12/25 Millie/AMPS 164/+2 231/+4 182/+6.5 195/+9 182/PMPS 159/4U/+1 197/+2 177/+3 180/+7 191/+10 182

Heidi n' Millie and...

Member Since 2022
Yesterday: 12/24 Millie/PM+10 243/AMPS 195/3.75U/PMPS 171/ | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

FS Libre/PM+11 254/AMPS Sensor error(try in 10 minutes)/then I get the dreaded sensor has failed message and have to get a new sensor. 3 days early, which is better than some people get. However, they are too expensive to have such common failures. It's nice to have but makes me crazy...I still test along with it, although not so much, because I don't trust it at higher levels. This one consistently reads 60 to 150 or so points above what the BG was reading. Depending on the cost and dependabiblity of the Libre 3, it might be worth the extra$$$. Its numbers are supposed to run closer, is more dependable and takes readings automatically at intervals. I haven't investigated closely. Not sure what a headache is worth.
 
Last edited:
3.75 has given Millie lots of blue numbers. Despite our little NS debacle because of the Libre showing red, I am assuming that a dosage increase to 4U is due tonight or tomorrow. I will be home for 4 days, so able to monitor. Possibly a new Libre tomorrow...haven't checked my vet's schedule.(Just checked, closed tomorrow, so a new Libre on Tuesday) Anyway, input welcomed.
Happy Holidays to everyone.

@Bandit's Mom
 
Last edited:
I see you increased to 4U tonight. She saw 72 on 3.75U. That would actually have been a reduce with SLGS. Are you working with a lower reduction point than 90? Remind me if that 72 was on the Libre and if you got a test with a regular meter? The Libre does read much lower at normal numbers, so I would ignore that 72 if it was the Libre and go with the reading with a meter.
 
I see you increased to 4U tonight. She saw 72 on 3.75U. That would actually have been a reduce with SLGS. Are you working with a lower reduction point than 90? Remind me if that 72 was on the Libre and if you got a test with a regular meter? The Libre does read much lower at normal numbers, so I would ignore that 72 if it was the Libre and go with the reading with a meter.
No, that was with a meter. I just didn't realize that that one reading would dictate that or the higher blue readings all around it would be the guide. Obviously, I still do not understand all of this. That day she hadn't eaten her full breakfast and hadn't eaten much of her snacks.
The numbers on her SS are her meter readings and her Libre numbers are in the remarks. Do I need to drop back to 3.75 tomorrow or do I need to drop back to 3.5.
With SLGS, what nadirs am I trying for? Is it consistent nadirs or does a low one dictate what I do?
Sorry if I seem totally dense about this. I've had loads of stress lately, besides her, and today I lost one of my birds...the one that was a lover, not a biter.
The Libre has been very frustrating. It's expensive, the numbers are way off of her meter numbers (typically 60 to 150 higher than her meter, except maybe that one meter low of 72(showed lower on the graph, the only time that has happened)...it may have been lower. I didn't get an actual reading...it was on the graph from before I got home. So, I didn't know how low she got on the meter.) I can look at the averages on the graph and see the trend wave but there are some wild swings.
Anyway, what should I do now?
Here is her wave for the last 7 days. I donknow why it is showing up twice but I don't want to mess with it as I had trouble grabbing it.
upload_2022-12-25_21-24-16.png
upload_2022-12-25_21-24-16.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-12-25_21-24-16.png
    upload_2022-12-25_21-24-16.png
    66.3 KB · Views: 68
Last edited:
Here is her 2 week graph. It's interesting that it shows that her nadirs are a little after her midpoint, although she does have an occasional low number late in the cycle. I just reread the dosing guidelines and it mentions cats who dip at the end, after they have been moving back up. That seems to be her case because I see more nadirs in the late mid-cycle. Except for that one low 72, her lowest points have been over 150 for the most part. Anyway, here is the 2-week graph.
upload_2022-12-25_22-6-1.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-12-25_22-6-1.png
    upload_2022-12-25_22-6-1.png
    63 KB · Views: 72
Last edited:
My suggestion would be to stay with the 4U for now. Consider a reduction point lower than 90. Say 70 or 80 so that you can keep her at a dose where she spends some time in the upper range of normal numbers. The goal of SLGS is get the cat to spend most time in the 90-149 range.
 
My suggestion would be to stay with the 4U for now. Consider a reduction point lower than 90. Say 70 or 80 so that you can keep her at a dose where she spends some time in the upper range of normal numbers. The goal of SLGS is get the cat to spend most time in the 90-149 range.

I kept re-reading the guidelines and I thought that was what I should be aiming for, with a fairly flat curve. Millie had blue but it was in the upper range, and a healthy dose of yellow. when it refers to reducing dose immediately, if it goes below 90, it looks like it is referring to when you are starting insulin and don't have any idea of how your cat reacts to insulin. Then it talks about what numbers get an increase, a maintain and a decrease. Almost all of her numbers were in the increase range. I wasn't sure if just one weird low number would get a decrease, especially as long as she has been on insulin and as high as her numbers have been. Those are kind of the gray areas that I just don't have a feel for yet. Yesterday, her numbers were pretty level, although higher than the 90-149 range, but hopefully the new dose will kick and settle in. I hope the next Libre is a little more in line with her meter readings, although the graph of average daily numbers is pretty doggone handy to look for trends. I need to spend more time on that page, soaking in a little/a lot more info.

Thanks for your help, Bhooma.
 
Back
Top