12/26 Tiger pmps 371, Libre

Deb and Tiger

Member Since 2023
Had another deep dive last night. Not critical but a definite plunge down at his usual +4-6 time. Feel like we are on a roller coaster. So tired this morning we were 15 mins late with breakfast and shot. Can I do regular time tonight? I figure I can…

Glad for the Christmas excitement and stress to be over. Maybe we will see some consistency more now.
 
Tiger is all over the place. It is unfortunate that he has had those PM drops that have caused reductions.

Yes, you can return to your regular scheduled shot time. You only need to walk the dosing back if it is a chunk of time, like hours. Most of us walk back the time in 15 minute increments if that every happens.

Until I got a better understanding of this disease, I expected my cat to regulate immediately. When it didn't happen, I panicked. Once understanding more, I realized my cat may never become regulated and have a beautiful blue and green spreadsheet. It helped remove unnecessary pressure I was putting on myself. I had set unrealistic goals for me and my cat without having a full understanding of this disease.

Hope this helps you both.

Is he eating better today?
 
Thanks Sybil. I appreciate the encouragement.
Yes those lows are a bit out of character however I think it may be more normal and the daytime numbers a bit higher because of stress.
He was born outside along with his sister and has always been jumpy at the slightest things. Took us 4 years to get him inside. He’s very regimented and dislikes change. All this has really thrown him and we have taken a few steps back in his trusting us.

eating, last night was a challange. We went out briefly for family dinner and got home early as I knew he was acting very scared yesterday and wanted for us to have time to have a calm normal environment at feeding time. Not to be, he hunkered down in his bed refusing to eat. After petting, coaxing and finally physically moving him to family room, he finally ate just in time for pre shot meal. After shot, we had guests over for presents and he was fine, being his old self.

This morning everything was normal and he ate just fine. Although mom overslept 30 minutes!
All in all it is more challenging with a normally on guard cat at anytime….
 
I'm sorry this has strained his trust with you. Treats. Treats and more treats. They just have to be low carb. Also, I'm not sure how much time you spend grooming, playing, or doing enrichment type activities, but each of those can help build trust.

My cats HATE when people are over. Base is much worse than his sister and he usually hides until company leaves. (They were born outside too and then were abandoned at less than 48 hours old, but I've had them since then. I'm all they've ever known and trust was never an issue. They are bottle babies). Some cats just aren't a fan of strangers in their domain. Others couldn't care less.

I'm glad he ate good this morning. Hopefully, as the events from holidays fade, he can get back to trusting you fully again, and thst his eating returns to normal and he begins to regulate.
 
Funny thing he is not too bad with people in the house. Strangers he is cautious, but last night was my neice and bf and he sat under the bfs chair and played and even ate scraps in his bowl. With me he wants loving all day long and is at my side whn I am on the couch. Big ole lover. It just at pill, bg readings, shot times, or anytime we approach him he freaks. Unfortunately his awareness of time is unbelievable, I swear he wears a wristwatch!
 
I just pictured Tiger with a big ole wristwatch. Hahaha.

Pilling Basic was nearly impossible for me at first. I cried more tears than I got medicine down. And my extremely loving boy wanted to scratch my eyes out and rightfully so. It was obvious I didnt know what I was doing. It was hell until I found a method that works for us. The biggest thing that helped me pilling him was a very thin layer of pill pockets to coat the pill and not being above him. I sit on the floor and I put him on the couch. Approaching pilling this way was a game changer for us. I am not saying he loves it, but I'm not crying at the end, he gets medicated, and he doesn't want to scratch my eyes out. It is over very quickly.
 
Thankfully Tiger takes pills pretty good using a pill popper apparatus and hubby holding him. He just comes cowers down pitifully.
Good thing because he takes cerenia every other day!

I wish his daytime numbers were more in sync with the night time ones. The low point times are about the same, but different numbers. Is that pretty normal?
 
If you look at other's spreadsheets, you'll see that dropping at night is very common. My cat is normally higher at PM shot time, where Tiger's pattern looks more like he drops at night most evenings and quickly shoots back up fairly high before AM shot time.

One thing that has helped me improve Base's numbers has been to change when I feed him. I no longer feed him ever 6 hours. I was shortening the duration of his insulin feeding him that way. Feeding more spread out may work for some cats, but did not work for mine. I feed him his biggest meals after his shots, and then I give him another tablespoon at +1 and then another tablespoon at +2. He doesn't get anything else except for low carb treats with each test in between this either. I'm not sure when you feed him, but maybe try this if you aren't to see if it helps.

I had to reapply patience pants daily too. I expected this to right itself quickly and that simply isn't the case. My cat was diagnosed 3 months ago and I'm just now seeing a consistent improvement in his numbers and that only been for a week or so. That doesn't mean he doesn't still have high BGs either. I also had to prepare myself that Basic would never become regulated and remission may never happen.

Also, why does he take cerenia daily? If you've told me, please forgive me. If he pukes often, that makes sense. If he is more nauseous, you may try ondansetron. My cat did not respond to cerenia, but absolutely responded with ondansetron.

I'm so glad he is easy to pill. I know cats don't want to be bothered with, but eventually you both will feel better about all of this.
 
Tiger has had tummy problems for years. Did all the testing including 2 ultra sounds. Nothing definitive. We were told to not let his tummy get too empty and he gets 1/2 a cerenia every other day which keeps him fairly healthy.

I feed him 1 can ff grilled amps, teas ff about 2:30-4pm, 1 can ff pmps, 1/8 c dry SD MD at 3am. Reward treats are the same kibble.
I know not the best diet but gradually working in ff pate and low carb kibble. Extra feedings help maintain tummy issues.
He 16.5 lbs, so not a lot of food for his size.
What you said seems true, he shoots up after eating.
 
I see about the cerenia. May want to include cerenia in your signature and the date he started it. It may prevent someone else from having the same convo with you. Most of us have our cats meds listed in our signature.

You may want to also include his diet in your signature. He is currently eating med carb ff pate and high carb kibble. It is a piece of the puzzle as to what is going on with Tiger's blood glucose. Most of us have that info included too.

Until he is on a low carb diet, his numbers may not improve by much. I understand every cat is different and you have to do what is best for you and Tiger.
 
Tiger has had tummy problems for years. Did all the testing including 2 ultra sounds. Nothing definitive. We were told to not let his tummy get too empty and he gets 1/2 a cerenia every other day which keeps him fairly healthy.

I feed him 1 can ff grilled amps, teas ff about 2:30-4pm, 1 can ff pmps, 1/8 c dry SD MD at 3am. Reward treats are the same kibble.
I know not the best diet but gradually working in ff pate and low carb kibble. Extra feedings help maintain tummy issues.
He 16.5 lbs, so not a lot of food for his size.
What you said seems true, he shoots up after eating.
Just in case it helps, is it possible that Tiger has a food allergy? I only ask because my Snickers had tummy troubles for like 3 to 4 months after we first got her. Like you, ultrasounds showed nothing. Ditto blood work and x-rays. It turned out she was allergic to poultry. Removed that from her diet, and her tummy issues cleared up in like two weeks.
 
Back
Top