12/26 KT AMPS 151 219/294/333 +9-317 VERY low last night

Status
Not open for further replies.

Squeaky and KT (GA)

Member Since 2011
Good morning World! Yesterday's Ripples

We've been up dancing since 4am when I was handed first a 78 then dropping to 39, 41, 46, 51, 53, 60, 97 - before I woke, he threw up blood again.

AMPS 151 but it's got food in it - at this point, we just want a solid rise. I'll keep poking for a while....shot 2.0u's.

This is the exact reason I pulled him OFF that 2.25u...no more 2.25, we're going back to a 2u dose.

I have no wonderful things for today - I'm exhausted and worried.....WAIT, I guess I DO - Sassy's URI has finally broken, today she can breathe with her mouth closed and takes treats with her teeth again. She was a sick, sick little girl. Chloe's ear infection is also getting better - SHE can finally smell this morning. She just loves to 'smell' - ground, leaves, air, fence, trees, it doesn't matter what it is - she loves smells. Trying to get her back inside this morning was a feat in itself - she was running around smelling everything! That's the shepherd in her - use that nose baby!

BIG HUGS!
 
Re: 12/26 KT AMPS 151 VERY low last night

I remember KT's early dance steps that had you spinning. We want to get them there, but not quite there! What was the throwing up blood thing? Has he done that before?

Good news on the rest of the crew.

You need a nap, and maybe a hug. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 12/26 KT AMPS 151 VERY low last night

Holy moly, slow it down and give your ever lovin' bean a chance to catch her breath! :mrgreen:
You seem very calm about the blood puke, do you know what causes this and has it happened before? I always like to learn new things about the way our FD kitties work.
 
Re: 12/26 KT AMPS 151 VERY low last night

having to get up in the night has a way of sucking the happiness out of the morning. hope you get a little nap in today!

scritches to KT!
 
Re: 12/26 KT AMPS 151 VERY low last night

I agree with Linda. Naps and ((hugs)) for you.

I hope the throwing up blood stops all on it's own.
I'm glad Sassy and Chloe are feeling better :-D
 
Re: 12/26 KT AMPS 151 VERY low last night

This throwing up blood has happened twice before this since dx - the first 2 times was mostly clear fluid with a tinge of blood. This time it was a lot more blood mixed in. It's got to be associated with the BAD lows as that's the only times it's happened. I'm NOT calm about it but right now, there's nothing I can do but watch and love him. My vet is closed and I wouldn't take a HANGNAIL to the only ER here - they charge $90 to literally walk thru the door. That doesn't include $45 for short exam. You have to pay the $90 and the $45 cash before they'll even take the animal to a room. PLUS they don't care about the animals - they're mean, rough, nasty-mouthed and just plain should NOT be in the business they're in - it's for the money only. Sad....

Thank you all for your visits and warm replies today - I really need them all about now.
 
Re: 12/26 KT AMPS 151 VERY low last night

Please keep us updated on how he is acting and if there is anymore throwup.
Sending feel better vines to KT.. and a nice nap to you.
 
Re: 12/26 KT AMPS 151 VERY low last night

Oh KT! Don't scare your bean like that. Glad his numbers came up for you. I would definitely get the blood thing checked out. Weird that it only happens in low numbers.

Yay for Sassy! That is great news.

Hope you get some rest today Lyresa!
 
Re: 12/26 KT AMPS 151 VERY low last night

Nice job last night. Did you feed the low numbers last night? I'm assuming that you did but there's a comment about when you shot but not about having fed.

Low numbers are not associated with vomiting blood. What I do wonder though is if KT has to puke, if it may be more related to a capillary bursting with the peristaltic activity. Alternatively, KT may need to have some food in his stomach. If he's getting an acid stomach over night, it may be what's causing the throwing up and it may be irritating his stomach lining.

Just as an FYI, when you see that the numbers are rising the way they were this AM, you don't need to reduce the dose even further. With the drop into the 30s, you would have reduced KT's dose from 2.25u to 2.0u. You would have been fine to shoot the 2.0u.
 
Re: 12/26 KT AMPS 151 VERY low last night

He's bouncing now - +4.75 - 333.

Did you feed the low numbers last night? I'm assuming that you did

Should have included that...brain not working well... :oops: I gave him mc Turkey a bit at a time until +11.5/142. I could see they were starting to shoot up so gave him about half 3oz can BlueBuff Tuna.

This was bright red like capillary blood which is why it didn't concern me quite as much...

I knew I didn't need to reduce but by that time, I was a BCS myself....
 
Re: 12/26 KT AMPS 151 219/294/333 +9-317 VERY low last n

He still feels generally like cr*p - been laying all day and really sort of 'droopy' when I pick him up. He's walking fine, eyes look tired but good, hair feels oily, no signs of nausea. Responses fine, Pee/Purr in place but haven't noticed curled wallpaper yet. He's too tired to play, I can count 'half' on Preen - I dared mess up his fur earlier by rubbing it backwards...shame on me... ;-)

+4.75 - 333
+9 - 317 - this is still about the same over this 4 hours...I feel like he's going to do this again, maybe even tonight. I just knew from his ssheet that he would probably dive last night thus my EARLY morning sleep test.

Hugs to all,
 
Re: 12/26 KT AMPS 151 219/294/333 +9-317 VERY low last n

I'd call your regular vet first thing in the morning, and tell them about the throw up, to see if they want you to bring him in.
Sending feel all better by tomorrow morning vines to KT. Is he still eating well?
 
Re: 12/26 KT AMPS 151 219/294/333 +9-317 VERY low last n

Oh, Lyresa, I hope that KT will do better tonight so that your mind will be more at ease. But a visit to your regular vet this week may be a good idea.
We just got home from our Christmas travels late this afternoon and I had a chance to read about the wonderful Christmas ripple effects. Your Christmas condo was so inspiring and so full of love. Thank you for posting it and reminding us that this is a time of year to share what we can with those who are less fortunate. So many children, older people, and furry folks had a happy Christmas this year because you and your family cared.

Hugs to you all and lots of "feel better" vines to KT tonight,

Ella & Rusty

p.s. Good luck with the dose reduction. Happy to hear that Sassy and Chloe are on the mend.
 
Re: 12/26 KT AMPS 151 219/294/333 +9-317 VERY low last n

I'm still learning new things about this 'dire beasties' daily - there's SO much to learn. I've noticed hard lumps under KTs skin where I've injected in the past - a LOT of them...10-12 at least. I learned from Marjorie and Gracie's condo they're called a lipodystrophy. I looked it up - Wikipedia gives this information (exerpt):

A lipodystrophy can be a lump or small dent in the skin that forms when a person keeps performing injections in the same spot. These types of lipodystrophies are harmless. People who want to avoid them can do so by changing (rotating) the places where they perform injections. For people with diabetes, using purified insulins may also help.

One of the side-effects of lipodystrophy is the rejection of the injected medication, the slowing down of the absorption of the medication, or trauma that can cause bleeding that, in turn, will reject the medication. In any of these scenarios, the dosage of the medication, such as insulin for diabetics, becomes impossible to gauge correctly and the treatment of the disease for which the medication is administered is impaired thereby allowing the medical condition to worsen.

In some cases, rotation of the injection sites may not be enough to prevent lipodystrophy.

Complete description Here

I've varied his injection sites but have noticed them now on his other side where I've injected lately. I'm wondering if this is affecting those numbers?

Just trying to figure out all this....
 
Re: 12/26 KT AMPS 151 219/294/333 +9-317 VERY low last n

Here's a link to Injection Sites for Cats
I shoot Right Side At Night ..left side in the morning. And I shoot a pretty big area along the sides.
Can you vary the sites you shoot some more?
 
Re: 12/26 KT PMPS 345

He much prefers I shoot right side behind front leg all the time but I vary instead between right, left and scruff. He flinches every time I try skin areas in front of his hind legs.

I'm glad this day is over...this dance wasn't fun...if it meant something, that would have been different but it only meant a shed drain rather than possible pancreas sputtering...oh well - we'll continue to chug down this road!

PMPS 345 - still not all that different than everything past +4.5.

He's eating well, acting more alert and wallpaper's appropriately curled off wall by lb. He even played with his rope for a few minutes so that's all 5 P's in place.

Good night all!!! Extra prayers tonight for Claudia and Rocket....holding them close in our hearts.
 
Re: 12/26 KT AMPS 151 219/294/333 +9-317 VERY low last n

Good night Lyresa. May tomorrow be a much better day for you and KT :YMHUG:
 
Re: 12/26 KT AMPS 151 219/294/333 +9-317 VERY low last n

(((Lyresa))) What a night last night and day for you today. I do hope KT is much better as well as all other kitties. You have your hands really full.

I read the same thing on the lipodystrophy but Gracie only has the one spot. I can't really figure how she got it as I always shoot right side in a.m. and left side in p.m. and move her injections around on her chest. Now I am
moving them all up and down her side and avoiding that area. I do wonder if her really persistently low numbers had to do with a spot that had better absorption.

Please keep us posted on KT. I'm with Sienne....sounds like he might have some acid tummy. The best way to avoid that is 1/4 of 10 mg pepcid ac (not any other kind or strength of pepcid) late at night and also feeding late. But sounds
like you were feeding him late last night so doesn't really make sense......
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top