12/27 Blackie pmps 348 +3 393

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ele & Blackie (GA)

Member Since 2009
Good Morning, LL
I hope everyone is safe and warm on this Monday.

There's really no change in Blackie this morning. He ate pretty well during the night, but he's still not eating like he used to. This morning I gave his pepcid 45 minutes before his shot. His shot was at +11.25 this morning after his pm shot last night was at +14. I also reduced the dose to 3 units. Poor Blackie was a pincushion yesterday cuz he was so low all day. I'm about to call the vet and see if we can get in today. Blackie is peeing and pooping normally and he is still grooming himself. I just wish he would eat more.

Thank you to Carolyn, Claudia and Myla for their input on the CRF issues. Although we've been dealing with this for a while, it is only now progressing and I need to get up to speed with the info.

Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=32969
 
Re: 12/27 Blackie amps 330

I will be thinking of you guys today. I hope you have a good dialogue with the vet and come up with a solid plan.
Hang in there. You are doing great!
(((((((((((((ele))))))))))))))) ((((((((((((((((blackie))))))))))))))))
 
Re: 12/27 Blackie amps 330 +3 334

Thank you Carolyn for your support. It means a lot.

The vet did an exam and reveiwed the bloodwork from Friday. He didn't find anything on the exam, no masses, bumps or sore spots and didn't recommend an ultrasound. He did prescribe Mirtazapine instead of the Cyproheptadin and told me no more Cerenia. He also increased the dose of Zenequin to 25mg (whole tab) instead of the 12.5 we were giving. If he's not better in a few days we're to call back.

Blackie ate 1/4 can of FF Kitten food when we got home and then I did a ketone check - negative. I'm still hoping that Blackie will start feeling better soon.
 
Re: 12/27 Blackie amps 330 +3 334

Thanks so much for the micro dosing advice Ele it helped a LOT :mrgreen: Hope Blackie continues to improve and the new appetite stimulant works for him sending him lots of healing vines to feel better :YMHUG: :YMHUG: cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 12/27 Blackie amps 330 +3 334

Sending more eat well vines to Blackie. I hope it was the infection that can be taken care of with the Abs. White light and snowflakes as well to get better soon.
 
Re: 12/27 Blackie amps 330 +3 334

healing vines still coming to you, Blackie!

and i too, want to thank you for the microdosing info in DL's condo...what a great method!


celi & binks
 
Re: 12/27 Blackie amps 330 +3 334 +6 269 pmps 348

I am very frustrated and depressed about Blackie tonight. His eating isn't improving and I don't know what to do. I feel like I'm losing him even though his bloodwork was good. :cry:
 
Re: 12/27 Blackie amps 330 +3 334 +6 269 pmps 348

Ele,
i posted this in my condo....but not sure you will read it so i copied and pasted it here in your condo...

"Ele, don't be discouraged...we all go thru that with CRF kitties...it is a challenging illness....no doubt about it....those with CRF kitties can tell you that....now it's the time to read as much as you can on it to be able to help Blackie out....keep a close eye on Blackie with that stimulant....."

have you kept up with the pepcid?

kidneys trumps diabetes....so you may need to syringe feed and enough calories for him not to lose weight
 
Re: 12/27 Blackie amps 330 +3 334 +6 269 pmps 348

Ele, I'm so sorry that Blackie isn't feeling particularly well and isn't eating properly. I hope that you will be able to come to grips with all of the issues involved.
We are thinking positive thoughts for Blackie this evening and sending him lots of healing vines and "eat hearty" vines. Tomorrow will be a better day. Just keep positive and give your boy some special scritches tonight.

Many hugs,
Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 12/27 Blackie amps 330 +3 334 +6 269 pmps 348

awwwww ((((((Ele))))))
Claudia is right. There are so many ups/downs with the crf. It just stinks, period.

Can I ask why your vet did not feel it was worth a u/s, or even just a pancreatitis test? You are doing everything if it were pancreatitis, except pain meds. I dont think the gabepentin (sp???sorry) would be the appropriate medication for that. Keep up on the pepcid. And after 5 days off the cerenia, you should be able to do another 3 if need be (3 days on, 5 days off, reapeat... I believe).

Keep syringe feeding as needed. You may want to consider investing in a baby scale for the future. It was really helpful for me to have one so I knew if I was feeding Latte enough. To my surprise I learned she could maintain her weight on just 1 3oz can of food/day and some treats. WIthout the scale I would have been syringing more food than necessary (or comfortable). For now, if you just have a scale at home...weigh yourself and then weigh yourself while holding him.

I have faith blackie will pull out of this funk. He has had a few of these. And, he may have a few more. I think that really helps us appreciate the good days, dont you think? You are doing a WONDERFUL job. I cant say that enough. :mrgreen: And, as one of Latte's vets always said to me..."she is doing the best she can". So is Blackie!

Chin up! :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
Big Hugs! :YMHUG: :YMHUG:

I have to give my new computer up, along with my old one tomorrow for the data transfer (all of Latte's photos/videos, metacam docs, climbing photo/vids,etc). Probably will not be able to pick it up until Friday. I will check in via my phone to see how you guys are doing. In the meantime, I will fed ex a few piles of snowflakes!
 
Re: 12/27 Blackie amps 330 +3 334 +6 269 pmps 348

((((((((Ele)))))))) I'm no use o the crf, my experience with it was years ago and there is so much more available now. You and Blackie are doing all you can. Breathe, be patient and give the meds a chance to work. Tons of snowflakes and good eating vines on the way.
 
Thank you for all the support! :YMHUG: I have been syringing most of his food tonight. I think I'm seeing some side effects of the Mirtz too, but nothing obvious. My vet didn't think a u/a would show anything. He also doesn't believe the pancreatitis test is accurate and didn't see any other symptoms of pancreatitis. Blackie doesn't seem to be in any pain, although I know they can hide it well. Also, I do have a postal scale I use to weigh the kitties. I'll start weighing Blackie daily so I can see what's happening. I'll be callling the vet again tomorrow about the Mirtz.

Thank you for being here and letting me vent. Its been a rough night and it helps to know that you care.
 
just as an FYI...if i happen not to catch your condo just pm or post in my condo....i've been keeping up with what's happening with Blackie but this is just so you can get my attention faster...ok....i'm here to help out in any which way i can...ok....

if the vet took enough blood out they'd be able to do the fPLI rather than you bringing Blackie back to get more blood drawn out....for Rocket they usually do keep enough for other tests....mind you it has a shelf life so has to be within couple of days....do ask if they did

Carolyn is right....see if an u/s would give you a better answer on what's going on....

also a few things to do in the meantime....continue the assist feeding....buy some Clinicare...i know it is high carb but i can not stress enough that CRF trumps Diabetes...and though his BG is high....you need to get a better hold of the CRF otherwise it progresses far too quick if unattended....don't mean to scare you but it's true....the Clinicare has all the nutrients he needs....you can always deal with his BG later....

continue the pepcid every 12 hrs....raise up his bowl in case he goes to it...if you see him walking towards his food smelling it and walking away then he is nauseaus....i have never given Rocket the mirtz so i can't help you on that...if i were you i'd ask the vet for the cypro instead....as the link says the mirtz stays in the system the entire 3 days and you can't undo things until it's out of the system....cypro is on a per given basis....give 1/8 of a pill...not the full dose the vet Rx as they tend to Rx too high a dose....Tanya's website is good in giving all the info...as per the antiemetic i would ask for ondansetron (zofran)....Rocket gets it every 12 hrs and has worked well (i make sure i give it 2 hrs after the zantac- in your case would be after the pepcid)....

IMHO giving a stimulant to a kitty that you do not know if he is nauseaus is worse than dealing with the nausea first....give the ondansetron and pepcid a try and you can start eliminating those 2 symptoms....

http://www.felinecrf.org/stomach_acid.htm#symptoms

another question for you....did the vet check his mouth for mouth ulcers? dental problems?

just throwing things your way so you can ask your vet...

let me know if i can help you further....keep us posted
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top