consecutive cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles).
Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).
Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.

We switched from ProZinc to Lantus, and we followed the modified protocol. As you can see from our SS, Mr T had little response to Lantus while the shed was building....that is not unusual, in fact it is to be expected. Lantus requires patience and consistency.

Hope to see you posting often....please let us know how we can help!
 
beclt said:
Cali's numbers are certainly more consistent and steady now that she is on Lantus. I know it is still quite early, but better than seeing her range from 200 to 500 in a day. I have a feeling we may need to increase slightly to get her in a better range, but it might still be early to make that determination. We will try to get some more numbers over the weekend (especially during the day) and then we can make the call.

Thoughts?

the TR Protocol has a provision which allows for the dose to be increased after 24 - 48 hours for kitties who are getting high flat curves instead of holding it for 3 days as suggested in the "modified" general guidelines.

if you are able to monitor, you do have the option of increasing the dose by 0.25 unit. considering it took 2u of prozinc to drop cali into the 100s and 2.2u to drop her into green, it's probable the starting dose of lantus was too low to begin with.

just my thoughts...
 
Thanks for the suggestions. I think we will wait it out through this weekend to see how she does. After that, if we don't notice any shift, we may slightly increase and see how that does.

Question about the pen though--we are having a hard time not getting huge air bubbles in the syringe. I feel like I waste a lot of the insulin pushing out the air bubbles, then going back to do it again. Any suggestions?
 
Morning...

Could you please repost your question when you open a condo for 12/29? We're trying to keep condos current and move unanswered questions forward on the new day's condo. You can click on the "?" button above the subject line when you do your first post and that will let folks know you have a question.

Here's an important and new sticky: Making the Most of Your Lantus ISG Experience

Thank you and have a super day with Miss Cali!! :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top