12/26, Bell, AMPS 299 +2 281 +6 256 PMPS 309

Seth&Bell

Very Active Member
Yesterday

Not enough time yet for this increase to take effect, I'm hoping it get her into some lower numbers. Just seems like she hits those blues and greens and is unable to return to them on the same dose. Really frustrating. But! I need to figure out this possible UTI. I'll check with the vet tomorrow when they are expecting those culture results back... I fear we had bad timing on that with the holidays.

But not to hyper-fixate on her numbers. She seems to be doing well in all other areas, besides the excess urination, which I really hate she is experiencing. She was all wound up this morning. When she gets wild, she gets out of control with her jumping and running. I often worry she is going to fall off something or run into something during her zoomies. She is not the most graceful cat :p
 
I really love this picture of her. I got it snapped mid-zoomie. It looks like she is striking a dramatic pose.

upload_2024-12-26_20-13-7.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-12-26_20-13-7.png
    upload_2024-12-26_20-13-7.png
    384.6 KB · Views: 47
Awwww. She is just the cutest! I’m glad she is racing around. :)

I totally understand the pee thing and how quickly that changes. Your experience with not being able to retain the initial lower numbers after a dose increase is shared by Minner. Altho Bell has a wider curve while Minner’s curve is flatter. I held Minner too long in the 4-5 unit range b/c it just seemed like that should be enough.

Passing along the info my vet shared about the IDEXX urine culture / testing. It explains why I got Minner’s results so quickly.

https://www.idexx.com/en/veterinary...logy-provides-faster-accurate-urine-cultures/
 
It's always great news when we hear that the diabetics are starting to play more. :)

Bell has gotten to a larger dose than I expected she would, but you have reached this dose following the protocol and increasing safely. When a kitty gets to 6 units, we suggest getting them tested for acromegaly and IAA. Around one in four diabetics cats has acromegaly. There are treatments for acromegaly, should that be the case. Although cats can be on less than 6 units with IAA and/or acromegaly, it's not common for cats to be above 6 units and test negative for the conditions that can cause the need for a higher dose. Seems like there is something in Bell causing insulin resistance.:bighug:
 
Thanks Wendy. I still haven’t gotten the results back from her UTI culture, so I’m hoping that is the culprit. If it is not, I am curious of the benefit of knowing a diagnosis of either (or both) IAA or acromegaly. Sounds like there are treatments for acromegaly but not IAA? Any reading material would be appreciated! :bighug:
 
I hope you hear about the UTI soon.
Any reading material would be appreciated!
Start with the Sticky's in the acro/iaa/cushings forum, and this post:
There are a few benefits to knowing what you are dealing with. First, it can impact dosing decisions and strategies. Both on increases and especially on reductions - depending on circumstances. I'm not going to go into all the possible scenarios at this time, too many and it's too late. Second, and as important, is that if acromegaly, there are side effects to be aware of. Acro can cause soft tissue, organ and bony growth. A very simple example from my experience. Neko's vet saw a red line on her lower gum and thought the tooth needed to come out. I decided to go to a dental specialist due to Neko's complicated nature and heart (HCM). The specialist knew about acro, he determined that the red line was because there was soft tissue growth on the lower gum and the canine above was rubbing it. He shaved the canine tooth back a bit, but Neko kept the tooth below.
 
Hi Seth, I LOVE that picture of Bell! :) She really looks like she is modeling. :D

I hope the result of the urine test brings the solution and the article about acromegaly is just for edjucational purposes. All fingers and paws are crossed! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top