12/25 Snickers AMPS 122/114, +1 97, +2.75 74, +5 75, +6.75 69, PMPS 84, +2 78, +3 74

Snickers and Chrissy

Member Since 2019
Yesterday
Got home later than anticipated last night from Christmas dinner with my folks. Decided to go ahead and shoot Snickers 2.5 hrs late rather than skip, and so moved her morning shot time accordingly. Will walk back her shot time over the next few days (a half hour each day).

AMPS was higher than usual, but I don't actually think it was because of the late shot. Not exactly. It was because changing her shot time meant that, from her perspective breakfast was 2.5 hours late. And Snickers FREAKED out. I did give her a snack around PM +7 or +8 in her auto feeder, but she wanted her usual breakfast time and was so not happy with us.

This is not uncommon. If Snickers has to go too long without food she gets really anxious, which is why I started giving her snacks at +9 every day. I believe it brings down her BG because it keeps her calm. I think its got to do with her having been raised a barn cat and (maybe) not knowing when or where her next meal was coming from. Or maybe having to compete for food?

Anyway, I'm not super worried about the 122. Snickers has forgiven me for making her wait for breakfast. Tomorrow will go smoother as I'll make sure to give her a +9 as usual, and if she freaks out again I'll give her some freeze dried treats. :)

I think tomorrow we're going to reduce to .5 in spite of the higher AMPS. Merry Christmas everyone!
 
Despite the higher AMPS she seems to be surfing along nicely.

Nestle, Peanut and I wish you a beautiful and calm holiday season.

upload_2023-12-25_17-28-36.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2023-12-25_17-28-36.png
    upload_2023-12-25_17-28-36.png
    396 KB · Views: 120
Back
Top