12/26 - Pip - AMPS 167, +2 167, +5 319, PMPS 310 - upping to 2.75, +2 200

SarahJeanne

Member Since 2025
yesterday

Good morning everyone and their kitties :)

We have our first blue AMPS!

Go Pip Go!

He's really loving being the only cat here but I think I am discovering that mr Pip is at least partially deaf... poor baby 💕
 

Attachments

  • 20251225_175957.jpg
    20251225_175957.jpg
    2.4 MB · Views: 30
It is hard to determine that and when the sight starts going too sometimes. My friends dog started going blind due to cataract, and I was the one that came over to feed, medicate (diabetes), let out for the toilet, and played with. You learn what's within their wheelhouse for abilities. She could still hear and feel vibrations, so I'd stomp down the front steps outside so she'd know where each step was to go to the bathroom. Got her squeaky toys so she could still play fetch, and would tell where they were bouncing and landed. Stuff like that. You'll learn, and it won't be bad at all.
How Pip keeps up the good numbers and enjoys his Me time away. Safe surfing! 💕
 
What makes you think he is deaf? Poor fella!!

I love that his numbers are gently falling on this 2.50 dose. Have you given any thought to when you will increase Pip? Below is the information from the sticky. Getting him down in to those green numbers (where his pancreas can heal) will be a good step toward remission (the studies show that remission is best achieved within a six month period of treatment).

I recognize you are on vacay right now, and it might not be the best time to increase, but it's something to think about. I would ask for guidance from Wendy, Christie, or Elise (tiffmaxee) when you are ready.

"Increasing the dose:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
  • Increase by 0.25 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300.
  • Increase by 0.5 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 300."
 
What makes you think he is deaf? Poor fella!!

I love that his numbers are gently falling on this 2.50 dose. Have you given any thought to when you will increase Pip? Below is the information from the sticky. Getting him down in to those green numbers (where his pancreas can heal) will be a good step toward remission (the studies show that remission is best achieved within a six month period of treatment).

I recognize you are on vacay right now, and it might not be the best time to increase, but it's something to think about. I would ask for guidance from Wendy, Christie, or Elise (tiffmaxee) when you are ready.

"Increasing the dose:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
  • Increase by 0.25 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300.
  • Increase by 0.5 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 300."
I was actually wondering if I could increase this evening.

But Pip just decided to do a mid cycle bounce he is at 319 at +5, should I let him pass his bounce or go ahead and raise this evening?

Also he meows more loudly when he can't see me, doesnt react to sounds he can't see, and wont wake up from loud noises.
He used to get startled easily by noise, now he doesnt.

He's good at faking, but his ears don't move for sound he doesnt see if that makes sense?
 
I'm not the expert, but I don't think a bounce after this many days after on the 2.5, should make a difference if you'd like to increase it.
 
Did you go ahead and shoot??

You want to try to avoid shooting an increase when they are breaking a bounce. It looks to me like he is still bouncing from those blues.

I see what you're saying about his response to loud noises (the startle reflex).
 
Did you go ahead and shoot??

You want to try to avoid shooting an increase when they are breaking a bounce. It looks to me like he is still bouncing from those blues.

I see what you're saying about his response to loud noises (the startle reflex).
I did go ahead and raise to 2.75 😞

Sorry
 
I agree with Mary. With TR and nadirs under 200, you hold for 6-10 cycles, with lower blues, I’d hold the same dose for closer to 10 cycles. You are on day 7. It’s not that you can’t increase during a bounce, you just want to avoid increasing on the same cycle as the bounce breaks, because bounce breaks often have more movement. Good luck with the increase.
 
Back
Top