12.28.2017 Ovie PMPS:95,+2:90,+3:88

Status
Not open for further replies.

KATIE&ovie

Member Since 2017
Hi friends. Ovie and I been off the board for a week. :eek: We've missed you guys. I hope you all had a wonderful holiday. :bighug:

Ovie has been well. I've been having issues keeping him away from the dry food my family puts down for their cat. I don't want to keep him confined to a bedroom of course. I try my best to pick up the food they leave out or close their doors when I notice they are left open.:banghead:

Ovie's numbers seem to be rising a bit. I am seeing more blue and less green. I'm guessing I probably have to tweak his dose?
 
Good to hear from you! :bighug: I always get worried when a member who usually posts daily misses a few day. Yeah, might be time for a small increase. Interested to see what others say.
 
Good to hear from you! :bighug: I always get worried when a member who usually posts daily misses a few day. Yeah, might be time for a small increase. Interested to see what others say.
I'm glad to be back. I was sick and then had to do a bunch of holiday shopping for my parents and running around.
 
Missed you two! :bighug:

With the 69 yesterday, I don’t think you have much room to tweak anything, see what @Marje and Gracie thinks. Do you think most of the higher numbers are from getting into the dry food? Do you feed him after nadir, if so, maybe cut some of that down and see if it helps.
That's true. His duration seems to be lacking. I typically feed him at PS, +1, +2 and +3. Maybe I should cut out the +3 because it seems like nadir for him is always between onset and +5.

The dry food is a problem. He's so sneaky about it and family doesn't really care that he comes in and eats the food they leave out.

I'm hoping we only have a couple of months left living here and then we have our own place. It'll be so much easier to manage him then.
 
Glad to see you back.....I was getting ready to PM you!

The biggest question is have things changed there in regard to the dry food? Did he have access to it when he was churning out the greens? If this has been a recent thing and you think that the BG increases are due to the dry, than is there a way to stop his access like keeping him in your room?

If it’s not the dry food, you have a couple choices:
  • If you can stay on top of the testing, you could increase by 0.25u and kickstart him knowing he might earn a reduction quickly or
  • Fatten the dose by increasing by about 0.1u or so; he’s getting into decent nadir so hopefully just fattening will bring the overall curve down just a bit instead of dropping him lower and to all green.
 
Glad to see you back.....I was getting ready to PM you!

The biggest question is have things changed there in regard to the dry food? Did he have access to it when he was churning out the greens? If this has been a recent thing and you think that the BG increases are due to the dry, than is there a way to stop his access like keeping him in your room?

If it’s not the dry food, you have a couple choices:
  • If you can stay on top of the testing, you could increase by 0.25u and kickstart him knowing he might earn a reduction quickly or
  • Fatten the dose by increasing by about 0.1u or so; he’s getting into decent nadir so hopefully just fattening will bring the overall curve down just a bit instead of dropping him lower and to all green.
Hey Marje! I'm thinking the increase may be a combination of the dry food and lack of duration. He has had a great day today. I was around for most of the day so I know he definitely didn't get into the dry food. But the last week I think he was snacking on it when he had the opportunity. I think I may start putting him in the bedroom when we go outside or out so I know he isn't getting into the contraband.

As far as duration. I was feeding at PS, +1,+2 and +3. Should I cut out the +3? Do you think that could be effecting his duration?

I think if I were to increase he would earn a reduction very fast. My dad tells me he has 6in calipers at his work that I can have. Perhaps fattening the dose is a good option for him?
 
Hey Marje! I'm thinking the increase may be a combination of the dry food and lack of duration. He has had a great day today. I was around for most of the day so I know he definitely didn't get into the dry food. But the last week I think he was snacking on it when he had the opportunity. I think I may start putting him in the bedroom when we go outside or out so I know he isn't getting into the contraband.

As far as duration. I was feeding at PS, +1,+2 and +3. Should I cut out the +3? Do you think that could be effecting his duration?

I think if I were to increase he would earn a reduction very fast. My dad tells me he has 6in calipers at his work that I can have. Perhaps fattening the dose is a good option for him?
For right now, I’d hold off on any increases and see how he does if you can keep him out of the dry. I’ve always believed naxirs in the 70-80 range on a human meter were perfect so if you can keep aa flat as he’s been today, that would be worthy of holding the dose.

If you get him to stay out of the dry and he trends up, then fattening the dose is absolutely fine.

I doubt a +3 LC meal is affecting his duration but if you want to drop it and see, you can. Just be sure he gets enough calories at PS, +1, +2.
 
For right now, I’d hold off on any increases and see how he does if you can keep him out of the dry. I’ve always believed naxirs in the 70-80 range on a human meter were perfect so if you can keep aa flat as he’s been today, that would be worthy of holding the dose.

If you get him to stay out of the dry and he trends up, then fattening the dose is absolutely fine.

I doubt a +3 LC meal is affecting his duration but if you want to drop it and see, you can. Just be sure he gets enough calories at PS, +1, +2.
That sounds like a plan. He appreciates the +3 meal so I will probably keep it.:cat:

Thank you so much Marje:bighug:
 
That sounds like a plan. He appreciates the +3 meal so I will probably keep it.:cat:

Thank you so much Marje:bighug:
You’re welcome. Glad you are feeling better and are back.

Ovie.....
EF919D7B-8E37-4A6D-96C6-8C304D276629.jpeg
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top