12/25 - Small Kitty amps 472 pmps 198 - Not going so well

Status
Not open for further replies.

Photorecon

Member Since 2016
Hello everybody,

So far year 2017 is not ending very well. In fact, December has not been the best month in history for Small Kitty. Cause I'm at the office today with no call I decided I was to read in order to find out what I'm missing. There must be something I don't get for sugar level to be so bad. I was upset about Small Kitty when he peed on my laptop and other inappropriate places this month and the one before.. but during my reading today I found out that this is a sign that it's going bad. This, with the fur not so well maintained are sign that we're about to hit a wall. Is Small Kitty developing insulin resistance ? or something like that ? Seems that no increase is having any effect. Greens are no longer on the map and when they came up it was barely. There is so much red and anything but green that bounce doesn't seem to be the reason for this bad curve. He's eating fine but not crazy, he spin but not very fast... one thing he does is meowing, this he is good at. Sometime he's asking for food and when I give him some between meals he doesn't go crazy on it, he goes very very slowly. I used to close the trap so he would not go outside lately, did that for 2 weeks. His health condition went from bad to worst so they are free to go now. With the Canadian Winter they dont go very far, they open the cat trap, put their nose out and get back in. They seem to be happy just to know there is access outside.

I try not to be affected by the numbers, proceed with increase when needed and that's it. I can't, with
past experience in DKA all this red is bringing me bad souvenirs and sadness. Emptying the litter boxes,
with their lake of urines is also a good reminder.

What's happening with all that is that I'm not in love with my kitty as much now. I see him as a failure I made myself. Working on something with so much energy and hope and have the impression you're about to hit a wall is not enjoyable. Not sure how much failure I can take anymore, holidays are not a period of for being sad but for being happy. Would like if I could close my eyes on numbers and symptoms but I can't.

Can't really see what's wrong, I've studied food ingredient and ratio and other things this morning and this
is fine...

Hope most of the members are having good results with their cats and less concern with their kitties.

Merry Christmas and happy new year in advance.

Sébastien

Last post
.
 
I'm sorry things are so stressful with SK right now. I think he is a very bouncy kitty. For example on 12/19 he was blue and then bounced to red the next morning. Then he seemed to clear the bounce and bounced back up. I think he hit black because of a combination of the fur shot and bounce. Cats don't just bounce from low numbers, they also bounce from fast drops. The idea is if you keep increasing according to SLGS, he will eventually get used to the lower numbers and hopefully stop bouncing. Try not to get discouraged. It is hard to manage feline diabetes with a bouncy kitty. :bighug::bighug:

I hope you have a Merry Christmas.
 
Thanks for your responce Carla. It's so hard to adjust a situation that seems to change every days. Last
time I kept a dose for 7 days it's really cause it was not giving good results. After shot time with Lev you'll
get a rise in sugar level that will not get down until +9 and even more. Start to wonder if Levemir, with it's
action phase at the end of the cycle, gives enough ''green time'' for the system to get used to it. The way it
is Small Kitty barely touches it before going back up...

Hope some green will come soon, we like Christmas threes !

.
 
Thanks for your responce Carla. It's so hard to adjust a situation that seems to change every days. Last
time I kept a dose for 7 days it's really cause it was not giving good results. After shot time with Lev you'll
get a rise in sugar level that will not get down until +9 and even more. Start to wonder if Levemir, with it's
action phase at the end of the cycle, gives enough ''green time'' for the system to get used to it. The way it
is Small Kitty barely touches it before going back up...

Hope some green will come soon, we like Christmas threes !

.
Hang in there please. I am in the same position with my Silver. Blues and an occasional green then reds and a black. You simply must just keep going. Follow the SlGS. Increase weekly following the curve and based on the lowest point in that curve. He WILL come down. Look at my spreadsheet and you will see I’m getting more blues and yellows and less reds. It IS hard. I feel overwhelmed too. But it will work. You are not failing. You’re giving him the insulin he needs and that is helping him.

The fur will go back to normal and the inappropriate urination as he gets more regulated. Put lots of puppy pads everywhere. It will get better.
 
I’m sorry, Sebastien, that things seem to be worse for Small Kitty. I can break this down into two issues based on what you’ve said:
  • physical issues and he seems to be just ok about food but he’s peeing a lot more
  • his BG
Granted his dose has gone up. However, when I go through his SS back quite a ways, I’m still seeing the same black, red, pink, yellow with some blue and green mixed in. It does appear that he’s got less green and blue now, though.

While he could have gotten into blue late in the cycle on 12/23 when he would normally nadir, and then shot up, I doubt he got in low enough blues to trigger such a bounce and he looks just flat to me (once he refilled his depot after a fur shot).

You just increased his dose three cycles ago. I would suggest doing a curve as soon as you can after four cycles and see where his nadirs are. Of course, if he sees blue before then, that will also give us some information.

If you do a curve on a day that does not look like he could be bouncing (in other words, assuming he did not get into blue or green) and his numbers are still pink and higher, I would suggest you increase his dose by 0.25u but don’t do it any more often than every four cycles and I would always run a curve before you increase him. Once he starts seeing more yellow nadirs, I’d slow down.

Note to readers: This is not standard for the SLGS guidelines but Sebastien and Small Kitty have been here a while and we want to be sure SK improves because of past DKA.

Are you testing him every day (even twice at these numbers) for ketones? It would be helpful if you’d note that on his SS. If he hasn’t been to the vet in a while, it might be time for some labs to see if something is going on.

Try not to get discouraged. Some times they just need more insulin and so we have to slowly increase so we don’t pass a good dose.

How does that sound?
 
Thanks Marge for being there, I'm so glad you understand why I'm some time ''cutting off corners''. If a dose
sticks on yellow or res for days it's not going to drop down by magic. On yellow I would be very patient and
hold on doses.. but when everything you catch is above it makes me freak out. Plus, on the moral point
of view, it's devastating.
.
 
, if he sees blue before then, that will also give us some information.

This information to me is that he needed 2.25 in his current state of devastation. If he gave blue
at this dose and he didn't overshoot (he never touched green today, NEVER), seems it's what
he need for now. Does this make sens.

Or I'm giving myself a bit to much credit for finding the dose ;)
.
 
Thanks Marge for being there, I'm so glad you understand why I'm some time ''cutting off corners''. If a dose
sticks on yellow or res for days it's not going to drop down by magic. On yellow I would be very patient and
hold on doses.. but when everything you catch is above it makes me freak out. Plus, on the moral point
of view, it's devastating.
.
Yes but you have to remember about bouncing. Sometimes the dose is perfect but still takes them into red. Some cats are more bouncy than others.
 
, I would suggest you increase his dose by 0.25u but don’t do it any more often than every four cycles and I would always run a curve before you increase him. Once he starts seeing more yellow nadirs, I’d slow down.
That is something I'm highly for and I think I'll go ahead with. He's bleu now so I wont touch anything but
if he runs back into the blood I'll bring him out of there a bit faster then SLGL (backed up by a curve).
.
 
Last edited:
Ketone strips are 2$ each and are hard to find in drugstores or diabetic stores in the US.. I've order some from Australia cause the exchange
rate is the same. Shipping was almost nil also.. You'll see some ketone results soon.
.
Urine ketone strips are that expensive in Canada? I don’t mean the blood ketone strips; they are also expensive in the US but the urine ketone strips are not.

@Juliet is correct; you need to be watchful for what is a bounce and what is just high numbers and ask if you can’t tell. If he’s been in blue and pops up and then is red and pink for up to six cycles, it’s likely a bounce. Be sure you don’t increase the dose on a bounce clearing cycle and if he’s getting into nadirs below 150, don’t increase the dose until you’ve had a chance to run a curve on a nonbounce day

Yes, since he’s gotten into blue today, I would hold this dose for at least 6-10 cycles and you can even spot test more if you are at home for the holidays. The more tests you have when you are home, the more you can tell how low a dose is taking him.

Merry Christmas to you and SK!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top