12/26 Milo AMPS 287;+5 163 PMPS 179; +1 211; +2 232

Status
Not open for further replies.

MiloMistyMax

Member Since 2012
So I did my curve Christmas Eve/Christmas morning and some of you said he was probably having a bounce. He stayed high all day Christmas. This morning he was at 287 PS, I gave him his 2 units. At +5 he was 163. I tested him again a few minutes ago for +10 and he was 119. I gave him a little Wellness chicken. So when I test him in 2 hours and he is around this number, how much insulin should I give?

He is just about off the dry food. I would say he is eating less than 1/8th a cup a day. I will probably stop it tomorrow or the next day. He had the DM canned(gravy + regular) today at pre shot and some at +5. He got a little bit of turkey at +8 and I just gave him a little Wellness to see if he was into it. He licked the bowl clean :-D
 
Re: Dosing advice for tonight

Well lets see where he actually is in two hours, he looks like he is still coming down from his bounce. I would read the sticky on handling and shooting low numbers since you are new. I am hoping someone else will recommend a dose since this is the first time you are shooting low for you. Do you have honey or syrup and spare strips? Are you able to test tonite more often if need be?
 
Re: Dosing advice for tonight

You don't have a ton of data yet to shoot low. In addition, there are several variables in play. I suspect what you're seeing is at least in part, the result of your having largely gotten rid of the dry food in Milo's diet and the dry that you are feeding is much lower in carbs. (This is why we strongly encourage you to test if you're transitioning off of dry food. Numbers begin to drop!)

For the future, you don't want to give food the 2 hours prior to a shot (unless numbers are below 50). The idea is that you don't want your pre-shot number to be influenced by food.

Could you get a test and post about 15 min. before your shot time? When you have the test data, could you put it in your subject line so it's easy to see? You'll need to go to your first post in this thread, click on the "edit" button that's above the text box, make the change to your subject line, and then click on "submit."
 
Re: Dosing advice for tonight

I was using the AlphaTrak before.

Yes I have plenty of strips to test. I have the syrup and HC canned food and HC dry food. I printed out the hypo page. I can just stay up all night if I need to.
 
Re: Dosing advice for tonight

Good riddance to the dry food! :-D :-D Can you change the subject line of the very first post to this?
12/26 Milo AMPS 287;+5 163;+10 119 Dosing advice

Then everyone can see at a glance what's been going with Milo today. You can add the PMPS number to that when you have it.
Liz
 
Re: 12/26 Milo AMPS 287;+5 163;+10 119; PMPS 164 Dosing advi

So 15 minutes before he is at 164. I am still getting used to the Relion...I think the 119 wasn't full on blood. At least compared to this 164 test. Should I test again in 15?
 
Re: 12/26 Milo AMPS 287;+5 163;+10 119; PMPS 164 Dosing advi

Since you're not sure about the 119, I'd test again at your PMPS time. If the numbers are heading up, go ahead and shoot.

Whenever you are shooting lower nmbers, you want to get at least a +1 and a +2. You'll then be able to decide when to test next.
 
Re: 12/26 Milo AMPS 287;+5 163;+10 119; PMPS 164 Dosing advi

We usually tell members not to shoot below 150; so he's either surfing or coming up. I'm probably going to ask you to shoot but just want to check the SS. BRB.
 
Re: 12/26 Milo AMPS 287;+5 163;+10 119; PMPS 164 Dosing advi

You've already shot a 120 at this dose. So, if he's within meter variance of the 164 or higher, I'd shoot the full 2u and get a +1 and a +2. I'll be up and watching for you.
 
Re: 12/26 Milo AMPS 287;+5 163;+10 119; PMPS 164 Dosing advi

Sienne and Marje are the best, I agree! :-D You're doing a great job, Angela.
Liz
 
Re: 12/26 Milo AMPS 287;+5 163;+10 119; PMPS 179 Dosing advi

Perfect!

It's helpful when your kitty decides to cooperate and the numbers go up. I'd still get a +1 and +2.
 
Re: 12/26 Milo AMPS 287;+5 163 PMPS 179; +1 211

I know it seems a waste but will he let you get a +2? Even though he's on the way up, he may onset at +2 so I just want to be sure which way he's headed.
 
Re: 12/26 Milo AMPS 287;+5 163 PMPS 179; +1 211

I agree with Marje. We both tend to like +2 tests. The +1 can often reflect a food spike. Ideally, the +2 is about the same as your pre-test. If the +2 is markedly lower than your pre-test, there's a good chance it will be an active cycle.
 
Sorry, Angela....Gracie decided to visit the 40s so I had to get a little food in her ;-)

He's probably headed up for the night but if you can catch a few hours of sleep and then test him at +5, that would probably be good. We just don't have enough data on him to know his patterns so it would be the safest thing to do.

If you can't, he will probably be ok because his +2 is higher than his PS. It's not way up there ...just a little out of meter variance...but I doubt he will come back down tonight.
 
I would freak out if he was anywhere near 40 :shock:

Thanks for all your help :) I will set my alarm and go to sleep. I took an imitrex and it is really making me sleepy.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top