12/26 Henry AMPS 128, +5 101, +7 146, PMPS 130, +2 104 (and feeding change)

Status
Not open for further replies.

ramonaghan

Member Since 2014
Yesterday's condo

Henry needs to lose a couple of pounds, and even on his new all Fancy Feast Classic diet he's holding steady at about 15.5 lbs. I've been feeding 2.5 cans per day: 1/2 a can when he and Olive wake me up at 4 a.m. or so, then 1 can at AMPS and 1 can at PMPS. As of today I'm going to feed 1/2 can at 4 a.m., 1/2 can at AMPS, 1/2 can at +6, and 1/2 can at PMPS. I'm pretty happy with his numbers as they are, so hopefully this change will only improve them further as well as getting rid of some of his "fluff."
 
That's a 20% change in calories. I think I would maybe try for 10%. And maybe more exercise?
I think adding the extra meal is good. Be prepared for hungry kitties. And good luck.
 
How much before shot time is the 4:00 AM feeding? You want to withhold food if it's less than 2 hrs prior to your shot time.

FWIW, most of us try to feed a couple of smaller meals prior to nadir. By spreading out the food, you're not forcing Henry's healing pancreas to work less hard. It may also mean that he's not famished by the end of the 12-hour cycle.
 
Thanks for the input! Shot time is 8:30 AM/PM so well beyond the two-hour threshold. I'll cut by 10% first and work our way gradually down to 2 cans a day.

Exercise is another battle...he's too smart for laser pointers, immune to catnip, and not much interested in pole toys. He used to play fetch and he does like squeaky mouse toys or anything else prey-like (he drowns them in his water bowl :D) so I'll do some research. He usually has at least one crazy zoomie session a day and he wrestles with Olive. His muscle tone is good and his waist is defined, but he's got a big ol' belly and would eat til he popped if I let him. Several years ago he was over 18 lbs. and we got him down to 13.5, but we've let his weight creep up again.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top