12/27- 12/28 Henry

Status
Not open for further replies.
I don't know, Angela. Henry's patterns look a little like Thumper: same numbers in general except for a few surprises thrown in. Have you thought about switching to Lantus or Levemir? It works for some but not for others, but he is just not getting much from PZI. You have certainly given it a good run and tried a lot of different things that work for awhile but then not..... With the relaxed forum, you would have good company with Lantus, and even with Levemir, some old PZI users.
 
If I switch I think I would try Levimir.
I will ask my vet what she thinks.
I am not a fan of TR, that is scary to me.
 
I think Lev is a good choice. The Lev group is wonderful and they can work out scheduling issues for you as well.

Have you looked at Barbara and Thumper's ss since they switched to Lantus? Thumper is doing awesome on Lantus.
 
I don't like TR either. I am glad they have the Lantus relaxed forum which just seems to adjust the TR to ECID. And the Levemir forum has never been strict TR. You might send a PM to Laura and Harley. She is on Levemir. I don't think he is OTJ but I think he is more regulated. Marcy and Klinger and Kelly and Oscar are also old PZI people who post here and on Levemir. Both the relaxed Lantus forum and the Levemir are like PZI - no one is there constantly but mostly am and pm. You might also pm Robin. Harley went from PZI to Levemir back to PZI.

I don't think any of those kitties went OTJ on Levemir but they seem to avoid the 400/60 swings that Henry gets sometimes. If he would stay in regulated numbers on PZI, I wouldn't wonder about changing. But he seems to be so variable..... Of course, it is possible that all the above named kitties are just unusual kitties regardless of insulin.

As always, Angela, no easy answers. :mrgreen:
 
Yes I switched Harley from PZ to Lantus because he was so well regulated, always under about 160, that I wanted to try to coax him otj by being able to shoot the lower numbers with Lantus.

From his first shot he didn't respond to the Lantus like he should have, instead of a nice flat curve he would drop like a rock in the first 4 hours, then sometimes nothing, and his bg's shot up to the 400 & 500's so back to PZ we went. ECID.

If I were to try it again I would try the Lev.
 
Might be worth a try switching Angela. You guys have certainly given PZI a good try, you have been at it longer than us!
You just have to promise to come here and keep us posted :-D
 
Hi Angela,
When I first looked at henry's numbers I thought maybe you should consider changing..
then I read everyone elses replys and I think maybe you should look into it
Henry's numbers are not getting any better

Shakes was on Lantus and did not do well
He is a PZI baby...
but I think Henry might be different
 
Ok, After the first of the year, he will be going in for a Glaucoma check and I will discuss changing him and weigh the choices with his vet. Shes pretty open and willing to discuss/work with you, and in the meantime, I will lurk over in Levimir and read some posts and maybe pm a few former PZI to Lev users. I just feel like I am missing something, some piece to the puzzle with ProZinc.
For those who have switched, how long did you give it a chance to see if it was working any better before switching back to PZI or another insulin?
Much to ponder.

In the meantime,
+4 211
 
I don't think you are missing anything at all, Angela. I think it is that #%£€ ECID thing. His body reacts the way it reacts, and clearly with Henry, unlike any other cat. You have spent a lot of time manipulating the schedule, the doses, the food. Things help for a while or once, and then he is off again. Raising and lowering the dose doesn't do what we think it "should".

I figure it is like any hormone/medicine. Some people react well to it from the beginning and it works great. Other people use the exact same stuff and it doesn't work nearly as well for them.

There is, of course, no guarantee that Levemir will get him OTJ. That would be the best outcome. My next best hope is that you could get him regulated, in decent numbers the majority of the time.
 
Nice numbers today! Can't advise on switching, but it sounds like you have a good plan to research.
 
There you go Big Hen, throw that good +6 out there today to cause more conversation!

I am a fan of Prozinc, though I often do wonder how Kitty would have done on Lantus. But, Prozinc is giving us decent results with TID dosing. Truly though, if I was you, I would consider changing insulins. You can always give Lantus or Lev a chance and if it doesn't produce better results, you can always change back to Prozinc.

Best of Luck with your decision.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top