12/27 Angel AMPS 274 AM+6 229, AM+11.5/PMPS 247, PM+4 205 sick

Lisa and Angel

Member Since 2023
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/12-26-angel-amps-247-am-5-277-pmps-293-pm-4-254.284947/

Hi guys, Angel's not doing very well today. The day started off good but without her morning tolfenamic acid she declined in the evening again. It's now +11 and I expect her PMPS will be quite low since she hasn't eaten much and puked once. Should I just stick to the SLGS low preshot guidelines, or make a decision based on prior (prozinc) data? I don't want to mess with the depot but I also don't want to be unsafe.:( we're likely seeing the vet tomorrow.
 
Insulin is due in 55 minutes. She ate a bit about 30 minutes ago, about 2-3 tablespoons of wet food. I'll try to get her to eat some dry as well. She'll get meloxicam in 2 hours, that should hopefully give her a bit of a boost.
 
As long as she will eat it’s best to give insulin. It takes about 2 hours for it to kick in. Eating small amounts every hour or two is fine. See how low the pmps is. Can you check now to see if it’s higher at pmps if lower now?
 
She's at 247, so thankfully not low as I thought. I blended some gastro intestinal wet food with a bit of hot water and she happily slurped up a big plate of that just now. So I think I can give insulin like normal right? And do I need to test again in half an hour or is that not necessary?

Edit: right after posting she came over, plunked herself down in my lap for cuddles and is now purring happily.
 
I think you are good to give her the normal dose. I’m glad she seems better.

I hate it when they do weird stuff and seem off, I am glad she’s feeling better. Getting a +2 would be just fine.

Thanks! I did go ahead and give her her normal dose. She's doing so much better I don't think I'm going to give her the meloxicam, unless she goes downhill again. Since insulin time she has:

  • Cuddles twice more
  • Eaten the rest of the gastro soup (ate 3/4th of the entire pouch total)
  • Eaten some dry food
  • Bullied some of the other cats into sharing their own dinnertime wet food meal

So yeah, I hope that was just a weird moment! I hate when that happens too. If she's off again tomorrow I'll call the vet, if not then she can be spared the stress of yet another visit. I'll get a +2 in too.
 
Back
Top