12/27 Ozy AMPS-194,+2-329.+11-416 dosing ??

Status
Not open for further replies.

donaleen and Ozy

Member Since 2013
Previous http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=110669&p=1168195#p1168195

Getting lots of help and support, which I very much appreciate. I keep hoping that I will be told it's because I am dosing him wrong and it will get better.

Ozy feels pretty good this morning, due in part to the bupe at PM+6 and in part to the numbers being a little lower. Those pink numbers drag on him.

Sienne, you asked about fish oil. Well we started him on fish oil for his arthritis in September. We gave it to him for about a month. Concurrent with that we had a lot of insulin leaks. I swear they were not fur shots. The leaks would occur some time after the shot. It was suggested to me that the fish oil might cause the leaks so I took him off the fish oil and the leaking stopped.
 
Re: 12/27 Ozy AMPS-194

Without the bupe, Ozy doesn't do much except sleep. He doesn't get a very high rating on the quality of life points. He doesn't play, preen or purr much without bupe. With bupe he purrs, preens and plays, even by himself. He has a few toys he likes. He will not get up and move around, but plays lying down.

His neuropathy has pretty much gone away and he can walk pretty well now. He no longer jumps on the counter. He still did in June.

Here are some photos and videos of Ozy taken a few months ago.

https://plus.google.com/photos/111791999108566513103/albums/5925486911208852369?banner=pwa

http://www.flickr.com/photos/donaleen/9440118808/

Here he is on the counter in June. We were always trying to keep him off the counter and now I would give anything if he could still get up there.

http://spitnvinegar.blogspot.com/2013/06/counter-top-is-in.html
 
Re: 12/27 Ozy AMPS-194,+2-329

And now, at +2 he is at 329. So much for blue. Passed yellow and back to pink. And he is escaping from how he feels with sleep. And he is grouchy. Probably feels crappy from the high numbers and the bupe is wearing off (eight hours since bupe). Arghhhh.
 
Re: 12/27 Ozy AMPS-194,+2-329

I feel your pain on the colors :sad: I love the pic of Ozy in the box! Reminds me of mine, she likes boxes...well I think most kitties do I guess :lol: I'm glad that the bupe helps him feel better. Hope you see some nicer colors later today :-D
 
Re: 12/27 Ozy AMPS-194,+2-329

Hi Rachel. Yes, Ozy likes boxes. We have at least three around right now. Whenever we get an interesting box, we leave it around to see if anyone likes it. I work to give them new things since they don't go outside. I also move things like their scratching post just to keep them interested. The cat carrier is behind a chair because they like to hang out there, especially Harpo.

I think that John and I could live in a smaller house but Harpo especially needs room to run. He's a wild and crazy boy with more energy than all the rest of us put together.

Ozy felt so bad that I gave him his bupe early, after just 8 hours.

I ordered a meter that also checks ketones. The ketone strips are pricey but it seems better and more accurate than the urine strips. And I read that IAA cats are more prone to Ketone issues.
 
Re: 12/27 Ozy AMPS-194,+2-329,9.5-372

Ozy timeline:

April 15th, 2009- Ozy comes home from the Oregon Humane Society with us. He got his vet care at Laurelhurst. He was a VERY difficult patient. HE was on prednisalone most of his first year with us for his auto-immune issues. He developed pancreatitis. I was told there wasn't much I could do about it.

Summer of 2010 - I switched Ozy to a home visit vet who had a holistic approach. For a year or more, he did pretty well. He had occasional pancreatitis attacks and outbreaks of feline eosinophilic granuloma. He was treated with various remedies. He did pretty well most of the time. Then he started to have problems. I kept notes for the vet and we traded a lot of emails. These are the notes I kept. When there are no notes, it means everything was okay. Anyway, just in case it helps to have this history, here it is.

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc?key=0AqCxgyuIGH9TdFRFM0ZsdUN5TUpPN3JzVldBWnhFWVE&usp=sharing

And here are links to his skin allergy disease. He has had lesions all over... neck, lip, nose, back, feet, legs, flanks. Right now he has some that are subsiding on his neck and one on his lip. His have never been as bad as these photos, which scared the crap out of me and made me keep him on prednisalone. But they have been no worse without the prednisalone. And the prednisalone made him feel like crap as well as giving him pancreatitis.

http://vetbook.org/wiki/cat/index.php/Eosinophilic_granuloma_complex

http://www.askthecatdoctor.com/rodent-ulcer.html
 
Re: 12/27 Ozy AMPS-194,+2-329.+4-364,+9.5-372

Harley and Pattie said:
Ok, well the dose is not holding. Hope others will chip in here but I an thinking maybe you should go up. Let's see what others say

Pattie

Pattie posted in yesterday's condo asking for dosing opinions. I think I am ready to go up. What do you think?
 
Re: 12/27 Ozy AMPS-194,+2-329.+4-364,+9.5-372 dosing ??

Ozy is over 400 now.... I really really want to raise his dose. I don't want him to learn to go over 400.....hate those antibodies.

I think someone would have to take the syringe away from me to keep me from going up tonight....
 
I think your instincts are correct.

Unless someone can present a compelling reason not to.

But I can't imagine the case.
 
I agree, up he goes. Gotta get him out of his pink comfort zone. Good to hear the Lev isn't stinging.
 
Good call on the increase :cool:

To help keep on top of IAA you will need to learn the safe use R and how to best use it for Ozy.

First, some information on IAA I believe to be very important:

  • *Injected insulin first gets bound to the antibodies. Any insulin that does not get bound goes toward metabolizing sugars. How much goes to antibodies and how much goes to metabolizing sugars is anybody’s guess and a moving target
  • *IAA can retard the initial rise of available insulin after an injection.
  • *IAA can lead to an increase in the half-life (the time it takes the body to get rid of half a dose) of free (unbound) insulin in circulation because some bound insulin gets released into circulation. The increase in half-life can lead to prolongation of action.
  • *The release of insulin from the antibodies can happen at inopportune times

FWIW I found all of the above to be the case with BK. As with all things, ECID.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top