12/26 Blackie pmps 63 +1 79 +2 105 +4 188

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ele & Blackie (GA)

Member Since 2009
Good Morning, LL
I am still struggling to get Blackie to eat consistently. He'll eat one time and then not the next. Seem to love one food, but turn away when offered again. I gave the Cerenia about 3 hours late yesterday, but he did get it. The vet said it stings, but Blackie didn't even flinch when I gave it on Friday. But yesterday, he screamed and turned and bit my hand hard. I didn't let go of the syringe though and I got it all in. I also started the Cyproheptadin (appy stim) yesterday at 1/4 tab, but upped it to 1/2 tab twice a day today as was directed.

Now his numbers are lower today and he hasn't eaten on his own since +1. I'm afraid to give fluids with these numbers even though I know he needs them. I've been hoping his numbers would rise so I could give them, but maybe I'll have to wait until this afternoon. I think I'll syringe some more 19% gravy at +4 and keep checking.

Its hard to say if he's feeling better. Last night I thought he was having trouble walking, but this morning he supervised breffis in the kitchen which is what he does when he feels good. I tried some of our cooked turkey yesterday and he was not inerested. Sometimes he'll eat his FD Chicken and other times he doesn't want it. I gave him some 10% FF Medley this morning, one of his favorites, and he ate a little, but now will not touch it.

Please keep those eating vines coming. I really hope we'll see some better improvement today.

Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=32904
 
Re: 12/26 Blackie amps 12 +1 124 +2 119 +3 112 not eating

Morning Ele - I hope all is well with Blackie. Mannie and I send eating vines by the truckload. I can't answer the questions - they are out of my realm of experience. Be Better Blackie, eat my friend!
 
Re: 12/26 Blackie amps 12 +1 124 +2 119 +3 112 not eating

Ele: sending serious healing vines for Blackie. It is just so hard when they don't want to eat; I hope your hand is ok. I thought I had read somewhere that you can get cerenia in pill form for dogs but I believe it has only been tested as an injectable in cats. Do you remember if anyone in the CRF group gave cerenia tablets....might be worth asking them. I hope he eats on his own today once the cypro kicks in. One other thought...if he tolerates his squids well, maybe give half now and half later instead all of it at once?? THinking of you all.
 
Re: 12/26 Blackie amps 12 +1 124 +2 119 +3 112 +4 101

I took the "not eating" out of the subject line, cuz he ate about 1.5 Tb of FF Medley 10% at +4. I hope he doesn't drop too much.
 
Re: 12/26 Blackie amps 12 +1 124 +2 119 +3 112 +4 101

sending healing vines and eat vines to Blackie come on buddy you gots to eat ;-) be sure to take care of that hand Ele
 
Re: 12/26 Blackie amps 12 +1 124 +2 119 +3 112 +4 101

(((((Ele))))) (((((blackie)))))

You are doing everything you can. You are such a dedicated bean, caring so well for Blackie.
Am I correct in remembering you DID get the labwork back and nothing has changed? Or were you still waiting for the results?

I dont think its a big deal that you were 3 hrs late on the cerenia. Im sorry about your hand. Poor you. Poor Blackie. :cry: Pills are an option, but with Latte's absorption issues I always found the injectible more effective. Aside from the fact that it tasts AWFUL and its not recommended to coat the pill with anything (pill pockets, food, etc). Latte almost always foamed at the mouth from it. And I know she was not alone in the experience after asking for feedback for ourselves.

You have been through this before with Blackie. There are almost always up/downs with crf. I hope this passes quickly. You know what to do. Adjust his insulin if need be, so you can keep giving fluids. It does sound like he is not vomiting anymore, which is an improvement.

Btw, have you thought about trying a different appy stim if the cypro is not working? If he is really that nauseated, cypro likely wont do a whole lot. Tho its always worth trying.

Glad he ate a little for you.
Hang in there! And BIG :YMHUG:
 
Re: 12/26 Blackie amps 12 +1 124 +2 119 +3 112 +4 101

hi guys....just wondering as you don't mention anything....are you still giving the pepcid? Cerenia works for the nausea but with CRF you know they produce too much acid from the toxins that built in the kidneys...so he needs the pepcid along with the Cerenia....
Rocket is on both zantac and ondansetron....i give them 2 hrs apart....
i also don't know if you are giving binders with his meals....which is a good idea to start if you are not giving it already....

lack of appetite in CRF kitties is VERY common....and you know they need to eat....hence why i'm wondering on the pepcid as well....walking towards food smelling and walking away is a sign of nausea/but also acid....you need to be consistent with the pepcid otherwise it won't do its job....

good luck and sending healing/eating vines your way!
 
Re: 12/26 Blackie amps 12 +1 124 +2 119 +3 112 +4 101 +5 100

Blackie seems to be surfing, so that's a good thing. And he ate about 1/8 of a can of FF Chicken at +5 after refusing his usual Wellness Turkey.

Carolyn, you can see his bloodwork in my signature. Basically, all of the kidney values were better than they have been, so the vet didn't think the CRF had worsened. He did suspect a kidney infection though with elevated WBC. Blackie is on Zenequin in addition to the Cerenia, but he only gave me 3 days of Cerenia.

Claudia, I stopped the pepcid, but after reading your post, I think I'll start it again this afternoon so I can get back on schedule. Blackie was on phos binders (alum hydr), but I haven't been using them since he stopped eating on Friday. I stopped all supplements then because I was afraid that was part of the reason for the not eating. I did continue his Gabapentin for arthritis pain and his Calcitriol. His phos level this last time was much better than previously, so obviously the binder was working.

Several weeks ago I measured how much I was feeding in a 24 hour period. Right now, he's eating about half of that. At least his weight has been good, but he is probably losing weight now. I had an appt this Wed for regular bloodwork with our regular vet, but I think I'll call on Monday and see if we can get an ultrasound instead.

Thank you again for the vines.
 
Re: 12/26 Blackie amps 12 +1 124 +2 119 +3 112 +4 101 +5 100

Ele,
if he is not eating then yeah stopping the binder is a good idea...though when he starts eating again you gotta get back to that as phos creeps up quickly....the pepcid needs to stay in the system to avoid producing more acid....it's a vicious cycle with the kidneys as you know....do not stop the Calcitriol which i see you haven't and that's good....

the ultrasound and more bloodwork is a good idea...something else maybe creeping up....and it's good to stay on top of it all :-D ((((Ele and Blackie))))
 
Re: 12/26 Blackie amps 12 +1 124 +2 119 +3 112 +4 101 +5 100

BLACKIE, EAT!!!

eat_up_cat.jpg
 
Re: 12/26 Blackie amps 12 +1 124 +2 119 +3 112 +4 101 +5 100

from the labwork i see the ALT is going up each time....vets dismiss this more often than not...

are you giving Denosyl supplement? good idea to start....
 
Re: 12/26 Blackie amps 12 +1 124 +2 119 +3 112 +4 101 +5 100

That's such a cute picture, MJ :smile:

I'm sending eating and good appetite vines
smiley-eatdrink022.gif
to Blackie, now.
 
Re: 12/26 Blackie amps 122...+4 101 +5 100 +6 103

Thank you for the laugh, MJ. :lol:

I just gave Blackie about 75ml of fluids and then he ate about 1 Tb of food. Claudia, the vet said the alt was usually elevated in CRF kitties and you're right they have always disimissed it as unimportant. Is there a downside to the Denosyl?

FYI - My fingers aren't too sore where he bit me. It did bleed yesterday and just feels a little bruised today. I'm going to get DH to help me with the Cerenia this afternoon.
 
Re: 12/26 Blackie amps 122...+4 101 +5 100 +6 103

Ele & Blackie said:
I just gave Blackie about 75ml of fluids and then he ate about 1 Tb of food. Claudia, the vet said the alt was usually elevated in CRF kitties and you're right they have always disimissed it as unimportant. Is there a downside to the Denosyl?

the ALT is really LIVER values....the Denosyl helps support the liver....both my fur-kids are on it...Comet always has high ALT even though he is on SAMe but it controls it from going even higher....with Rocket it's stabilized (if you see his lab report)....i give 1 pill daily...dab it into some becel (used to give it with pill pocket but since his FD came back i've avoided high amounts of glucose and such...not that he ever did get much!) he licks the left over becel from my fingers and thinks its a TREAT!!! :lol:

there are no side effects to it...it is a supplement....i strongly believe in helping him with supplements before going with the hardcore meds.....

eta: here are some links which may help
http://www.felinecrf.org/persuading_cat_to_eat.htm
http://www.canine-epilepsy.com/liverdisease.htm artcle worth reading
 
Re: 12/26 Blackie amps 122...+4 101 +5 100 +6 103

HI Ele,

Purrcie is also CRF. Splitting the fluids into two doses works for us, that way he gets smaller infusions but never gets a chance to get dehydrated again. He gets 100ML BID. It also keeps his numbers from jumping too drastically.
Pepcid works great for him too.


Sending healing and eating vines!
 
Re: 12/26 Blackie amps 122+5 100 +6 103 +7 95 +10 70 Dose?

I'm thinking I need to lower his dose tonight. I gave 3.75 this am insteaf of the 4, but he's still going down. I'm wondering if the abs aren't kicking in and helping with the bg's. He did eat better today too, but I just never know when he's going to refuse food.
 
Re: 12/26 Blackie amps 122+5 100 +6 103 +7 95 +10 70 Dose?

((((Ele)))) I think it's reasonable to reduce the dose a little bit if he is still dropping at +12, or if he is not eating as well as he should. Of course you know to be watchful for ketones if you're reducing his dose and he is not feeling well.
 
Re: 12/26 Blackie amps 122...+7 95 +10 70 +12 59 waiting

59 @ +12. I tried feeding a little food with his Gabapentin, but Blackie only licked a little of it. I also tried some 19% gravy and he licked a little off the spoon, but wouldn't eat the food with it on it. I forgot to give the pepcid at +11, but I did give it at +12. I'll check again in half hour and also see if he'll eat then.
 
Re: 12/26 Blackie amps 122...+7 95 +10 70 +12 59 waiting

sending Blackie feel better vines and lets get back to eating vines come on Blackie eat eat cat_pet_icon :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 12/26 Blackie amps 122...+7 95 +10 70 +12 59 waiting

Ele, I sure hope that Blackie will be able to eat normally again soon. You are certainly doing everything you can, and doing it so well. Come on, Blackie, eat for your mamabean and feel better, fella.
Sending double-strength healing vines this evening and lots of positive thoughts for a good appetite and safe numbers.

Many hugs,
Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 12/26 Blackie amps 122...+10 70 +12 59 +12.5 60 waiting

Blackie ate a piece of FD chicken, but wouldn't eat his other food. I gave him the 1/2 Cypro that I forgot at +12. He's acting like he feels fine. He's laying on the couch again. He's been such a couch potatoe lately and I'm sure I've encouraged that by testing him there and bringing him food there.
 
Re: 12/26 Blackie amps 122...+10 70 +12 59 +12.5 60 waiting

eat, Blackie, eat....

I have to admit that if someone kept bringing me food on the couch, I wouldn't want to get up either. :lol:
 
Re: 12/26 Blackie amps 122...+12 59 +12.5 60 +13 60 waiting

I got him off the couch for the +13 test. :-D And he actually ate almost 1 Tb of FF Fish & some Wellness Turkey & Salmon. I'm not worried about the schedule since I started my stacation on Friday, so I'm going to wait until I see a rising number before I shoot.
 
Re: 12/26 Blackie amps 122...+12 59 +12.5 60 +13 60 waiting

You are doing a fantastic job. Like you, I hope that ABs are kicking in and Blackie's numbers are responding. Now, if the appetite would just return!
 
Re: 12/26 Blackie amps 122...+12 59 +12.5 60 +13 60 +13.5 59

Blackie ate almost 1 Tb of 10% FF Medley at +13.5. I know it might give me a false higher reading at +14, but at this point I'll let him eat almost anything. I think if he doesn't come up by +14, I might skip his shot tonight. But on the other hand I don't want him to go really high either. What do you think?
 
Re: 12/26 Blackie amps 122...+12 59 +12.5 60 +13 60 +13.5 59

Sounds like you are having quite the time with Blackie.. I know that when Mowgli was on a/b that the pepcid did a HUGE turnaround for him! That was the start of good things. I realize Blackie has a few other issues that Mowgli didn't but just wondering if you did end up giving the pepcid?
Keep up the good work!!
 
Re: 12/26 Blackie amps 122...+12 59 +12.5 60 +13 60 +13.5 59

Ele, I'm sending eat and feel better vines to (((Blackie)))... :YMHUG:
 
Re: 12/26 Blackie amps 122...+12 59 +12.5 60 +13 60 +13.5 59

Hi Ele,
He sure is making you wait a long time.
If you gave a shot while he is surfing the 50/60's and he doesnt eat much more the rest of the night, what are you going to do? Do you still have fluids to give tonight? Are you both ready and able to do a potential all nighter?

If you skipped the shot, whats the worst that would happen? He might go high for a cycle or two? Is that a big deal? can you be ok with that?

If you give a bcs, then you are way off time wise (which you said was fine).

IMHO, which may or may not mean much. You are almost 2hrs past shot time and he is not rising, even with a little food. He is not eating reliably. He doesnt feel great, and you are probably tired too. If it were ME, at this point I would skip. SOrry if that is advice I should not be giving, but that is a call I had to make many times with Latte. Weigh the pros and cons and go with what I felt was safest and wisest for both of us. Im sorry you are having to make that tough choice now. (((((Hugs))))
 
Re: 12/26 Blackie pmps 63 (shot at +14)

I didn't read your post until after I shot, Carolyn. I weighed the pros and cons of skippng the shot and decided to shoot a BCS dose. So I shot 2 units at +14 on a 63. I will keep checking him. Blackie has been eating a little better the last 2 tests. I have lots of different foods here from LC to HC and I've got karo. He isn't hard to syringe feed, either. I really want him to come up so I don't have to test as often. He's been a sweet guy today, but he's been a pincushion too. I'm calling our regular vet tomorrow and see what he thinks our next step should be.
 
Re: 12/26 Blackie pmps 63 (shot at +14)

aw, Ele...you sure have your hands full.

BLACKIE>>>buddy...you gotta start eating and start feeling better!

we're all worried for you, fella...

sending vineyards full of good eating and feel better vines your way...

celi & binks
 
Re: 12/26 Blackie pmps 63 (shot at +14)

(((((ele)))))
I wish I could give you a real hug. *tears*
It is so hard having a kitty with multiple health issues. You have to make tough calls like this so often. I understand. You know, I have full faith in your ability to weigh the pros and cons, and make the RIGHT decisions for you and Blackie. I really do.
 
Re: 12/26 Blackie pmps 63 +1 79

Blackie ate really well at +1. :-D No tears, Carolyn. :YMHUG: All we can do is all we can do. I'm just going to love Blackie and do the best I can and hope that I get many more years with him.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top