12/26 Checkers pmps 227.+2/209..+3/199

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barb & Checkers (GA)

Member Since 2009
yesterday
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=32909

Breffis eaten, nap in progress. Bean wondering again about dose. I think it's been enough time to see that this f1 isn't working. The 31 he got on the 1.25 was probably a mistake on my part. Could be, it was short a drop or so, and not truly 1.25
I don't like to increase dose at night, because I'm afraid I'll sleep (yes, drugged) through testing.
Hmmmm, just reread that. If it were short , it would not have made him drop low....duh,
 
Re: 12/26 Checkers amps 281.3/307

Morning Barb! I can't advise on the dose, but at least this will bump you up.

I hope you had a nice holiday.

Hi Checks!! ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 12/26 Checkers amps 281.3/307

Barb & Checkers said:
Bean wondering again about dose. I think it's been enough time to see that this f1 isn't working. The 31 he got on the 1.25 was probably a mistake on my part. Could be, it was short a drop or so, and not truly 1.25
I don't like to increase dose at night, because I'm afraid I'll sleep (yes, drugged) through testing.

Good Morning Barb! I bet you are still smiling from grandkitty's kind gesture to let you touch her! :mrgreen: (her, right?)

First, (and Im going to be honest) I think you doubt yourself too much! You are very smart and caring. Certainly we all make mistakes, but not everything going *wrong* (aka: not going the way WE want them) is our fault. Cats are cats. Their bodies have a mind of their own. Its likely a lot of what you see going on with checkers is HIS body doing its thing, and nothing YOU are doing wrong. :YMHUG:

Have you spent anytime playing around with a syringe and drops? Pull up 1.5u (or 1.25u). Then twist the plunger and count how many drops come out between the 1.5 and 1.25. Do that over and over. Look at where the plunger sits after each drop. Get familiar with how it looks. Understanding this may help you feel more confident that you are giving the correct consistent dose.

If you ever get a BG number that is unusual or you are unsure of (or you may doubt yourself about later), take another test immediately. Again, it will build your confidence that your test was accurate.

Regarding dose, here is what the protocol says:
Increasing the dose...

Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.
After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

Reducing the dose...

If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.
If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose.
Try to go from 0.25u to 0.1u before stopping insulin completely.

http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1581

I think whatever you decide to do, go up or stay put for another cycle or two, you want to make sure you stay consistent.

You are doing fine Barb. Its a daily learning process that cats never make easy for us! ;-)
:YMHUG: to you!
 
Re: 12/26 Checkers amps 281.3/307

Carolyn, in the beginning of this dance, I did exacly that, with syringe & juice, counting drops, etc. I got good at knowing fat 1, from 1.25, etc. It's just that, when I don't get the expected results, I start doubting myself.
There's so much I don't explain on here, because I try to keep my remarks and questions, short and consise.
Here is a longer version.

Looking back at Checkers' SS, he was doing much better last Oct to early Nov, on a higher dose.
In mid-Nov, when I started having problems with my back and forced to take med for pain, I cut his dose to 1unit, out of fear that I would accidentally overdose him, and be unable to test, if I fell asleep.

He was not doing well on 1u, for over a month. Then feeling somewhat better, after nerve block, I went back to 1.25.
He had lots of blue, and then on 12/22 dropped to 31. As per protocol. I reduced to 1u.
Pinks after that, were thought to be rebound. But he just mostly stays in pink now.
So that's why I think he should go back up to 1.25.

I was trying not to make this so long.....sorry.
All comments would be appreciated. Thank you
 
Re: 12/26 Checkers amps 281.3/307..+6/270

Hey Barb....As you know :-D I'm not a dosing expert but I found with Gracie that I have to shave her reductions and even though she is a newly diagnosed FD, I also don't give her a reduction until she's gone below 50 three times.....perhaps you might discuss that with the dosing experts...only you know Checkers and whether shaving him might be better than dropping the full .25u that the protocol calls for.
 
Re: 12/26 Checkers pmps 227

hooray for yellow, barb!

not sure what's best for you and chex...but wishing you the best results in whatever you decide...

and hoping you feel better before the surgery...i hate how i feel on the pain meds.

celi & binks
 
Re: 12/26 Checkers amps 281.3/307

Hi Barb! YA for the Blue!!!! :mrgreen:

I hope you dont feel I was being critical of your decisions. I just didnt want to see you be so hard on yourself. Im glad you have practiced the drop technique. Nothing wrong with repracticing if you feel you are unsure.

Barb & Checkers said:
He was not doing well on 1u, for over a month. Then feeling somewhat better, after nerve block, I went back to 1.25.
He had lots of blue, and then on 12/22 dropped to 31. As per protocol. I reduced to 1u.
Pinks after that, were thought to be rebound. But he just mostly stays in pink now.
So that's why I think he should go back up to 1.25.

As you stated above you thought 1u was too little, but 1.25 gave him a 30. So the next logical step is something inbetween, just like you are doing...a f1.0! He may need to go up or down from there, but giving the inbetween dose a little bit of time to settle might be a good idea.

(((((((((((((((barb))))))))))))))
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top