12/27 Willow AMPS 144,+2 153,+4 122,+6 124,+9 124,+10 131,PMPS 139,+2 146,+4 122,+5 131

nslade001

Member Since 2018
Hi everyone,

Could someone please tell me what is considered "safe" as a number to leave to sleep? Being new to how Lantus works with her, I'm just really not comfortable going to bed early at night because I'm not sure what's safe, and we're new to lower blues, heading to greens, and still increasing her dose. I worry she's going to drop too low. We aim to shoot at 8am/pm, so that puts us at 1-2am to reach +5/+6, and these long nights are draggy. I know ECID, and her response can change at a moment's notice, so maybe there isn't a "safe" number, and I just have to get comfortable with that. That will take time for me lol. She's so stable in her response compared with so many SS I see, I know we're very lucky with that :)
Thanks so much, with love,
Nikki

yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/12-26-willow-pmps-9-2-3-137-5-115.208503/

AMPS 8.0 (144)
1.0 U Lantus
+2 8.5 (153)
+4 6.8 (122)
+6 6.9 (124)
+9 6.9 (124)
+10 7.3 (131)
PMPS 7.7 (139)
1.0 U Lantus
+2 8.1 (146)
+4 6.8 (122)
+5 7.3 (131)
 
Last edited:
One very useful test is a +2. If that number is higher than PS there won't likely be any drama. If it's the same I'd get a +3. If there's not much drop by then, you could probably call it a night. If the +2 is significantly lower, maybe give a small snack of regular low carb wet food to "steer" the BG into safe territory and retest in 30 minutes to an hour. So much depends on your kitty's particular responses. So far, Willow has been a very calm girl. :)
 
Thank you, @Kris & Teasel! I've been avoiding the early shots which would indicate where/how low she's going, and going for the "around where the nadir may/should be) to see how low she *is* going. And she doesn't seem to go as low at night. She's on a feeder, so gets fed 1/4 can FF at shot time, 1/8 can @ 9 and 10, and 1/4 can @ 11 and 12, plus her chicken treat at 5 am; maybe I shouldn't be so paranoid at night because I know she *is* getting these meals to help steer her up. I am so lucky with her smooth responses, I just don't know how those with unpredictable kitties do it!
Thanks again, with love,
Nikki
 
Thank you, @Kris & Teasel! I've been avoiding the early shots which would indicate where/how low she's going, and going for the "around where the nadir may/should be) to see how low she *is* going. And she doesn't seem to go as low at night. She's on a feeder, so gets fed 1/4 can FF at shot time, 1/8 can @ 9 and 10, and 1/4 can @ 11 and 12, plus her chicken treat at 5 am; maybe I shouldn't be so paranoid at night because I know she *is* getting these meals to help steer her up. I am so lucky with her smooth responses, I just don't know how those with unpredictable kitties do it!
Thanks again, with love,
Nikki
Those +2 "predictive" tests are a good tool when you're concerned - eg. dose has just been raised or she surprised you in the preceding cycle with a new low. Uninterrupted sleep is important so having a feeder and a nondramatic kitty work in your favour.

Teasel is one of those very unpredictable kitties. After 3 years I'm used to it and have learned a multitude of coping strategies and dose tweaks to handle it. The biggest two are to stay calm and to accept that's the way he is! ;):)
 
I could usually tell by +4 if it was safe to go to bed. Neko was one of those kitties for whom the +2 test was useless. She even earned a couple reductions on Lantus where her +3 was higher than preshot on that cycle.

Learning when Willow onset’s and nadirs will help, as well as trying to figure out her patterns, where those patterns may run over several cycles. Admittedly it’s a little hard with flat blue cycles. It should become obvious when green enters the picture. As for night times, if you have two flat or rising tests without influence of carbs, you can hit the pillow.
 
I could usually tell by +4 if it was safe to go to bed. Neko was one of those kitties for whom the +2 test was useless. She even earned a couple reductions on Lantus where her +3 was higher than preshot on that cycle.

Learning when Willow onset’s and nadirs will help, as well as trying to figure out her patterns, where those patterns may run over several cycles. Admittedly it’s a little hard with flat blue cycles. It should become obvious when green enters the picture. As for night times, if you have two flat or rising tests without influence of carbs, you can hit the pillow.

Thanks, especially for the "where those patterns may run over several cycles" reminder....I'd forgotten that. For nights, with our feeding schedule I think the early tests are pretty much all influenced by carbs, because I have to do multiple small feedings (she doesn't seem to handle a larger feeding anymore).
With love, Nikki
 
Back
Top