12/26, Sam, AMPS 106, +2 128, +6 122, PMPS 119, +2 130

chuckstables

Member Since 2022
yesterday https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/12-25-sam-amps-85-2-99-6-250-10-164-pmps-95.272238/

He bounced kind of yesterday, came down very quickly though, peaked not too high so that's nice. Was feeling brave so I shot, one of the lowest pre shot numbers I've had (95). This morning he was at 106, so hopefully no bounce? Came up a bit at +2, but that was because he had eaten his breakfast.

His poops were awful yesterady. He had five bowel movements, all of them progressively more mushy. The final one was almost just goo. Clearly the fish pate's I had been feeding him screwed up his stomach a lot. His poops aren't light coloured anymore though; he had two awful mushy light coloured poops after I was feeding him the fish pate's for about a week. Now I switched back to the chicken pate's, but I think his stomach is still readjusting. Kinda feel bad for being such an idiot.

Thinking of increasing his dose as per TR; I believe I've held 1.00 for long enough, thoughts? He hasn't dropped below 40, which would call for a dose reduction given he's not a newly diagnosed diabetic cat.

Wanted to share this hilarious picture of him waiting for me when I got up this morning as well.


SAMSTARINGATME.jpg
 

Attachments

  • SAMSTARINGATME.jpg
    SAMSTARINGATME.jpg
    69.6 KB · Views: 96
If you increase and follow TR you need a second test every cycle. If you can do that you can safely increase I think.
 
He hasn't dropped below 40, which would call for a dose reduction given he's not a newly diagnosed diabetic cat.

]
Sam is still considered newly diagnosed because he is still less than 1 year since diagnosis, so reductions should be at 50 when following TR and with human meter. It would be after a year from diagnosis that he would no longer be considered newly diagnosed.
 
Very well. He has a 2nd test in his AM cycle every day, not always in the PM. How late should the PM second test be?
Get a -+2 or before bed test. If it’s lower than the pmps feed a snack and leave out food. If a lot lower I would set an alarm for later to make sure not going too low.
 
Sam is still considered newly diagnosed because he is still less than 1 year since diagnosis, so reductions should be at 50 when following TR and with human meter. It would be after a year from diagnosis that he would no longer be considered newly diagnosed.
Good to know, thanks. He was above 50 still though (54 was his lowest I've ever seen him at) since switching to TR.
 
Get a -+2 or before bed test. If it’s lower than the pmps feed a snack and leave out food. If a lot lower I would set an alarm for later to make sure not going too low.

K. Will do. I have an autofeeder now which I use to leave him some wet food as a snack 4 hours after I go to bed.
 
Since was getting down to the 50's on this dose, I would only increase when you can monitor closely for a few cycles following the increase. He may only need to be on the 1.25 unit dose a short time.
 
Back
Top