12/27/25, Benny, AMPS: 318, +6: 119

Katie & Benny

Member Since 2025
Hello everyone, I haven’t written in a while about Benny and that is because we just recently got him back from his 3rd hospital stay since late November. I am going to try to summarize everything as succinctly as I can but it might be tough so bear with me.

Last time I posted here on December 16th, ? - 12/16/25 Benny, Vomiting Same Time Past 3 Nights, you can see that benny wasn’t doing very well and we decided that morning to take him back into the hospital. They found that he had a fever and that his ketones were confirmed very large so they were going to evaluate once again for DKA. For the rest of the day he received IV fluids and would be transferred to Internal Medicine in the morning to look at a possible infection, pancreatitis or a UTI.

Next few days his energy and appetite improve but he still has an occasional fever. They did blood cultures, urine cultures, ultrasound, nothing. Couldn’t find any large infection that could be causing his temperature to go up. His potassium did dip so he was then given potassium through his IV to assist. Still not big answers.

On December 20th, we got the breakthrough answer we needed. A new resident to his case somehow found a huge skin infection on his chest and front leg. He was finally put on an antibiotic and taken to surgery to remove the dead skin. We couldn’t believe what they found and that ourselves and multiple hospitals of doctors did not find this infection. The procedure went well and he was already up and moving looking for dinner after the surgery. The doctor felt like this infection was a huge reason for his high ketones returning so quickly and his glucose numbers bouncing all over the place. We finally felt like the main culprit to our struggles was found.

Since finding the skin infection, Benny has been slowly but steadily improving. He was in the hospital from December 16th until just yesterday, December 26th. His insulin dosage has gone way down because he has had some hypo episodes in the hospital due to his body now being rid of that infection and adjusting. Right now, we are on day two of .5 units morning and evening with three meals a day. Benny will have a check-up in a week to check the sutures on his skin. Otherwise, his energy has been better than it has been in months which I am so grateful to see. He has peed 5 times today which I am considering an improvement since the last time he was home he was peeing 11 times a day.

For future testing, we are still looking at possible GI issues, small cell lymphoma, and Cushing’s. He tested negative for a UTI, pancreatitis and his GI panel was showing no infection while in hospital. Our main concerns are still his weight and getting his glucose in a steadier range. The doctors talked about Benny being a possible candidate for Trejeo insulin. Has anyone else tried that brand before?

Thank you to all who responded to my 5am fire alarm on the 16th. I didn’t have the chance to reply since we were heading to the hospital but I greatly appreciate all the advice and support from this forum.
 
Hi Katie- what an ordeal, I’m so glad to see Benny is recovering now. Hopefully your vet wasn’t talking about Toujeo. That is probably not a a first choice of insulin for lower doses like what Benny is currently at, he seems pretty stable right now at 0.5u. Toujeo is 3x more concentrated than Lantus, and you’d be making dose adjustments at 1u at a time straight out of the pen because there are no U300 insulin syringes. We don’t really have a lot of members who have tried that insulin probably in part for those reasons.

I’m hoping Benny continues to be well at home, and perhaps now that he is settling back in, it would be worth getting back into some of those spot checks including checking his BG at night before you go to bed, just to be sure you’re catching some of the new patterns now that his skin infection is improving.
 
Hi Katie, Glad to see you back on the board, and I'm so glad to hear that you were able to get to the bottom of the infection and that Benny is now getting better. I don't have anything to add regarding the insulin; I think Christie has given you some solid advice. I will add this one bit of anecdotal advice: it takes a minute for kitties to adjust to the insulin and begin getting into "good" numbers; this happens with most of the kitties on the forum. Hopefully, with the infection cleared up, his bg numbers will begin improving. I am curious, if you don't mind me asking, how they determined Benny had a skin infection? It's amazing that it wasn't something that was caught immediately, so it sounds like it was difficult to actually see, so I'm wondering how in the world it was finally identified. And I'm asking this really because I certainly wouldn't want to overlook something like that in Jude.
 
Hi Katie- what an ordeal, I’m so glad to see Benny is recovering now. Hopefully your vet wasn’t talking about Toujeo. That is probably not a a first choice of insulin for lower doses like what Benny is currently at, he seems pretty stable right now at 0.5u. Toujeo is 3x more concentrated than Lantus, and you’d be making dose adjustments at 1u at a time straight out of the pen because there are no U300 insulin syringes. We don’t really have a lot of members who have tried that insulin probably in part for those reasons.

I’m hoping Benny continues to be well at home, and perhaps now that he is settling back in, it would be worth getting back into some of those spot checks including checking his BG at night before you go to bed, just to be sure you’re catching some of the new patterns now that his skin infection is improving.
Hi Christie,

Yes, I think that is the one I mentioned. That is good to know the difficulty of the Toujeo. I am going to get back into the glucose checks throughout the day and night since we are still working on a dose that works for him.
 
Hi Katie, Glad to see you back on the board, and I'm so glad to hear that you were able to get to the bottom of the infection and that Benny is now getting better. I don't have anything to add regarding the insulin; I think Christie has given you some solid advice. I will add this one bit of anecdotal advice: it takes a minute for kitties to adjust to the insulin and begin getting into "good" numbers; this happens with most of the kitties on the forum. Hopefully, with the infection cleared up, his bg numbers will begin improving. I am curious, if you don't mind me asking, how they determined Benny had a skin infection? It's amazing that it wasn't something that was caught immediately, so it sounds like it was difficult to actually see, so I'm wondering how in the world it was finally identified. And I'm asking this really because I certainly wouldn't want to overlook something like that in Jude.
Thank you for this advice, Mary. He did just have a PMMS BG of 473 after the 119 six hours after his dose so I did have a little freak out. I just need to remember things are very different now without that bacteria in his system and his system needs the time to settle. In regards to finding the infection, the new resident that was looking at him had noticed that his fur was falling out a lot, specifically his white fur on his chest area. I think from there they dug into his fur and noticed discoloration on his skin and decided to shave it and found two main spots of infection with unhappy skin around it. I couldn’t believe the picture they showed us before the debridement. There were no smells or oozing that us or anyone else had experienced prior. Benny has very thin skin so he will probably be more prone to infections like these.
 
Thank you for this advice, Mary. He did just have a PMMS BG of 473 after the 119 six hours after his dose so I did have a little freak out. I just need to remember things are very different now without that bacteria in his system and his system needs the time to settle. In regards to finding the infection, the new resident that was looking at him had noticed that his fur was falling out a lot, specifically his white fur on his chest area. I think from there they dug into his fur and noticed discoloration on his skin and decided to shave it and found two main spots of infection with unhappy skin around it. I couldn’t believe the picture they showed us before the debridement. There were no smells or oozing that us or anyone else had experienced prior. Benny has very thin skin so he will probably be more prone to infections like these.
Very interesting! I'm so glad that this resident was put into Benny's path and was able to determine his infection!!!

Also, look at Jude's spreadsheet if you want to see janky numbers at the beginning of his diagnosis. You can look at last year's numbers, when he came out of remission (October), and those erratic numbers continued on into this year, when we were finally able to get him on the right dose that brought things into a bit of regulation. It just sometimes take time.
 
Very interesting! I'm so glad that this resident was put into Benny's path and was able to determine his infection!!!

Also, look at Jude's spreadsheet if you want to see janky numbers at the beginning of his diagnosis. You can look at last year's numbers, when he came out of remission (October), and those erratic numbers continued on into this year, when we were finally able to get him on the right dose that brought things into a bit of regulation. It just sometimes take time.
Yes, we are very thankful for our Dr. Lisa!

That is very good to know it can take a while and looking at Jude, it looks like overall it’s been a good year for him!
 
Oh gosh, Katie, I'm so glad that resident figured it out! Poor Benny. It's good to hear that he's on the mend, and finally home. ❤️ What an awful ten days for you guys to go through. You're getting good advice, I think; I'd definitely give his system a little recovery time before making any major dosing/med changes. (I'm sure that's not easy. Gen's going to have surgery sometime in the next month so I'll have to contend with this kind of thing myself soon enough.) Welcome back, and thank you for the update!
 
Oh Allie, I’ll be thinking of you and Gen whenever that surgery may be! Benny and I are spending a lot of time getting some good naps and relaxing on his heated blanket since being home. I have to remind myself I know a lot more now than I did since his diagnosis in September. I have to trust my gut and also be grateful that he is feeling better and his BG will reflect that eventually.❤️
 
Hi Katie, so glad Benny is doing so much better. I’m so sorry you went through such an ordeal.
Sending lots of healing wishes your way.
Please give Benny lots of love and extra snuggles from us 💖😻💕🥰 :bighug: :bighug:
 
Back
Top