12/26GraciePMPS 295 +12.25 63 +12.75 57 +13.25 47 +14 49 ???

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marje and Gracie

Member Since 2010
Moderator
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=32916

Recap:
AMPS: 198 14th cycle 1.25u
+1.5: 78 fed 12% w/gravy
+2: 74
+2.5: 78
+3: 94
+4: 92
+5: 94
+6: 88
+9.5: 116
PMPS: 151 15th cycle 1.25u
+1: 203
+2: 176
+3: 162
+5: 151
+8: 245
AMPS: 188 16th cycle 1.25u
+1: 177


CONGRATULATIONS TO MICHELLE AND FAMILY ON THE BIRTH OF THEIR NEW LITTLE BOY!!!!
CONGRATULATIONS TO JILL AND ALEX ON THEIR OTJ TRIAL!! WE WISH YOU THE BEST LUCK!!!

Good morning, happy Sunday!! We hope you all had your Christmas wishes answered and found the miracle in the day.

WCR: 4Ps and a wild and crazy baby this morning!!! She's had a couple breffis's and seems to be feeling really great. I just saw her heading for her condo in the sun so looks like she plans on soaking up some rays this morning. She and Tobey helped me scour the house for his little puff balls that he hides in unbelievable places. I have a feeling as we put away the Christmas decorations that we'll find them in the silk poinsettias. Those two keep me on my toes...the dynamic duo.
eta: I've noticed from studying Gracie's SS that if she is lower at her PS than she was the night before, she drops fast. So today, I fed her at PS, +.5, +1, +2 to see if that would slow things down. Another science experiment :lol: :lol:

We hope you have an awesome Sunday; after yesterday's incredible rest, I have many chores to do today so I'll visit some condos and get busy. Mike is home tomorrow so real Christmas for us then and then two weeks staycation flip_cat flip_cat
 
Re: 12/26 Gracie AMPS 188 +1 177

YAY Gracie - looks at those numbers - I bet you see green very shortly. :-D :-D She sure is having great cycles - so very nice to see, so worth the wait to get there.

Love the puff ball story - so true! It is the same here - I find these things in the strangest places.

Thanks too so very much on the Congrats. mom Dad and baby are ever so happy - he is the sweetest little boy - and makes those soft cooing sounds. It was non stop last night while we visited, a sleeping cooing baby. precious!
 
Re: 12/26 Gracie AMPS 188 +1 177 +2 144

Lisa: oh yes...I'm very happy with this number and no crashing so far!

Michelle: I'm also very happy for you!!! I am sure you cannot contain your excitement. And yes...this dose has been really nice for Gracie so far.
 
Re: 12/26 Gracie AMPS 188 +1 177 +2 144

Good morning, Marjorie & Gracie.. looking good in blue today. I hope you & Mike have a very Merry Christmas, I know how the aviation industry is - I was a flight attendant for 6 years.. flight crews are everywhere but not anywhere ;-) enjoy the staycation!
 
Re: 12/26 Gracie AMPS 188 +1 177 +2 144

Good morning, guys! Nice blue surf you've got going there, Gracie! Keep it going! :) We hope you guys have a great day!

Christie and Willie
 
Re: 12/26 Gracie AMPS 188 +1 177 +2 144

Looking good Gracie!!! looks like the experiment is gonna work ;-)

have a good day you guys!!!! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 12/26 Gracie AMPS 188 +1 177 +2 144 +4 232

Nice amps for Gracie....very nice.

Hey Majorie....thanks for stopping by my condo.....I'll miss touching base w/everyone each day but will get to catch up on the weekends.

I think Kim's got the work issue thing going as well. They made it home safely and had a great trip.

And just love the photos of your kitties. They are so small and cuddly. Tobey is just a pistol.
 
Re: 12/26 Gracie AMPS 188 +1 177 +2 144 +4 232 +7 348

Nicole...that's cool...what airline?

Christie, Claudia, Tena: well...I was very excited about the amps and thought she was going to have a great day but she pooped out on me. I always double check the dose right before I shoot her and I noticed the plunger in the syringe was not quite straight....I don't know why I didn't notice that when I drew it up as I have a new magnifying glass with EIGHT LED lights (way cool). Anyway, so I am wondering if perhaps she didn't get her full dose but it's also likely her last few cycles in lovely numbers made her liver decide to boing her numbers. I almost didn't test at +7 (shouldn't have because ignorance is bliss) but on occasion, she has surprised me late in her cycle with a very low number...my little stinka!

Thanks Tena for the info on Kim...I've been thinking of her. Will be glad to see them back in LL.
 
Re: 12/26 Gracie AMPS 188 +1 177 +2 144 +4 232 +7 348

Was that a bounce I saw, Gracie? You better come back down young lady! I hope you enjoyed your day, Marjorie. I'm sure you and Mike will enjoy your Christmas tomorrow.
 
Re: 12/26 Gracie PMPS 295

Hope you enjoy your Christmas tomorrow as well as your staycation!
Hope Gracie comes on down slowly for you tonite!!
 
Re: 12/26 Gracie PMPS 295

Hi Marjorie,

I've been popping in but haven't had time to reply to condos. I just loved the pictures of Tobi and Gracie yesterday. You've started my days off with a smile and I've really loved it. You have some gorgeous kitties and their personalities really show in pictures.

I'm following along as you try and figure out how to manage Gracie's curve. Its very interesting and I'm learning a lot.

I noticed the plunger wasn't quite straight on the new syringes that I bought. Do you not use the syringe? I'm going to buy some BD syringes tomorrow with half unit markings. The plunger is different in these syringes.
 
Re: 12/26 Gracie PMPS 295

good luck on the food experiment!

and Merry christmas to you and mike tomorrow!

was thinking you might want some company on your staycation...so i'm booking Smudge and Annie on the next flight! :lol:
 
Re: 12/26 Gracie PMPS 295 +2 208

Oh my, isn't it lovely when they bounce. Hope you have a nice staycation. Glad Celi is sending you some company. Hope you are not getting any of the bad weather. It is brutal hear but the northeast is doing far worse. Have a good night enjoy a second Christmas when Mike gets home.
 
Re: 12/26 Gracie PMPS 295 +2 208

Ele and Keri: I'm soooo looking forward to Mike getting home tomorrow morning so we can have Christmas and some time together. I hope Gracie continues to clear her bounce tonight nice and easy. She does so much better if she doesn't drop so fast.

Karrie: I'm glad you like their photos....they have absolutely wonderful puurssonalities. Gracie is our little crazy baby and Tobey...he is just an adorable little love. It's been an adventure to try and figure out how to manage her curve. I haven't gotten it down like Michelle does with Mannie. Just when I think I have Gracie figured out, she changes! I used the BD syringes for a while and really didn't like them at all. No matter how hard I tried, they always got bubbles that would not clear out. I went to the Monoject and I like them MUCH better but you just have to draw really, really slow. I thought the BD and Relion syringes had consistent problems with the plungers; this is the first time I had a problem with the MJ. I probably shouldn't have used it but it was time to shoot and I didn't want to delay her shot trying to pull up more insulin.

Celi: oh gosh...would love to have the tortitudes but didn't I tell you that Mike and I are taking Gracie and going to Tahiti??? Sorry...maybe another time :lol: :lol: :lol:

Barbara: thanks...I just talked to him and he's not flying in any weather tonight so he shouldn't get delayed; a close friend of mine called from NJ and she said they are supposed to get 12" of snow. It's clear here...a little chilly tonight, but clear as it can be; it was a very nice day. Hope Tuffy is feeling better!
 
Re: 12/26 Gracie PMPS 295 +2 208

nice +2 for Gracie. Coming down already. :-D :-D Interesting on the food experiment. Opinion so far?, or maybe its' too soon to tell.

Have a great staycation! Those were always my favorite... time to just enjoy being home without having an agenda. YAY! Welcome home to mike too - have a great delayed Christmas :-D

Hey Gracie - thanks so much for letting us just hangout in the dun today. That was so great. We've have been so busy lately- it was so cool to work on our suntans. Tobey made a great sub-cabana boy. ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 12/26 Gracie PMPS 295 +2 208 +3 108 + 3.5 61

My diving queen!!! I fed her 12% gravy with her food at +3 and it barely slowed her down so gave her some 12% food w/gravy at 3.5. Rechecking in 30.
 
Re: 12/26 Gracie PMPS 295 +2 208 +3 108 + 3.5 61 +4 47

:shock: No ice fishing, Gracie. Do you hear me?!?
 
Re: 12/26 Gracie PMPS 295 +2 208 +3 108 + 3.5 61 +4 47

Luckily it was 70 degrees here today :lol: :lol:

Where are my pjs???

eta: taking the baby girl to the other end of the house and shutting down the 'puter. Will keep checking her as long as needed. Ni ni.
 
Re: 12/26GraciePMPS295 +6 59 +7.5 95 +8.5 80 + 9.5 64 NEED H

Morning....I've been up all night with Gracie. Her SS is up-to-date. She's falling at +9.5....I fed her to try and get her up. Here's a summary of the night:

PMPS: 295 17th cycle 1.25u
+2: 208
+3: 108
+3.5: 61
+4: 47
+4.5: 52
+5: 63
+5.5: 64
+6: 59
+6.5: 51
+7: 57
+7.5: 95
+8.5: 80
+9.5: 64 fed 4% w/9% gravy and tiny drop karo
+10: 92 fed small amount 4% w/9% gravy

I've fed off and on during the night...except the +5.5, 7.5 and 8.5 but those last two numbers are food spike numbers. I just gave her more food with a little 9% gravy at 9.5 I think she obviously needs a reduction but I'm worried about her falling more in the next two hours and shooting at 7:30 am MST time. I'm going to check her at +10 which is on the half hour (5:30 MST time). I just need someone to know and be aware that I may need help at 7:30 deciding whether to shoot at all or shoot a BCS and if the latter, what to shoot. She hasn't held her reductions well so I was only going to shave this. Thanks for any help.
 
Re: 12/26GraciePMPS295 +6 59 +7.5 95 +8.5 80 + 9.5 64 NEED H

Looked at your SS, and in the past you have shot 92 before, but could you stall a half hour & see where she goes??
Looks like good things are happening for Gracie! Let's see if she is still droping--
Update?
 
Re: 12/26GraciePMPS295 +6 59 +7.5 95 +8.5 80 + 9.5 64 NEED H

Marjorie --

You need to stop feeding now so you can get some clean tests in order to know if the numbers are spontaneously rising or if this is food induced. Generally, when approaching shot time, I wouldn't feed unless numbers are in the 40s. Hopefully, you have plenty of room at this point. You've shot low numbers before so it's more a matter of whether you have strips and HC stocked (which I know you do) .
 
Re: 12/26GraciePMPS295 +6 59 +7.5 95 +8.5 80 + 9.5 64 NEED H

Sienne: thanks...I should have put in my post that I know not to feed after +10 and that she needs two hours to make sure her PS is not influenced by food. Jill and I had discussed earlier feeding her small amounts before +10 if her numbers are dropping so that's why I was feeding. She probably didn't eat more than 1/4 tsp just before +10. I'm more concerned if her number drops before PS. I just checked her at +11 and she's at 81 with an hour to go and she usually dips somewhere between +10 and PS.

Roni: Yes...I've shot some low PSs but I guess what has me concerned ( :-D ) is if she continues to drop and I have to stall...I guess I'd then shoot the new reduced dose?

I'm assuming shaving the dose to a sk1.25u is ok, Sienne?? It's not like she tanked on me so low that I had to fight getting her up...I just had to feed often in order to keep her above 50.

Thanks...I knew it might take folks a while to be up so I went btb to try to get 45 mins snooze. Gonna hop in the shower now before +12 looms.
 
Re: 12/26GraciePMPS295 +6 59 +7.5 95 +8.5 80 + 9.5 64 +11 81

WOW - quite the night.... I feel guilty for sleeping... good luck this morning. Gracie? steady as she goes girl: up a little. OK?
 
Re: 12/26GraciePMPS 295 +12 71 + 12.25 63 Stalling

She's still dropping...didn't get your post before I rechecked...sorry, I checked in right before I tested at 12.25.
 
Re: 12/26GraciePMPS 295 +12 71 + 12.25 63 Stalling

I wasn't saying to shoot. I was answering your question about whether to shoot the reduced dose.

I'd give this another 15 min. to see if this is a surf.
 
Re: 12/26GraciePMPS 295 +12 71 + 12.25 63 +12.75 57

Glad I didn't misinterpret in my foggy brain! :lol: :lol: She's still dropping....I couldn't get a test at +12.5 because she and Tobey were running around like wild banshees and every time I got close to her, he came charging up and they took off again...all of which probably is not helping her.

How long do I stall with her dropping before we decide to not shoot an a.m. shot? Thanks, Sienne!
 
Re: 12/26GraciePMPS 295 +12 71 + 12.25 63 +12.75 57

So here's how I'm thinking which is also foggy.

If you look at one test to the next, you're getting numbers that could reflect meter variance (i.e., 71 to 63, 63 to 57), However, the overall trend is dropping. My hunch is that if you shoot, by the time of Lantus onset, numbers are likely to be coming up and there will be a food spike (and you could also bump up the numbers with a little bit of carb). However, there's no guarantee that this is the scenario that will play out.

What would you be comfortable with?
 
Re: 12/26GraciePMPS 295 +12 71 + 12.25 63 +12.75 57

The problem with Gracie is she has lately decided to not get food spikes after her shot so I am frequently looking at +1 numbers that are about the same or often, lower, than the PS...not always but enough that I can't count on her to food spike. Yes...I can carb her but I've been doing that pretty much all night just to hold her steady. She is very tired and her ears are tired....I'm just worried for her safety....Mike and I will be here all day and we have high carb food; I hate to miss a shot but I'm not so comfortable about shooting a number that appears to be dropping knowing how hard she is to control (done this twice and it was tough..once with 18% and karo and it took alot to keep her above 40). I did double check one of my readings because she moved her ear and the variance was only 2 between the first test and the second.
 
Re: 12/26GraciePMPS 295 +12 71 + 12.25 63 +12.75 57

You can certainly continue to stall. When you're ready to shoot, you can always give a BCS dose. It's up to you.
 
Re: 12/26GraciePMPS 295 +12 71 + 12.25 63 +12.75 57

FWIW - I am with Sienne... not that i am any expert. You have to do what you are comfortable with. How critical is that you maintain your schedule?
 
Re: 12/26GraciePMPS 295 +12 71 + 12.25 63 +12.75 57 +13.25 4

So...now what? Do I feed this and forget about the shot or recheck in 15 and hope she starts to rise?
 
Re: 12/26GraciePMPS 295 +12.25 63 +12.75 57 +13.25 47 Now wh

Feed the 40s. Don't go nuts with the HC -- see if some LC will bring Gracie's numbers up.

Geez, and I thought Gabby was all drama. Gracie may be vying for the crown.
 
Re: 12/26GraciePMPS 295 +12.25 63 +12.75 57 +13.25 47 Now wh

Gotcha...oh yes, drama queen extraordinaire.

I fed 1-1/2 tsp 4%.

If she had surfed all night on her own, I would hav shot her at +12 number; but because I was feeding her even after her nadir (rare) and she would still fall back a tiny bit, I just didn't feel it was safe without knowing she would 100% get a food spike. I'll test at 9:30 which will be +14.
 
Re: 12/26GraciePMPS 295 +12.25 63 +12.75 57 +13.25 47 +14 49

Should I feed again? It's looking to me like I won't be able to get a shot in anyway because any rise I get *could* be food influenced; am I getting way past the time to be able to shoot anyway? Is it best just to feed, not worry about the shot, let the shed drain a bit, and shoot a sk1.25u tonight on time? A skinny would just be shaving it. Or is there any reason to shoot the normal 1.25u since she may not get insulin today? We were trying to go for 3 times under 50 before reducing and it's only been twice.
Thoughts on that? Thank you!!!
 
Re: 12/26GraciePMPS 295 +12.25 63 +12.75 57 +13.25 47 +14 49

I think I would probably skip at this point. You may end up shooting your old dose tonight if the numbers spike up and shooting the reduced dose tomorrow morning.

What is Gracie thinking? Maybe she figures you deserve a day off.
 
Re: 12/26GraciePMPS 295 +12.25 63 +12.75 57 +13.25 47 +14 49

Yeah...Mike and I had come to that conclusion. I just fed her. I'll start a new condo. Thanks!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top