12/27 Leo AMPS HI +4.5 563 +7 497 PMPS 492 +2.5 388 +5 328

I agree, Joni. It’s hard to figure out what to do on your own :bighug:

He has never settled down much since the start of insulin shots. Maybe it's his age. I hate what's happening lately. How long do I keep doing the same thing and getting such wonky results? I feel really bad what's happening. It's almost cruel to keep inflicting this outcome. At what point do I stop doing this to him? I am crying now. I understand what this means
 
I’ll be around for a little while, and am happy to help. What questions do you have about TR?

Thanks. Do I stay the course with 1.75 or increase? He's had a few great nadirs, but.... it's back to high. He's thrown up three times today and once yesterday. I forgot to include that in the SS.

I just don't think he's ever going to have quality of life. I might be transferring tears for my Dad's loss of my step-mom, 12/22. She became my step-mom almost 59 years ago, just three years after my mom died. There's a lot mixed in.

Nevertheless, Leo keeps going high on BGs. How much more can his little body take on? He was the most underweight he's been since the diagnosis. (8.76#)
Maybe I'm over-reacting to everything.
 
Last edited:
I’m so sorry for your loss :bighug:. I know the higher numbers are hard to see, and it does sound like there’s a lot going on between lack of appetite and these bouts of vomiting. When following TR we hold doses with green nadirs for 10 cycles before considering an increase, so by my count you are on cycle 6 of this dose and it would be suggested to hold for four more cycles.

I see a couple of things. He does seem to be in a pattern of bouncing, and I do wonder if there were possibly some greens again last night, based on how his BG was dropping all day into PMPS. December 24th into December 25th he was breaking a bounce which ended up having the later nadir of 74 that you saw, then he started another bounce which may have broken last night. Often with Maverick and indeed with other cats I’ve seen here on the forum who love the trampoline, his bounces were almost always worse from the steep drops vs. hitting greens or low blues. I wonder if that’s why Leo’s bounces are so drastic. I am not sure how easy this would be to do, with Leo’s appy being a bit hit and miss, and depending on what your current feeding schedule is, but I was thinking you might want to try and feed earlier in the cycle when you see the numbers dropping significantly from preshot to see if that helps slow the drops. Like I said, harder to do with kitties who have some appy issues going on, but this post on using food to manipulate the curve gives some helpful information, if you are interested in trying this out.
 
I’m so sorry for your loss :bighug:. I know the higher numbers are hard to see, and it does sound like there’s a lot going on between lack of appetite and these bouts of vomiting. When following TR we hold doses with green nadirs for 10 cycles before considering an increase, so by my count you are on cycle 6 of this dose and it would be suggested to hold for four more cycles.

I see a couple of things. He does seem to be in a pattern of bouncing, and I do wonder if there were possibly some greens again last night, based on how his BG was dropping all day into PMPS. December 24th into December 25th he was breaking a bounce which ended up having the later nadir of 74 that you saw, then he started another bounce which may have broken last night. Often with Maverick and indeed with other cats I’ve seen here on the forum who love the trampoline, his bounces were almost always worse from the steep drops vs. hitting greens or low blues. I wonder if that’s why Leo’s bounces are so drastic. I am not sure how easy this would be to do, with Leo’s appy being a bit hit and miss, and depending on what your current feeding schedule is, but I was thinking you might want to try and feed earlier in the cycle when you see the numbers dropping significantly from preshot to see if that helps slow the drops. Like I said, harder to do with kitties who have some appy issues going on, but this post on using food to manipulate the curve gives some helpful information, if you are interested in trying this out.

Thank you. I usually use a higher percentage to slow the drop, but the numbers have been so high. :nailbiting:
Why I didn't think it would help, IDK? He did have some steep drops. I'll go back to giving a tsp of 10% at +1 to slow him down.
I thought I entered last night's info after PMPS! I have it completed now.

Also, I was looking at three 1.75 shots where I used a bad pen, but went back to the newer pen .... then I had a freak out PMPS that didn't get injected because it was so late and I made the decision to forego the evening's shot so I could leave the next day mid morning and wanted to avoid a hypo moment for my daughter on 12/24 when she could check his BG. All in all, he didn't get all the day's 1.75 it appears. I needed the reminder there were two hiccups. Poor baby. As far as 12/26 after PMPS, I can't see he dropped after the +5 of 316 as it already increased from 212 at +2.4. Well, anything is possible! How would I count the days given the old pen issues and the missed dose?

Thank you!!
 
Thanks for clarifying with the additional data in your SS for pm cycle of Dec 26th, when I looked earlier it was blank and I believe I saw 1.75u for pm dose of Dec. 24th, but I might have been mistaken :). You just want to count 10 consecutive cycles on the same dose. If there was a skip, or a reduced shot, the count starts over again.

I would actually try the usual food to slow the drops, not the 10% and see how that goes first. It can be a bit of an experiment to see what helps to flatten out the drops, sometimes just a little of the usual food does the trick.
 
You are very welcome :). Hoping Leo ditches his interest in space walking soon.

upload_2023-12-27_14-55-42.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2023-12-27_14-55-42.jpeg
    upload_2023-12-27_14-55-42.jpeg
    4.4 KB · Views: 98
Sending you big hugs, Joni. You have a lot going on and it’s really hard when we have external stuff working on us. You just lost your step Mom and that’s extra hard. Please be kind to yourself. You’re doing great with Leo, keep asking questions. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
+2.5=388

He ate some dinner, but not enough. I keep trying... even adding some tuna-soaked spring water...nutritional yeast.... not even treats. He did eat less than a 1/2 tsp of 10%. So about a 100 point difference at +2.5.
This is not like Leo to not want food.
 
Back
Top