12/26 Kay AMPS=465 +3=214 +6=217 PMPS=165 +6=128

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mel&Kay

Member Since 2014
12/25 Recap:
AMPS=288
+3=141
+6=85
+7=70
+8=67
+9=66
+10=78
PMBG=55
+1=70
+3=90

After yesterday's beautiful 10+ hours of green surfing, I'm kicking myself for not shooting the 55. Marje, I tried really hard, but wimped out... I just couldn't muster the ladyballs to shoot my first green alone. Oh well, live and learn, right? Next time, I'll be prepared. Bring it on, greens! Bring...it...on. :D
 
I'm a newbie too, Mel, and it's very scary to shoot greens and even blues alone. I don't think anyone would blame you for wimping out. Hopefully you'll get another chance soon, and someone will be around to stay with you. And you can earn the "Balls of Steel" award!
 
I wouldn't kick yourself too hard! I suspect if you had posted, several of us would have urged you to be cautious since you've not shot a green number, let alone a low green number before. You test a lot so that's a positive when shooting low. The key to shooting low is to be data ready. You might find this post on Shooting & Handling Low Numbers helpful -- there's also a section on becoming data ready.

What I often suggest to people who are new to shooting low is that you might want to consider what is an acceptable number to shoot. It's a way to become mentally prepared when you see a number above 50.

The other alternative, if it's viable for your schedule, is to stall. By +1, Kay's numbers were rising. Often re-tesing 30 min. after your usual pre-shot time will tell you if numbers are rising. If this is the case, between the rise at the end of the cycle and feeding, you're u usually safe to shoot. You just want to get early tests in (i.e., a +1 and +2 to start).

One other strategy that's unrelated to shooting low. On 12/23, Kay dropped into the 40s during the AM cycle. You correctly reduced the dose at PMPS. The strategy that many of us will use if we see a high PMPS number is to "shoot through the bounce." In other words, shoot the old dose one last time to help to clear out the bounce and then reduce the following cycle.
 
Hi Sienne,

I did post on 12/25, but understandably nobody was able to stick around and hold my hand through the process. I must've read that Shooting and Handling Low Numbers sticky five times over while deciding whether to shoot or not. I also thought about shooting at +1 and again at +3 when I realized she was indeed on the rise, alas, I had already resigned to skipping the shot. No worries though as she is already back on track after a very brief bounce. :D

Thanks for the advice about 'shooting through the bounce,' I will definitely keep that in mind for the future!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top