Could she have got into contraband?
Could she have eaten just prior to amps this morning? are you managing to pick up food 2hours before amps/pmps?
It doesn't look like she was likely to have done anything crazy last night, she was basically flat from about +4 in the am cycle.
However, I do think she is bouncing, it may be off the blues, but she also dropped from 200 pts to her nadir yesterday, it looks like she dropped sharply at onset yesterday morning from 496 to low 300s that could be what set her up for that black amps.
Bounces are not only caused by a drop into low numbers (hypo territory) but also by sharp drops, drops into lower than usual numbers or spending longer than usual in a range that she is not used to.
If she is yellow this evening at pmps you might want to watch for an active pm cycle, get a test in at +2 and before bed.
with respect that comment from your vet doesn't make sense. She needs what she needs, we have had cats whose dose was more than 60u of lantus, just a quick look through peoples ss, will show you how different dosing can be for each cat. As we like to say ECID (every cat is different) Chica needs what she needs, it doesn't help to get fixated on a dose.
What's your work schedule like?
Can you take her up in dose perhaps just before a day off? Is it possible to work around your time off?
She's not all that 'used' to seeing blues, with TR when a kitty is new to blues you would hold for at least 8 cycles, so I probably would hold this dose tonight and for a couple of cycles more, give her time to clear the bounce and see if she makes it back to blue or even green when she does.
From the guidelines for TR.
Increasing the dose:
- Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
- if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
- when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
- Increase by 0.25 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300.
- Increase by 0.5 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 300.