? 12/27MooCAT AMPS278 +2 294 DOSING ADVICE AT2

Moocat

Member Since 2018
Hi I have been giving Moo his shots and at times, I do smell insulin. I see the needle go into the skin, depress the plunger , keep it depressed as advised by @MrWorfMen's Mom. and see no fluid after pulling the needle out. After I release there is no smell of insulin, but 10 minutes later I smell it faintly. I am wondering if it would be better to increase from a "drop" to 0.1 and see if this might be better in getting his BGs down in the event that he has leakage from his skin. I have logged some BG values over the past few days. This morning I slept in and he received his shot 1/2 hr late. This process has exhausted me and I am concerned that he isn't getting insulin.
I would appreciate any suggestions, or info that you could provide me.
 
A couple of thoughts. First, it's better to get consistent dosing and see how that does. Not sure if this post on Testing and Shooting Tips has something in it you can use. If you are smelling Lantus, it's likely something is leaking out.

Second, since you are following SLGS, and today is only day 6, you would wait until the day after tomorrow if you were going to increase. I would try getting that drop in the next few cycles and see if that makes a difference first.
 
I love the name - 'Moo Moo' :) Hope you can get things with the dosing straightened out. What length needles are you using?
 
I love the name - 'Moo Moo' :) Hope you can get things with the dosing straightened out. What length needles are you using?
BD 5/16 inch do you think 1/2 inch 29gauge might make the release of the drop under the skin more successful because I do have a few of those monject syringes.
 
Last edited:
BD 5/16 inch do you think 1/2 inch 29gauge might make the release of the drop under the skin more successful because I do have a few of those monject syringes.

I use 15/64ths because I was afraid I would jab Luci too deep - once I sent the needle clean through the 'tent' of her skin...so that wasn't working for me. The 15/64ths are so short that I don't have to worry about that - it slips right underneath her skin but not so deep that I hit anything important - including my finger on the other side! Just something to consider...I unfortunately went thru several different boxes of syringes (and didn't use them!) before I found a syringe that was comfortable for us. I donated them to someone who has diabetes so they wouldn't go to waste - as they aren't returnable to the store...
 
A couple of thoughts. First, it's better to get consistent dosing and see how that does. Not sure if this post on Testing and Shooting Tips has something in it you can use. If you are smelling Lantus, it's likely something is leaking out.

Second, since you are following SLGS, and today is only day 6, you would wait until the day after tomorrow if you were going to increase. I would try getting that drop in the next few cycles and see if that makes a difference first.
I got the "drop" in last night and this morning. Thank you for your reply! I'm glad I didn't increase he went from 344 this morning to 77 at + 5, I wish I would have tested at +4 . @ +6 100. I am not sure what to do tonight because I use AT2 and don't know the minimum number to shoot. would it be 200?
 
Good to see Moocat came down. :)

If you are following SLGS, experience people will not shoot below 90. With less experience, you raise that to your comfort level, maybe 150. 200 no shoot is for newbies. Of course it also depends on your ability to monitor that cycle. And it's a long way yet to PMPS. If you are worried, get a +11 and post here for advice.
 
Good to see Moocat came down. :)


If you are following SLGS, experience people will not shoot below 90. With less experience, you raise that to your comfort level, maybe 150. 200 no shoot is for newbies. Of course it also depends on your ability to monitor that cycle. And it's a long way yet to PMPS. If you are worried, get a +11 and post here for advice.
Are those shooting numbers for an AT2 meter?
 
Back
Top