12/27 Rosie AMPS 53 +3 70

Status
Not open for further replies.

Carol in Chicago

Member Since 2017
I took a few days off from posting so those who need expert eyes can get them.

Rose had her first scheduled NS due to the timing of Christmas dinner (I was a guest). I decided NS instead of shifting the schedule by several hours. I was prepared for some higher numbers yesterday and was pleasantly surprised to see only a few yellows.

But today has thrown me for a loop. What the heck? I retested so it wasn't a bad strip. I shot a reduced dose but now I'm really confused. Did I do the right thing? Her nadir has recently been as early as +3. From a monitoring perspective, when should I relax? What about next dose - reduction is earned but I over did it this AM taking her down to 3U from 4.5U which was a good dose with some very nice Holiday green.

Previous.
 
I wouldn't have shot that 49. We always suggest delaying until they get to 50 or above before shooting. Even when Neko gave me high 40's in the AM, I would delay 15 minutes and retest. Good way to get the adrenaline running in the morning though!

Doing a lower dose is OK as a way to reduce the depot, which seems to be a tad full. :eek: Last night she looked like she came down into PMPS. That combined with a lower +3 might have suggested a +4 test.
 
I wouldn't have shot that 49. We always suggest delaying until they get to 50 or above before shooting. Even when Neko gave me high 40's in the AM, I would delay 15 minutes and retest. Good way to get the adrenaline running in the morning though!

Doing a lower dose is OK as a way to reduce the depot, which seems to be a tad full. :eek: Last night she looked like she came down into PMPS. That combined with a lower +3 might have suggested a +4 test.

I got a 53 when I retested the 49 so I thought I should shoot, but wasn't confident enough to shoot the full dose because I don't understand why she would have gone that low at that time especially given the NS. Do I understand your recommendation is that I should have shot the full dose if pre-shot is over 50? I'm just confused because I would have thought the NS should have been a big drain on the depot.

I'm starting to think that Rosie has a longer acting depot. @Marje and Gracie recently described a situation where the depot overfills and is impacted by many more cycles than would be typical. Do you think that is what is going on? What should I be doing differently (for reductions to work)? I need to make a plan in advance so when this happens again I don't panic.
 
I got a 53 when I retested the 49 so I thought I should shoot
Whew! Good to know. Could you change your subject line so it shows an AMPS of 53 instead? Just don't want any newbies or lurkers to think it's OK to shoot below 50. And also add the 53 into the SS. And yes, you can shoot full dose if over 50 and you can monitor, since you are following TR.
I'm starting to think that Rosie has a longer acting depot. @Marje and Gracie recently described a situation where the depot overfills and is impacted by many more cycles than would be typical. Do you think that is what is going on? What should I be doing differently (for reductions to work)? I need to make a plan in advance so when this happens again I don't panic.
The larger depots can influence 4-6 cycles after a reduction, especially at higher doses, so it's not like Rosie has a longer acting depot than normal. I think she just got tired of the 4.5 unit dose, for now. And some kitties show a strong reaction to insulin after a skip (or in my case, fur shot :rolleyes:). As for what you can do differently for reductions to work, one option is to hold the dose until Rosie has 3 drops under 50, or one drop under 40. That's a technique for kitties that don't hold reductions well.
 
Thanks @Wendy&Neko. Sorry for the confusion. I have updated the SS and title for this post. Going forward I'd like to implement the 3 drops under 50 rule so that will be the plan. I'll have to psych myself up in advance to shoot a full dose when she is that low especially in the fog of the early AM so it helps to have a plan in advance.
 
No worries. Good luck with the 3 drops, it really does seem to help some kitties as long as you can monitor as you have been. What did you shoot tonight? The SS says BCS of 3 again.
 
It looks to me like Rosie is not so much failing reductions but that she was given reductions before she earned them. In some cases, the dose was dropped back quite a bit.

Examples:
10/7 dose reduced by 2u without a drop below 50. That was right after you had reduced from 6.5u to 6u.
10/20 dose bounced around after earning a reduction from 4.25u. New dose should have been 4u but eventually settled on 3.75u for four cycles and then reduced to 3.5u.
10/27-10/28 back to back reductions given
12/15 0.75u reduction given with none earned
12/16 another unearned reduction given
12/27 BCS does given due to 53 but I’m not sure why you shot 3u again tonight; the dose should have gone back up to
4.5u as she didn’t earn a reduction.

This is not a critique but just pointing out to you what I see and why it might seem she has failed reductions. When you reduce the dose by more than 0.25u, it will catch up to her BG when the depot drains.
 
It was 3u again tonight because I can't monitor her overnight. My problem is I'm not understanding what she is doing well enough to be confident shooting a larger dose, or know when / how long to monitor. For example I don't get why she would have gone so low today at AMPS. I'm not seeing bounces, so I will study what Marje has pointed out.

Rose isn't failing - I am. She has had some great numbers lately. I am upset I messed it up.
 
She was doing great on the 4.5u. The high numbers were due to the skipped shot....which was fine....we all need to do that occasionally to have a normal life. :)

You shot a 60 with 4.5u and there’s not even meter variance between 60 and 53.

You didn’t mess it up! If I had a dime for every time I made a decision for Gracie that I thought was best but learned later wasn’t, I’d have a lot of extra money! It’s how we learn and, thankfully, our cats are pretty forgiving.

You can always stall without feeding at shot time to post and ask for help :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top