12/26 Michael amps 387 +6.5 319 pmps 308 +1.75 273 Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Paula

Member Since 2014
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thre...-6-170-pmps-206-4-75-339.130353/#post-1340849

Michael is back to that Stinky pink. I think he is too attached to this color. Getting attached to blue and green would be nice.

How do I get rid of the small pic that indicates that have posted messages to this thread?
It always appears when I post.
I notice that little pics do not appear on other member's threads.
Also where do I post for questions about how to use this new software? I tried going to Tech support, and could not find where to post a question.
Thanks in advance.
Paula
 
Last edited:
I now have the questions in my thread. I forgot to save the changes before.
Please read my thread again.
Thanks.
 
I think the smaller icon is to show that you have posted to a condo, my smaller icon is on your icon when i post to your condo. I would just post any questions in your condo and add question to condo title.
 
Morning Paula

well, can't answer the questions. I have the small pic too, am guessing it shows it indicate that you have replied to the post. ad that would not be visible to others. ?? So many new things to learn with this new formatting.

Bummer on the pinks. I can remember those days with Mannie too. I hope Michael will finds the blues and greens soon.
 
Paula when was the last time that michael had bw done, i think if you are worried about his higher numbers affecting his organs, it would show in the bw results. Charlie just had bw done on sunday, i was a bit nervous that the results would show possible liver or other issues from the higher numbers, his bw numbers were right down the middle. The vet commented that his results were excellent.
 
Michael has a Vet appt. on 1/10/15 to have his t-4 checked. I will mention bw.
It's my understanding that the liver is doing what it is suppose to do . Hence bounces.
He is not jaundiced. His eyes green. I'm concerned he maybe insulin resistant and if that is the case, what can I expect from it and what to do about it. I know hyperT makes him more difficult to regulate.
 
Last edited:
Michael has a Vet appt. on 1/10/15 to have his t-4 checked. I will mention bw.
It's my understanding that the liver is doing what it is suppose to do . Hence bounces.
He is not jaundiced. His eyes green. I'm concerned he maybe insulin resistant and if that is the case, what can I expect from it and what to do about it. I know hyperT makes him more difficult to regulate.
Found this here http://www.veterinarypartner.com/Content.plx?A=1605

Insulin resistance is defined as requiring more than
1 unit of insulin per pound of body weight for regulation

or

All sugar levels for the day >300 gm/dl despite 6 - 8 units per dose of insulin

True Insulin Resistance

Here no significant drop in blood sugar level (levels stay greater than 300 mg/dl) is seen in response to the insulin dose used. Usually there is a history of prior increases in insulin dose all met with minimal response

Hyperthyroidism
Thyroid hormone is another hormone that alters glucose metabolism in cats but not in dogs. While hyperthyroidism is a common condition of older cats, less than 1% of hyperthyroid cats are also diabetic. Still, when a diabetic cat becomes hyperthyroid, control of the thyroid disease generally leads to better regulation of the diabetes.

I dont think michael is anywhere near "insulin resistance" His SS looks just like charlies and a lot of other SS i have looked at.
I know you are getting antsy about him staying in better numbers and it will come in time.
 
The hyper-T can definitely make regulation more challenging. I would encourage you to follow the TR protocol and evaluate your dose after 3 days/6 cycle. Barring any changes, I would increase Michael's dose.
 
Hi Paula and Michael!

You're still on a pretty low dose so it's really too soon to worry about insulin resistance. Usually we don't even mention the possibility until a cat is up around the 5-6 unit dose and if they're still running high, getting them tested for IAA and Acromegaly is a good idea

Some cats just need more than others, so just stick with the protocol and increase every 6 cycles until you start seeing routinely lower blues (or greens) at nadir

The hyper-T does add another wrinkle, but just hang in there! Hopefully you'll hit a good dose soon and Michael will start working his way down in dose instead of up!

I agree with Sienne..unless he really surprises you, it's time to go to 2 units

Come on Michael!! Work that juice!!
 
Barring changes....Like if all the sudden he started showing you lower numbers. In that case, you'd hold the dose longer than the 6 cycles

Another way to say it would be "unless he has something change in his numbers, I would increase Michael's dose"
 
Barring changes....Like if all the sudden he started showing you lower numbers. In that case, you'd hold the dose longer than the 6 cycles

Another way to say it would be "unless he has something change in his numbers, I would increase Michael's dose"
What if he is bouncing and is he bouncing? Please look at the SS. It is hard for me to tell if these #'s today are a result of a bounce or the #'s high because he might need a dose increase

Thanks Chris.
 
I think he is bouncing from the 170 yesterday. For some reason I don't see your signature or link to your SS.

I am also viewing from my phone.
 
Another question.
How do you know if someone has read your reply on your thread?
Do they have to remember to back and look at your condo or is there something to alert them to look back? For example, I just replied to Chris's reply which she posted a few hrs. ago.
 
"How do you know if someone has read your reply on your thread?"

You can watch the "alerts" but it's sure not as easy as it was on the other board where you could just hit "view my posts" and see if there was someone else that had replied.....there may be an easier way I just haven't figured out yet
 
I think it is cause I am viewing from my phone.
You may need to go to "Preferences" (hover over you name in the top bar, click on Preferences in the box) There is a check box to show signatures. there is also a check box to automatically watch threads you have posted to.
 
You may need to go to "Preferences" (hover over you name in the top bar, click on Preferences in the box) There is a check box to show signatures. there is also a check box to automatically watch threads you have posted to.
Went to preferences, view signature was already checked, I uncheck, then rechecked and nothing, I even logged out and logged back in, still nothing.

It works fine viewing from computer.
 
You may need to go to "Preferences" (hover over you name in the top bar, click on Preferences in the box) There is a check box to show signatures. there is also a check box to automatically watch threads you have posted to.
I did all boxes are checked. Are you able to view the SS?
 
Must be a bug, if using your phone.
Could you check the SS I need to know if M has cleared his bounces. He has stayed pink all day and if it isn't a bounce I'm going to increase in the am to 2 units.
 
His lowest yesterday day that you tested was 170, and all the numbers since have been pink, then I would say it is a bounce.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top