12/26 Butters PMPS 54/+1 119/+2 153/+4 157

Butters & Lyla

Member Since 2020
Yesterday, no dive overnight:woot:. Thank you, Butters. I feel like she is not to be trusted, though.
A recap:
94 @+1
65 @+2
70 @+3
63 @+4
76 @+5
68 @+8
68 @+10

I found a strange transaction in my online banking this morning: $140 spent at a fried chicken place in Baltimore, MD. I'm in Canada. Butters must have taken my bank card and found a way to sneak across the border for some fried chicken in between tests last night. Quite the random restaurant choice, Butters:rolleyes:.

I'm giving her the 5th 'P' for this creative endeavour....and I'm calling my bank "just in case" it wasn't her. But I'm pretty positive she did this.

Have a great day, all.
 
Sorry about the bank card issue...though if it was Butters she sure is handling those extra carbs exceptionally well ;)

I had a credit card issue in March...someone bought construction supplies. Cute :p. Mine was a large amount of money so it took a police report and lots of waiting for the credit card fraud department to convince themselves I didn't do it. Actually, you may want to file a police report for your records if you haven't thought about it...I was told to do it for any sum of money in case it's part of a bigger identity issue and it helps authorities see if it's a pattern with stolen cards.

And, Butters, wipe that grease off your paws quick before mama figures out it was you :cat: And no need to smell the sharkies to cover your tracks ;)
 
I’ve also had that happen. Mine was from getting gas one time. I now go inside to pay. The other time someone charged at Macy’s on line in another state. Both were taken care of easily without a police report.

Beautiful green streak going. :D You must be exhausted!
 
Morning Lyla, looks like Butters is doing fantastic on the reduction, slow down there
this morning little girl, yes Tyler is boring if you ask me lol
Tyler enjoyed the company last night ,but Butters probably thought he was a
boring date ,She's probably leaning towards Jax more :p
She doing beautifully Lyla. I hope you have a good day ♥♥:bighug::bighug::cat:
Sorry about the credit card issue, happened to me once a couple years ago
I can't say what I would do to these low life's on here, pieces of garbage
Not nice to say but maybe they started to choke on a chicken bone,
I know I'm bad :joyful:
 
What a pain Lyla - it's happened to me as well and the person had spent almost $2000 across various stores when the bank realized something was wrong. Fortunately the bank dealt with it very well - got all the money back, new card, But it took a few days to sort out :(

Nice numbers for Butters - hope it's a good day for both of you! :bighug:
 
She just dropped to 32 @+4. I fed 2 tsp 21%.
I don't ever remember her dropping this low before.


ETA: I did check again and it was 1.7 so like 30 or so, anyways, about the same as the 1.8 / 32.
 
Last edited:
A recap of this morning:
65 @AMPS - fed 15 grams raw pork
76 @+1
52 @+2 - fed 1 tsp 16%
54 @+2.5 - fed 1 tsp 16%
67 @+3
32 @+4 - fed 2 tsp 21%...Again...low 30s are not really something I have experienced so I opened the HC and gave her 2 tsps of just gravy.
 
Bhooma, so you think this isn't just still the 4.25U dose in play? You think this cycle, cycle three at 4U, indicates she probably needs another reduction so soon? I don't know enough to know, but that number, the 32 BG, made me worry.

About 20 minutes until next test.
 
Last edited:
It takes a bit longer for gravy, as opposed to a small drop of syrup, to bring the BG up. Usually syrup works in 15 mins where the gravy starts working in about 30 so be sure you retest 30 mins after she’s done.

Even if she recently had a reduction, you want to reduce for a number in the 30s. You can always go back up. Congrats on the reduction. Her SS is looking much better.

Ugh on the bank transaction. We also had it happen but we were lucky that they caught the guy at a Walmart in KY....and we live in AZ.
 
It takes a bit longer for gravy, as opposed to a small drop of syrup, to bring the BG up. Usually syrup works in 15 mins where the gravy starts working in about 30 so be sure you retest 30 mins after she’s done.

Even if she recently had a reduction, you want to reduce for a number in the 30s. You can always go back up. Congrats on the reduction. Her SS is looking much better.

Ugh on the bank transaction. We also had it happen but we were lucky that they caught the guy at a Walmart in KY....and we live in AZ.

Wow, I completely forgot about syrup. That's kind of embarrassing. And the jar is always out on my counter...just in case. I haven't felt my heart jump into my throat like that in a long time. She had two tsp HC gravy. I'm testing 30 minutes after she ate the gravy.

She had a reduction three cycles ago. As Wendy had pointed out, the .25u reductions are a smaller percentage of the dose when the doses are larger. Maybe it wasn't enough. I've adjusted my calipers for the new dose of 3.75U and we will see if she holds the reduction.
 
Congrats on the reduction. That was one full depot!
Thanks. And thank you for your explanation yesterday on what you are seeing with Butters and why she might come down the dosing scale:bighug:. I had decided to try to sleep between tests before you posted. I was exhausted. Still kind of am. I didn't really get to sleep much but it was a good read this morning. There is always something new to learn.
 
As Wendy had pointed out, the .25u reductions are a smaller percentage of the dose when the doses are larger
Yes, this is true but once we get below 5u, unless we are looking at a high dose kitty due to acro or IAA and they are coming down fast either be a use of treatment or the IAA breaking, we typically revert to decreases of 0.25u below 5u.

As CG, when our kitty is on a roll, we tend to not want to reduce when it looks like a “previous depot” issue causing the low BG and a reduction was recently earned. But, 32 is too low so we need to be safe. If she starts to trend up at all, increase the dose.


She is up to 43 @+4.5...I'm thinking another tsp of HC gravy and another test in 30 minutes.
She does need to come up more and another tsp of gravy is fine but do remember that the gravy just starts to work at about 30 mins so it’s wise to test in another 30, as you state, so you don’t accidentally overcarb her when the gravy effects become cumulative. Of course, you know her well and how carb sensitive she is. It might not affect her the way it does some kitties.
 
Yes, this is true but once we get below 5u, unless we are looking at a high dose kitty due to acro or IAA and they are coming down fast either be a use of treatment or the IAA breaking, we typically revert to decreases of 0.25u below 5u.

As CG, when our kitty is on a roll, we tend to not want to reduce when it looks like a “previous depot” issue causing the low BG and a reduction was recently earned. But, 32 is too low so we need to be safe. If she starts to trend up at all, increase the dose.
I will. I am completely on board with another decrease. I appreciate being taught the difference between when some kitties' CGs are instructed to hold a recently reduced dose even though kitty went below 50 again, vs this scenario with Butters (32 being simply too low). Clearly she has a very full depot, as Elise said. She'd already had 2 tsp 16% this morning, too.

She does need to come up more and another tsp of gravy is fine but do remember that the gravy just starts to work at about 30 mins so it’s wise to test in another 30, as you state, so you don’t accidentally overcarb her when the gravy effects become cumulative. Of course, you know her well and how carb sensitive she is. It might not affect her the way it does some kitties.

Would it have been okay to feed something different, lower carb, with the 43? Maybe go back to the 16%? I don't have experience with feeding her in the low 30s and barely any with the low 40s.

I was too nervous to wait and ask for advice so I just went ahead and gave her another tsp of 21%. I will find out soon whether it was too much. Butters either seems to come up very quickly from higher carb food, or I end up having to prop her up for the better part of a cycle before she stays up. I seemed to go on autopilot and my only thought was to give her gravy until she is back in the 50s.
 
Y'all who have been victims of fraud. This is no fun. It was a charge against my debit/bank card. The first thing the bank asked me was to check that I still have my debit/bank card on me. I do. The card wasn't stolen. I tap it at a few local merchants and I go to the ATM on occasion. That's it. Anyways, then Butters dropped into the 30s and so I had to hang up on the bank:facepalm:.

I can multi-task through a cat seizure and presentations but apparently I cannot feed very low numbers and talk on the phone at the same time:rolleyes:.
 
I never lost my cards either and they were always in my possession. The Macy’s one happened by an online purchase. The gas company transactions were by paying at the pump.
 
fwiw,
1. we've wrestled w kit's larger dose depots on reductions. wendy taught us the value of bcs as a tool. seems the first couple times we did it without knowing it was a tool bc, well, we were very big chickens. but later on, it was on purpose.
2. this summer credit card was used for a large purchase of "commercial kitchen supplies" on the opposite coast. but never had the bank card ripped off, hope you get it solved when you have a moment.
:bighug:
 
88 @+5.5
Hopefully I haven't shot her to the moon. Perhaps this 88 is the cumulative effect of what is now a total of 4 tsp HC (mostly gravy) and 1/2 tsp honey in a 90 minute period.
I assume I should test again in..I have no idea.

To recap:
AMPS 65 - raw pork
+1 76 - no food
+2 54 - fed 1 tsp 16%
+2.5 52 - fed 1 tsp 16%
+3 67 - no food
+4 32 - fed 2 tsp HC gravy (21%)
+4.5 43 - fed 1 tsp HC gravy (21%)
+5 45 - fed 1 tsp HC and 1/2 tsp honey
+5.5 88 - not feeding.
 
You can likely go back to lc but I would not feed and check in 30.
Okay I will check again in 30. No food for now.
Elise, would you have suggested a check at +3.5, if I had it to do over?
I went from +3 to +4 without testing because I thought she was on the rise at +3 and she'd had 2 tsp of 16% on board. If I had checked at +3.5, I bet I would've caught her before she went to 32.
 
Okay I will check again in 30. No food for now.
Elise, would you have suggested a check at +3.5, if I had it to do over?
I went from +3 to +4 without testing because I thought she was on the rise at +3 and she'd had 2 tsp of 16% on board. If I had checked at +3.5, I bet I would've caught her before she went to 32.

Yes. I would have checked at 3.5. given meter variance. It would not have made much difference though other than to maybe not need as much hc and karo. . She clearly needs the reduction.
 
Thanks. Lesson learned for next time.
She didn't even react to the lower numbers. I thought cats were supposed to search for food to protect themselves if they went too low. Not butters, apparently. I've always thought she lacks a strong sense of self-preservation. Way to stay on brand, butters.
 
And depending on PMPS, maybe also a BCS to drain the depot.

fwiw,
1. we've wrestled w kit's larger dose depots on reductions. wendy taught us the value of bcs as a tool. seems the first couple times we did it without knowing it was a tool bc, well, we were very big chickens. but later on, it was on purpose.

I haven't done a BCS on purpose, either. I've seen others use it as a tool with guidance. Sounds like something to consider for tonight! If tonight ever gets here.
 
Elise, would you have suggested a check at +3.5, if I had it to do over?
I went from +3 to +4 without testing because I thought she was on the rise at +3 and she'd had 2 tsp of 16% on board. If I had checked at +3.5, I bet I would've caught her before she went to 32.

If it's any consolation, I wouldn't have checked at +3.5 either - since she was higher at +3.

I haven't done a BCS on purpose, either. I've seen others use it as a tool with guidance. Sounds like something to consider for tonight! If tonight ever gets here.

See what the others say, but I think a BCS tonight to drain the depot might make sense. You will fall over in exhaustion testing every 30 mins.
 
Would it have been okay to feed something different, lower carb, with the 43? Maybe go back to the 16%? I don't have experience with feeding her in the low 30s and barely any with the low 40s.
Since ECID, it’s hard to know what works for Butters and what doesn’t without just trying it. The first time, it’s smart to err on the side of caution; in other words, I’d rather see you overcarb her than her stay in the 30s. You’ll get info today that will help you decide.


1. we've wrestled w kit's larger dose depots on reductions. wendy taught us the value of bcs as a tool. seems the first couple times we did it without knowing it was a tool bc, well, we were very big chickens. but later on, it was on purpose
There is a very important part to this....”larger dose depots”. Like Wendy, with larger dose depots, i agree an occasional BCS can help but should never give a false sense of security (this is for those just reading and not meant to indicate that Joji would or has done otherwise). An occasional BCS for a cat screaming down the dosing ladder can also help. However, at one point, I saw too many members using it rather arbitrarily, especially members who had been here quite a while who just didn’t want to shoot the 60s and were doing TR. It has its place but should not be a commonly used tool for cats that are not high dose or are not coming down the dosing ladder really fast due to IAA or glucose toxicity breaking. Of course, there is always the scenario of using it for a new member without data or when a member is not available or able to test. It always goes hand-in-hand with continued monitoring due to the depot.

I also still had my card in my possession. It was skimmed and the number sold. Luckily, it was caught very fast.
 
Last edited:
I'm thinking she seems to want to drop. I don't think the carbs are doing a lot so far. I think another tsp of HC.
She is getting pretty annoyed with all of the testing. I feel for her. But I'm doing fine.
ETA: I fed 1 tsp 21% gravy @+7. Taking a few extra minutes to do each test/feed has thrown me off by 30 minutes. So I'm getting my next test at what will be +7.5 but it will be 30 minutes after feeding this gravy, not an hour. Sorry for the confusion.

I can see where maybe this is heavy handed for +6 and a number in the mid 50s. But I'm also thinking that she often has a late nadir, so what about that...we may not be done yet.
 
Last edited:
Lol! Butters doesn't appreciate my sense of humour the way you do, Susanne.

59 @+7.5 This is 30 minutes after being 56 and getting 1 tsp of 21% gravy. So she may be flat or may be on the rise? I'm leaning toward another tsp of 21% gravy.
 
I hope Butters comes up and surfs a little higher for you. She definitely wants the reduction. I hope you can get your bank card theft straightened out quickly.
 
68 @+8 - will not feed and will check again in 30 minutes.
To recap:
AMPS 65 - raw pork
+1 76 - no food
+2 54 - fed 1 tsp 16%
+2.5 52 - fed 1 tsp 16%
+3 67 - no food
+4 32 - fed 2 tsp HC gravy (21%)
+4.5 43 - fed 1 tsp HC gravy (21%)
+5 45 - fed 1 tsp HC and 1/2 tsp honey
+5.5 88 - no food
+6 76 - no food
+6.5 56 - 1 tsp HC gravy (21%)
+7 59 - raw pork (1 tsp / 7 grams)
+8 68 (30 minutes after getting the 59 and feeding gravy...just lost 2 or 3 minutes on each test/feed cycle)

Looks like Butters' appetite is healthy.

enough "playing" butters, up!
And I think we can all agree Butters earned that "P" today. Well done, Butters.
 
Last edited:
Wow, what a day! Up you go, Butters, but not too high and not too fast.

Bummer on your bank card. I try now to pay most of my online purchases with PayPal. I never use my debit card except in the bank's ATM. I have one "dedicated" credit card that I only use for my local, everyday purchases (groceries, gas, etc.). What a drag that we have to be always on our guard! Good luck getting it all straightened out. About 10 years ago someone in Colorado charged hundreds of dollars worth of rare stamps on my card (I live in NY). The bank caught it, but never determined how it happened.
 
76 @+8.5.
I'm thinking she will stay up now and I can give her a bit of a poke break. 3.5 hours to PMPS....If this doesn't sound reasonable please let me know.
 
I had a credit card issue in March...someone bought construction supplies. Cute :p.
I’ve also had that happen. Mine was from getting gas one time. I now go inside to pay. The other time someone charged at Macy’s on line in another state.
happened to me once a couple years ago
it's happened to me as well and the person had spent almost $2000
this summer credit card was used for a large purchase of "commercial kitchen supplies" on the opposite coast.
Some ne'er-do-well once used my credit card for a porn site plus ToysrUs. :eek:
This one takes the cake:confused:. I just....I can't even process this.
We also had it happen but we were lucky that they caught the guy at a Walmart in KY....and we live in AZ.
About 10 years ago someone in Colorado charged hundreds of dollars worth of rare stamps on my card (I live in NY).
uhm..wow.
I've never used my bank card for online purchases, not even through paypal. This makes the fraud more concerning because neither I nor the bank can figure out how my card number was stolen.

Very long phone call and not many answers. We went through my transactions and I've only used the card twice in six months, both at a neighbourhood market. All I found out is it that the fraudulent charge was done online through a 3rd party food delivery website, not directly at the fried chicken place.

Card is canceled and I'll have to go to a bank branch to get a new one. They opened an investigation and made no promises about whether I'll get reimbursed for the $140 that is now missing from my bank account. I guess I should apologize to Butters for wrongly accusing her.
 
Last edited:
But I'm also thinking that she often has a late nadir, so what about that
Late nadir cats tend to nadir earlier when looking for a reduction. Of course ECID. Another thing to get out of today, when you get lows so early in the cycle, you still have a long way to go with the insulin just getting stronger. So (depending on the carb sensitivity of the cat), an early drop is a good reason for higher carbs and syrup, as is the 30's.

You have now gone 2 hours since last gravy, and she's not dropping, so I agree on the pokie slow down.

Congrats on the reduction.:D
 
Late nadir cats tend to nadir earlier when looking for a reduction.
Thanks for bringing this up but I’ll add that any cat (ECID) might show the nadir moving earlier when looking for a reduction. I’ve seen it in Henry and mentioned it to Robert. Of course, there are cats, like Sienne’s Gabby, who was always an early nadir cat so that little bit of “telephoning in” was not something that helped her.

I've never used my bank card for online purchases, not even through paypal. This makes the fraud more concerning because neither I nor the bank can figure out how my card number was stolen.
Neither had we. Ours was skimmed at a restaurant.....back when we could go to them :confused:
 
Back
Top