12/28 Buddy AMPS 200 PMPS 266

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mad Scientist and Buddy

Member Since 2010
Hello All,
It's been a while since I've posted. Buddy has been diagnosed with oral cancer and has less than a few months to live. Through my grief, I thought about when I almost lost him back in 2010 to diabetes and thought about all the help, information, and support I received here. It felt appropriate to post again.
His blood sugar is a bit high now, because the tumor in his mouth is making it hard for him to eat and I can never be totally certain that he won't hypo on me and leave this world early - I think we have a better handle on the eating though now so I plan to increase his dose just a bump. We received the DX on 12/23 when we had him in to the vet to look at his newly snaggle tooth in the front. She remarked how great he looked, other than the tooth. Upon closer inspection, she said that there was some bad news . . . . prognosis for feline oral cancers are terrible.
I've spent the week grieving, preparing for the worst, learning how to make eating easier for him (we have to mound up the food after he pushes it down), preparing and purchasing more grooming supplies for if he is unable to do it himself, and yesterday made an appointment with a vet oncology specialist for Monday. We'll see what she has to say, but my hopes are not high - I just don't want to have a "what if we had seen a specialist" thought. Thank you all for listening/reading it's been quite therapeutic.

Tony
 
Thanks everyone.
Now back to the problem at hand.
This morning I increased the dose to ~0.5units from 0.25-0.3. He's eating less today but don't know if its from better BG's, or if he's not able to eat.
He ate this morn at shot time. Ate a little later, but rest of the day, he's asked for food, taken like 1-2 bites then walked away. I wonder if he's just testing to see if I'll mound the food up again after he pushes it down. . . .
I fear more that he just has too large of a tumor in his mouth and is sick of struggling to eat.
Wishing everyone peace, love, and purrs.

Tony
 
Hi BJM,
At the time of reading your post, I had just come to this conclusion as well. We have an appointment with the specialist tomorrow morning and this will be on the discussion list.
Thanks,
Tony
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top