12/26 Ole AMPS 520 +3 383 +5 329 +7 280 +9.5 509 PMPS 518

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rebekah

Member Since 2013
Happy Boxing Day!
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=110595#p1166840

Ole had a high AMPS, I'm sure because I had to give his pm shot a little early on Christmas day, I felt really bad about this, but it couldn't be helped. I was happy to see his numbers drop this morning, and will monitor him closely today. The rest of the family has headed out to go skiing, but I am just too tired and will relax in the silence of a nearly empty house.

Ole still seems to be doing well and he really likes his little meals through out the day. He is outside right now, enjoying the sunshine and snow in our back yard. I like to let him out for 5-10 minute intervals when I can because it makes him happy.

Enjoy!
Rebekah
 
Re: 12/26 Ole AMPS 520 +3 383 +5 329

Sorry about the high AMPS, I had one of those today too :sad: Hopefully Ole will slide down for you throughout the day :-D Hope you have a nice relaxing day!
 
Re: 12/26 Ole AMPS 520 +3 383 +5 329

All things considered, a nice drop for Ole today so far!

Just for the future though, an early shot acts like a dose increase, and a late one acts like a decrease, but we all have to occasionally give a shot early or late. Unfortunately, real life doesn't usually consult us diabetic cat beans before she throws something at us, so we do the best we can.

If you have to give an early or late shot, remember to adjust your next dose time too...Every 12 hours works best, but you can make 15 minute adjustments per cycle, or 30 minutes per day to get back on the shooting schedule you want to be on.

Good luck on the 2 units! Since you are starting to get some movement on this dose, you might want to go ahead and hold it for at least 6 cycles though and let's see how he does.

And congratulations on the testing too! You're doing great getting the tests in that you're getting!! It will make it easier to help decide what's best to do next for Ole as you continue!
 
Re: 12/26 Ole AMPS 520 +3 383 +5 329

It looks like Ole is recovering from his early shot yesterday. I hope you have a great day.
 
Re: 12/26 Ole AMPS 520 +3 383 +5 329 +7 280

Thanks for the encouragement!

Ole had a lunch of a half of a turkey heart (raw) at +6, and he just tested at 280 at +7. He likes organ meat a lot, I've given him snacks of beef liver in the past. Our Christmas bird had a bag of innards, so he has been lunching on them for the past 2 days, and has 2 portions left. I also boiled the turkey neck and cut it into medallions for future snacks.

Thank you for the information on the early/late dosage. I know that this is the earliest that I have ever shot him, and I hope to never have to do it again, but knowing to ease back by 1/2 hour/day is helpful.

Bless you all!
Rebekah
 
Re: 12/26 Ole AMPS 520 +3 383 +5 329 +7 280 +9.5 509 PMPS 51

chris gave you some good info - usually we discourage shooting 1.5hrs early, but Ole's been so high it worked this time. when he gets in lower numbers, if you need to shoot early give us a heads up and we can help you figure out what to do. often it's better to skip than to shoot.

the part of the protocol that Chris is referring to is

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

Depending on what you see on nadirs tonight or tomorrow's daytime cycle, you can increase as early as 4 cycles, per the Tilly Protocol:

http://www.tillydiabetes.net/en_6_protocol2.htm
However, if the cat is producing continuously high BGs (nadir always >=300 mg/dl), only hold the dose for 2-3 days before increasing it by 0.5 IU. Alternatively, if the cat is continuously producing moderately elevated BGs (nadir always >=200 mg/dl), increase the dose every 2-3 days by 0.25 IU ( if the cat is getting a low dose) or 0.5 IU (if the cat is getting a higher dose).

Holler tomorrow if you need some help deciding on whether to hold this dose 4 cycles or 6 cycles. put a ? icon on the post or "dose advice?" in the subject line so you don't get missed.

there's a ton to learn here, so keep asking questions! i'm really glad to see Ole moving a little bit today!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top