? 12/26 Evey AMPS 184 +3 184 +5 164 PMPS 169 +3 151

Evey

Active Member
? - 12/25 Evey Dosing Advice AMPS 194 +3 158 +5 153 PMPS 144 +3 155 +5 113 | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

Happy Thursday~

The human meter doesn't seem to work well this morning. I used the human meter as usual. After I'm done feeding her, i turned the meter back to check if i wrote the number correctly. Then I realized the history data were wrong. There was one missing. I contacted the customer service. They don't know what went wrong with the machine and asked me to send the machine back to the factory. I tested her again +3. The number was the same as her AMPS number. Her +5 didn't change much either. I increased her dose to 0.5U this morning and I don't know if the machine readings are realiable or not. These numbers seem weird but maybe I gave her a fur shot?
 
At least the meter showed some reduction in numbers at +5. That's good. Probably not a fur shot if you don't smell Lantus. When is the last time you replaced the battery in the meter? I found mine did some wonky things when it was getting close to needing a new battery.
 
At least the meter showed some reduction in numbers at +5. That's good. Probably not a fur shot if you don't smell Lantus. When is the last time you replaced the battery in the meter? I found mine did some wonky things when it was getting close to needing a new battery.

It's been more than 6 months. The battery sign shows the battery is full so I didn't think about that. I should change a new battery and see if it will work better.
 
If I feed her at +2 and +4, will the food affect her +3 and +5 BG since it will be only one hour after she eats and BG will be high?

I used to feed at shot time, +2, +3.5, +5. But the vet told me that it usually takes 3 hours for the stomach to get empty so I changed it to feed her at shot time, +3 and +5. This schedule is also easier for us when we can sneak back home from work to feed her at the workdays, not every day though.
Responding in today's condo.

Yes, a snack at +2 will reflect in the test at +3. For most cats, the onset for Lantus is at +2. A snack then will reduce any dive at onset. The idea is to get flatter cycles by using food to manipulate the curve. Food can also be used to prevent reductions and keep a cat on a good dose. That way, she doesn't give you this occasional drop below 40 which earns her a reduction that may or may not hold. It looks like +3 might be too late for a snack in terms of preventing drops. When you (and your folks) can manage it, you want to feed at +2 rather than at +3.

I don't know why your vet wanted you to wait for the stomach to empty to feed again. With Lantus it is better to feed before the nadir. Feeding after can reduce duration and cause numbers to go up faster.
 
Responding in today's condo.

Yes, a snack at +2 will reflect in the test at +3. For most cats, the onset for Lantus is at +2. A snack then will reduce any dive at onset. The idea is to get flatter cycles by using food to manipulate the curve. Food can also be used to prevent reductions and keep a cat on a good dose. That way, she doesn't give you this occasional drop below 40 which earns her a reduction that may or may not hold. It looks like +3 might be too late for a snack in terms of preventing drops. When you (and your folks) can manage it, you want to feed at +2 rather than at +3.

I don't know why your vet wanted you to wait for the stomach to empty to feed again. With Lantus it is better to feed before the nadir. Feeding after can reduce duration and cause numbers to go up faster.

He thinks it's better for the stomach. He also thinks feeding her twice a day is ok too. So I don't know.

Should I go back to the previous feeding schedule which is feeding her at shot time, +2, +3.5, +5?
 
It's been more than 6 months. The battery sign shows the battery is full so I didn't think about that. I should change a new battery and see if it will work better.
Just to back up the battery suggestion, my meter also wouldn’t record numbers when the battery was running low, though it is weird it wasn’t saying low battery.
 
If you can, that will be great.

I fed her 25g at shot time, +2, +3.5, +5 and tested her at +3 and +5 tonight. I was expecting her BG drop lower tonigh but it seems 0.5U and 0.25U have pretty much same effect on her BG. That's so strange.
 
Just to back up the battery suggestion, my meter also wouldn’t record numbers when the battery was running low, though it is weird it wasn’t saying low battery.

I changed the battery. No record missing so far. I am just concerned about the accuracy of the readings. Not sure if this kind of malfunction would affect the accuracy of the readings.
 
I changed the battery. No record missing so far. I am just concerned about the accuracy of the readings. Not sure if this kind of malfunction would affect the accuracy of the readings.
That I wouldn’t know. But you can always retest if you’re unsure :) I know Emmett’s BG has done some weird things in the past which made me think the meters weren’t working properly and turns out the meters were fine and his blood sugar was just all over the place.

I’m not sure if this is true everywhere, but at least where I am you can get meters free from the pharmacy when you buy test strips (I did have to ask for it though).
 
I bought a new meter and tested her with the new and old meter. The old meter was 212 while the new meter was 148. I tested her at the same time at the same spot. So the old meter is definetly broken.
 
at least where I am you can get meters free from the pharmacy when you buy test strips (I did have to ask for it though)
That's really nice. It's not free here. It's not cheap but I'm glad I decided to buy a new one or I would never know the old one is broken.
 
I bought a new meter and tested her with the new and old meter. The old meter was 212 while the new meter was 148. I tested her at the same time at the same spot. So the old meter is definetly broken.
Curious to see what her numbers look like with the new meter!
 
Back
Top