12/27 Tommy AMPS 287 .5R, +2 307, +6.5 270

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lauren&Tommy (GA)

Member Since 2010
Happy Friday to all ~O) ~O) ~O) Not enough of the that in me after the night I had. I've not been able to post much since yesterday but not because of bad stuff. I got a call yesterday morning from Ryleigh's doctor asking me If I wanted some good news of which I wanted to respond "duh", but I refrained and said of course I do! She asked me If I would like to take my girl home a day or two early and then I proceeded to squeal like a little kid.. :lol: She said she wouldn't do this for many pet owners but that she trusted me 100% to give Ryleigh the care she needed to recover and also new she wanted to be home with mommy and daddy.
Soooooo, I brought her home yesterday afternoon, and she needs assistance walking and getting up right now, taking out to go potty, that mixed in with 8 kitties who demand attention (and gladly given), I'm a bit tuckered out right now. That was the coolest Christmas present. And today is the 4th Anniversary of us finding each other and bringing her to her forever home.

Tommy is amazing, he has me spinning right now, I can still tell there is blood in his urine, he is acting fine, but i'm really not sure, I'm having a hard time reading his actions. I decided to play it safe and not mix the supplements and after reading the responses from you wonderful ladies, I'm glad I did!
I think i'm going to get the blood work done before the end of January which is when he was due. I just have a "feeling". He does seem to not like me touching him as much as he used to so that is troubling me, I wonder if he's hurting from his arthritis or something else or both. He gets Bupe, Welactin, Dasuquin, and this morning he got his B12 injection. I'm not too terribly upset at the colors this morning but I sure would like something a bit lower.
Well, I must get back to my morning, I'll be visiting condos throughout the day when. Ryleigh is napping soundly in her crate right now so I felt comfortable leaving the room for a spell. I pray that all of you have a wonderful, peaceful Friday and that your babies are feeling healthy.
 
Re: 12/27 Tommy AMPS 287 .5R, +2 307

I'm so happy for you that you got to bring your baby home earlier than expected :-D And Happy Anniversary ;-) I hope the bloodwork will help pinpoint what may be wrong, and that Tommy brings those numbers down for you today!
 
Re: 12/27 Tommy AMPS 287 .5R, +2 307

Hi Lauren! Excellent news about Ryleigh!!! I know you must be ECSTATIC having her back home.

I wanted to run something by you. Have you considered using Adequan with Tommy? I use it for Champ's arthritis and it's a flippin' wonder drug. The awesome thing about it, too, is that it has been shown to help considerably with urinary problems. I really think that's why it's been so long since Champ has had a flare of sterile cystitis. If you decide to try it, you can get it cheapest on the Drs. Foster and Smith website. There's a canine and equine version, but they are identical, though the equine is cheaper. Your vet shouldn't have any problem prescribing the equine version for you. You start with a loading dose schedule and then give it on a schedule that is best for your pet. A lot of cats can get by with once a month as their long term dosage; Champ gets a shot every two weeks. If you already know all this info, just ignore. If you need more info, either Amy or I can help you out. I got all my info from Amy about the loading dose and schedule and where to buy it.

I'm glad you had a good Christmas and have a great day!!!
 
Patty, I'm so glad you stopped in, yes I know about Adequan but not about the dosing. I actually read a post of yours on FB a few months back about the equine version over on Drs. Foster and Smith.
What I can tell you and please tell me if you think or know something completely different, I spoke with my vet about this about a month ago and told her that I was switching from Cosequin to Dasuquin (Also because you had mentioned that Cosequin did nothing for Champ and I was beginning to feel the same way about it for Tommy) and asked her about getting shots of Adequin for Tommy. Now, she told me that Dasuquin and Adequan are somewhat the same thing or the same strength, to be honest I don't really remember the exact words, I do know she mentioned lets try the Dasuquin for a while and see what it does. Well, he's 19 and I really don't want to "wait" awhile. I just tested him and was able to catch a urine sample and I'll tell you, the amt of blood in his urine just makes me want to cry. I have read and read and read about blood in urine and sterile cystitis and I just can't seem to find whether or not I can ever make it go away or is he just going to pee blood urine for the rest of his days. I know this has got to be at least some cause for the higher numbers. It truly breaks my heart.
I'm so so glad you are back and thanks for letting me vent.
Also, one more thing, my vets office will not sell Adequan and I was unaware that I could get her to write a script for me to by it elsewhere.. so thank you for that.

Rachel: thank you so much for stopping by and sending out good thoughts for my boy. Having Ryleigh home with me again has done wonders for my heart!
 
I'm glad to be back and have you here as well!!! Dasequan and Adequan aren't even in the same ball field. They treat arthritis in completely different ways. One treats the fact the "cushioning" between the joints is wearing away/missing and the other (the Adequan, I believe) helps lubricate the joint spaces. Or SOMETHING like that!! All I know, my vet said to continue using the Dasequan along with the Adequan because they treat arthritis differently. I found an article for you about how Adequan can help interstitial (sterile) cystitis. Below is a quote from an article written by a vet. The link for the article is at:
http://www.petmd.com/blogs/fullyvetted/ ... r3VS9JDve4

The relevant quote is below:

But that’s not enough to completely explain how it reduces inflammation. Given that Adequan also seems to work to reduce swelling in the bladder and help repair corneas, it’s clear there’s more going on with this drug than meets the eye (pardon the pun).

Though it’s not been approved for use in these conditions, and research to prove that this efficacy is more than anecdotal is still pending, feline veterinarians have been using it for the dreaded kitty condition known as interstitial cystitis (AKA, feline idiopathic cystitis), while horse vets in Brazil tested it out on indolent corneal ulcers and found that their patients' eye lesions healed much faster than their control subject counterparts.

I’ve never tried it out on eyes, and I’m waiting for more of a consensus on that front before mixing it into eye drops myself (though a quick search on VIN showed that vets out there are using it with some success). I do, however, use it in my feline patients to manage their arthritis and to reduce the symptoms associated with many urinary conditions. I’ve been using it for years in this way and always thought it made at least a slight difference. In fact, some cats experienced such a tremendous benefit, I’ve taken to trying it out on all of my arthritic kitties and inflamed feline urinary tracts.

You can give your vet this info if you think it will help get you a prescription. Just make sure she prescribes the equine version!!
 
Patty thanks for getting back to me so quickly, I'm not sure how mad I'm supposed to be right now. My vet, I've been very pleased with, knows a good bit about feline diabetes is pleased that I'm home testing blah blah.. How could she be so wrong, I'm sure I didn't hear her incorrectly. I will print it out and have a chat with her. Patty, I was reading that it gets injected into the muscle, is there a certain spot where you inject Champ and where do I get the needles and whatever else, and should I expect some push back from the vet about getting it elsewhere and giving the injections myself.. Also wondering if I should get the blood work done first before starting this. Thanks again :-)
 
It works just as well injected subcu (subcutaneously, just like we inject the insulin) as IM (intramuscularly). Not only did my vet tell me this, but there are plenty of articles written about this. Everyone I know who uses Adequan injects it subcu. I use diabetic needles, but instead of using the kind that hold 30 units, I get the ones that hold 50 units. Adequan is dosed at 2 mg per pound of body weight. Using a diabetic needle, 2 mg equals 2 units. Champ weighs 17 pounds so he gets 34 units with each shot. I give him the shot in the morning at the same time I give him his insulin. I shoot his insulin in both shoulder areas, left in the AM and right in the PM. So I shoot the insulin in his left shoulder and the Adequan in the right shoulder. Like I said, some kitties do well (after the loading doses) of shooting just once a month. I did tried to wait a month, but he started acting gimpy at about two weeks so that's what I go with...one shot of 34 units every two weeks. You don't have to worry about overdosing your cat, either. I don't know the why's or wherefore's, but there's no risk of overdosing on Adequan. I hope your vet will give you a prescription. If it doesn't help, at least you tried!!
 
I've been gone a while, I come back, and look who's here!!! It's great to see you guys. :YMHUG:

So happy to hear Ryleigh is home. I'll have to go back and read your condos to see how Tommy is doing.
 
I'm so happy you got your Ryleigh back home - that is indeed a great present. :-D Your vet is right, she will recover better at home.

Good luck getting the Adequan for Tommy. I've used the Canadian version (Cartophen) both for arthritis and urinary issues in different civies. I noticed quite a difference (improvement) between it and glucosamine. Like Patty's vet, mine said to keep giving both. My vet also said that glucosamine and cartrophen work differently and the cartrophen is closer to natural tissue so works better. I'm paraphrasing here. Since it is off label for cats, some vets might be reluctant to give it, but mine vet was OK with letting me know it's off label and me giving permission to go ahead.
 
Wooooooooohoooooo, Libby came to visit, I hope you have a good cup of tea and are ready for some reading, I've been a bit long winded (lol) It is so wonderful to hear from you. I look forward to chatting with you :-)

Patty, did your vet mention the equine version or was that all you? I wish someone could tell me whether or not I have a chance at getting his urine to look like urine again and not the horrible rose color I keep seeing. It truly tears me up. I feel like I'm letting him down again.

Wendy, thank you for stopping by with another testimonial about this "wonder" drug. It is indeed a wonderful vision to have my baby girl back home with me. She's staring at me as I type wondering when I'm going to pay attention to her (like I haven't all day). Might I also say that Neko is a sight to behold!
 
I asked my vet if there was a difference between the canine and equine versions, because the equine is cheaper on the Drs. Foster & Smith website. He said it was identical. He had prescribed the canine version for me with the first prescription. When I needed a refill, he wrote it for the equine version. Champ has done exactly the same using both versions.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top