12/25 Tiger AMPS 447 Libre out for a couple hours

Deb and Tiger

Member Since 2023
I didn’t get a lot of readings last night as the libre kind of wigged out for about 3 hours during the night, just shows a few broken lines. What causes this, anyone know? I did get a couple good readings before sleep at least and it seems to have started working as normal at about +9.

hope everyone has a Merry Christmas Day today!
 
https://docs.google.com/document/d/...OKt7hB0J6_J5AeRmOEfUWthsnleRSJta0CiyZwYzmgHxc

This explains why your libre may be doing that. I'm hopeful that it was just temporarily glitching as he just had this one put on becasue the previous one failed.

I had to stop using the libres. I couldn't trust them at all and my cat was completely over being stressed back and forth at the vet. I was too frankly. I'm not sure if you have a handheld meter, but if I were you I'd get one. I even installed Basic's last libre myself and it only lasted a few days.

Merry Christmas again.
 
I'm hopeful it isn't going bad either. In theory, I love them. They just didn't work for me and my boy. Once he started feeling better, I had to put a shirt on him, so he'd leave it alone. He absolutely hated wearing a shirt. He acted like he was glued to the floor for hours a day. The last one lasted only a couple of days. I came to the conclusion that they just aren't for us. Between vet appointment to apply and remove, the shirt, and inaccurate readings, it caused too much stress on us both. While Abbott can send you a new one when they are defective, it wasn't convenient for us anymore even if I put the libre on myself. I'd also be stuck with a faulty libre and no meter, until the 4th libre failed and I got a handheld. Then, when I got the handheld, the libre was anywhere from 30-100 points off. I'm only sharing this info with you for a different perspective on libre. I am not someone that hates them, they just constantly failed us. Also, as the article states the first 24 hours it is installed, the readings can be inaccurate.

I'm glad to see his numbers lowering somewhat. Try not to stress too much today.
 
Ty Sybil for that. Unfotunaltely, hubby is not doing too good yet with the manual and I can’t do blood. After the holidays when it settles down, he will try more but just hasn’t had enough time with it yet. We will get there! Hate to see Tiger go thru his learning tho.
 
I see. I didn't know that was the case. Forgive me. You are doing all you can for Tiger and that is all that can be asked. Best advice I can give for your husband with home testing is warming the ear enough and the sweet spot. Mastering those takes time, but is very possible. Base jumps on the couch for his test and purrs the entire time, most days. Treats are very important so they associate this with treats. I don't even hold him for test or shots. Wishing your husband the best of luck when he starts doing it more. Don't look at it as your doing something bad to Tiger, you're not. It will help keep him safe. If the libre works for you more than not, continue to use it. Do what is comfortable for you and your cat.
 
Back
Top