12/28/13 Oliver AM 425 +350 PMPS 429 + 5 226

Status
Not open for further replies.

kellykramer

Member Since 2013
Started high, did well was active all day, may have urinary infection as I think he went on a towel in the tub. Which could be possible as he has a history and has been off his medicated cat Dry food for a while now. Was wondering how that would pan out. The litter box was also very empty ( hoping this is it) and almost out of test strips which is why I have been not testing very often last few days was waiting on them in the mail Still haven't came. Made a trip to get supplies and we will see. ??? UGH
Will be watching and make a decision by Mon and take him to the vet if i need to or just plan on it to catch up with vet and possibly get more RX dry food. What if he needs the CD urinary control dry cat food ? As I do not want him to have problems with that again.
 
Re: 12/28/13 Oliver AM 425 +350

I'm sorry I haven't followed all of your condos so you may have answered this. Have you tried Friskies Special Diet pates? Cobb had urinary tract issues when he was younger and he went on Rx food. I found when I switched him off dry food to the Friskies SD, he stopped peeing outside his box.
 
Re: 12/28/13 Oliver AM 425 +350

punkin had repeated urinary tract infections until he became diabetic. when i switched him to canned low carb (i started with Fancy Feast chicken classic feast and turkey and giblets, mostly) and added water to his food he never had another UTI. He'd also been on prescription dry easy on the bladder foods.

If you haven't read Dr. Lisa's information on UTIs and food, it's well worth reading. http://www.catinfo.org I wouldn't put him on dry food again. ever. but if you think he has a UTI, they could do a urinalysis to see if there is bacteria in it. people recommend getting a cystocentesis, which is when they use a needle to withdraw the urine so it doesn't get contaminated and show a false positive. i'd read Dr. Lisa's site about it before you do anything.

if you're not adding water to his food, you should. as much as he will tolerate. it helps prevent bladder infections, keeps things easy on the kidneys and helps if there is any action towards ketones. i usually made my cats food somewhere between applesauce and soupy.
 
Re: 12/28/13 Oliver AM 425 +350

I had Oliver and Zoey on CD now for at least 4 yrs. With good results, no urinary problems at all.
Also fed wet a small amount 2 times per day. With CD sitting out for free feeding.
Oliver got Diabetes in Sept. I weaned him off CD and he only gets WET Friskies (all kinds) of Pate only. I do use special diet pate too.
He never pees outside box EVER... unless he has a Urinary issue.
Zoey (non diabetic) cat has gotten use to eating wet too, but sometimes begs for dry. I just finished up the big bag of CD (RX) from vets, didnt think I would have problems and hope we dontand it was just an almost empty litter box???
 
Re: 12/28/13 Oliver AM 425 +350

I do always add warm water to all the canned wet food.
Ok I will read the info again on Dr Lisa's feeding
Thanks we will see..
 
Re: 12/28/13 Oliver AM 425 +350

I think if Oliver has a history of urinary tract problems, that anytime you see unusual elimination behavior from him, it's probably best to get him to the vet as soon as you can. If caught early enough, it'll be easier on him (and you too)

Until his blood sugar is below the renal threshold, he's going to have sugar in his urine, and sugar is a wonderful food for bacteria, so I wouldn't be at all surprised if he's working on a UTI

Good luck and I hope Oliver is doing better soon!
 
Re: 12/28/13 Oliver AM 425 +350

It may also be time to increase Oliver's dose. However, I'm hesitant to say "go ahead" if you're low on strips.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top