12/26 Mickey amps 331 @ 3.6 now

Status
Not open for further replies.

Peggy and Mickey (GA)

Member Since 2010
Hello everyone! I have not been on in some time. Happy Holidays to you all.
I see Judy lost a beloved one. I am very sorry.
Hope all is well with you and your kitties.

Mickey is baffeling me . I updated his ss as well as I could with some lost data. I write it down and the notes disappear. :oops:
I have been on dayshift since Wed so I have someone shooting for me in the mornings.
Yesterday she called me to advise that Mickey had bitten her through her gloves...So his am shot was skipped until I got home from work. He did not have insulin for 16 hrs and his bg was 260..So 0430 this morning tested and he is a 331.

I cannot get the dosage right. The one vet I was using, I don't know if I posted it but told me if I did'nt use her animal glucose meter I was "pi$$ing in the wind and could not advise on dosage increase/decrease. So I am winging it. I tried to get some +plus shots but I cant tell what I am looking at.

I am going to attempt to get him into see someone else in the office this week.
He also ruined the last rug I had in the house yesterday...after walking around a while I noticed I had stepped in poo and tracked it thru the house. Ugh!

He finished the metro(for diarreah) and was ok for a few days and is back to his poopin self...A vet visit is due.
 
Oh dear, it all sounds overwhelming!!! Nice to have you back around though, Merry Christmas!

I disagree about the human meter. Even though it may not be 100% accurate, meters overall have something like a 20% "acceptable error rate", so really, either with my human or my animal meter, I don't take the #s as pinpoint, more as a general idea. Even if they are not exact, they still give you a sense of the general trend, and of course a bazillion cats on this board have done quite well with their beans using a human meter.

I don't know what to make of his #s either - they tend to always seem mostly the same regardless of the dose - usually not terrible, but not great either. I wonder if he may need more aggressive dose increases - but with that you would want to be able to test more often mid-cycle, and I'm not sure that's realistic for you.

Maybe others will have ideas. Regardless, I hope he feels ok! It is frustrating I know when they have sort-of ongoing issues (and poopy issues can be one of the most frustrating!!!!).
 
Sorry I missed this post earlier.

It's hard to say really. I would recommend a more methodical approach to the testing but your schedule is probably the issue there. If you want input on the testing and maybe how to optimize that let us know.

Other than that I don't necessarily see more reds as you increase the dose which might be a sign of rebound. The other is if this kitty goes outside - I read in your notes about a cat fight? If so there are opportunities for them to get into naughty fud out there from neighbors dogs/cats.

So sorry I don't have much input. :roll:
 
Hi Peggy glad to see you back.

Your ss numbers seem to be trending to better numbers, you havn't gotten a red in a while and you have alot more yellows than you used to. Sorry but without any mid cycle test we just don't know where he is going during the day and that makes it hard to see what course of action you should take, I would like to see what his nadir is. That would tell us a little more.

I disagree about the meters, so many of us use the human meters just fine.

I hope Mickey's poo problems get better soon.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top