12/27 Asher amps 178, + 7.5 26 !!! no symptoms

Status
Not open for further replies.

donnahc

Member Since 2011
Hi everyone. Hope you all had a relaxing holiday. I was in bed for two days with the cold from hell, so I know I relaxed :roll: by force really.

Today is a lazy day. Tom and I are working at home on computers and the cats slept in today. Both of them took about a 6 hour nap together on our bed. It is a dark gray winter PA day, so this is not unusual. Asher has been having good numbers and we had to reduce the other day back to 4.5 units. Well, today a little after +7.5 he and his brother sauntered out into the kitchen when Tom and I were going to get lunch. I didn’t test Asher yet, as he was a little higher this morning, so I didn’t see a rush to do so. I thought I’d test before we got lunch.

Imagine my surprise and brief terror when the meter said 26 !!!! I immediately fed a whole can of high carb food and he gobbled it all down. Very pleased with himself, he used his scratcher and perched himself in the kitchen to see what the humans would do for him next. No symptoms whatsoever. I checked him in a little less than a half hour and he is up to 56, and obviously I will keep checking.

So we are more than deserving of a reduction in dose tonight. I am just not used to these low numbers yet. What do you guys think of this craziness?
 
Well, it definitely deserves a...ZOIKES! Glad he came up quickly, let's hope he surfs there for the remainder of the day. I see a bounce in your near future... GOOD CATCH!
 
Thanks Tara. I am sure we will bounce. And I fed a whole 3oz of food since I freaked a bit. He’s now up to 108.
 
Good catch and nice to see him coming up nicely. How long ago was the food? You didn't give a time on the last test. Food can show up for at least 2 hours so keep checking. They do like to keep us from taking them fro granted!
 
Food was a nudge more than an hour ago so he may be a bit higher now. Thought I’d wait a bit to test again.
 
Fun times at the Dutch Ghetto:-)
Nice catch, Donna!

Carl
 
Have you gotten snow from the recent storm(s)?
Asher must have thought you've had a long enough break. Feeling better, I hope
 
Great catch and a very important catch!

It's helpful to remember that many cats do not demonstrate symptoms of hypoglycemia when we might expect them to. Symptoms like seizures or coma are end stage. That's not a place where any of us want our kitties to be. I'd suggest that you routinely start getting an earlier test. Both today and when Asher got a reduction earlier this week, your first test was at +7. If it were me, I'd be getting a test at +3 every day. The will give you much better control over the cycle.
 
Yeah we got a dusting plus a little ice on top the other day. Forecast says a few more inches Saturday. We’ll see.

I have been home working in my jammies since xmas eve. I had an asthma reaction to working in a woodshop cutting MDF and cedar, which created a petri dish in my lungs for this cold from hell. So I had matzo ball soup medicinally for xmas here home alone. So I have had a few days “off”. If the self employed ever get time “off”, lol :lol:
 
Thanks Sienne. We will try to get earlier tests when we are home now. If we have to be out, we’ll at least try to get out the door tests. This dude keeps us on our toes!
 
donnahc said:
What do you guys think of this craziness?
I think that Asher is healing. :smile:

Often once a cat hits that stage where the spreadsheet is ALL blue and green, no more yellow, the reductions can come fast and furious for a little while. This is the range where the pancreas can do a lot of healing. Stay alert!

I wouldn't count on a bounce either. It looks like Asher has left his bouncing days behind (anti-jinx). Hopefully he can hold onto that trend too. :mrgreen:
 
Thanks Libby. I hope you are right :-D So far no bounce, he cruised around 80 something and was 86 at +12 so we waited a half hour, then shot at 106 if memory serves correctly. We reduced to 4.25 and will keep an eye on him.

At this time of year, one of us should be with him the better part of most days, so that is helpful too.

Thanks everyone for your help and encouragement. Couldn’t do it without you all, that’s for sure!
 
It's also nice to see that the whole can of HC food didn't send him sky high either. Pretty good day for the Cover Boy!

Carl
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top